We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Weekend at Hotel Laguna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Weekend at Hotel Laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Laguna last weekend while attending a wedding. Although an older hotel, it was charming and quirky. Very nice staff and excellent location. Really no need for a car during your stay (which is good since traffic in Laguna is a nightmare!)

I would certainly recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    49
    52
    70
See reviews for
54
104
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

An historic hotel can mean charming and quirky. Other times it means taking it down to the foundation/framing and doing a complete renovation reconstruct. The rooms on the 2nd floor shake and standing in the tiny dark bathroom will make you feel like your on an amusement ride and somewhat queasy. Be prepared to be scalded in the shower with outdated plumbing and weird water pressure every time someone flushes a toilet. If you decide to take on this challenge so you will have funny travel stories to tell, though I do not recommend it, I advise asking for a room on the first floor and not at the front of the hotel. The volume of noise off PCH with the charming crank handle, single pane, poor sealing windows will keep you up late into the night. Though I am not handicapped I also couldn't help noticing its not an ADA friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Yes, it’s true that we are a historic property with quirky fixtures such as vintage windows. As much as we would love to drown out the noise from PCH, here is an interesting fact about us: because we are recognized in the city of Laguna Beach as a historic landmark, we are actually not permitted to make any changes to our windows!

If you decide to stay with us again in the future, we recommend our Ocean/Garden rooms. They are located in the quietest section of our hotel, overlooking the peaceful Rose Garden with a view of the Pacific Ocean in the background. All of our ADA guests are well-informed of the types of rooms available to them at the time of booking, but we appreciate your concern! 

We hope you’ll consider another visit to our property—it’s going to be a beautiful, hot summer! Thank you again for your review.

Safe Travels,
Hotel Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were looking forward to stay in this hotel since it was supposed to be "traditional" cosy place. Well, "traditional" means old and smelly. The room was all stuffy and smelly when we came in, the bed sheets were a little ripped. Bathroom was ok, we have seen worse. Breakfast was almost non-existent, so we just went out for a freshly baked bagel and coffee. The personnel was friendly. They have a nice ocean view terrace, but so do many other places in Laguna beach. We had some drink in the hotel bar, which was pretty nice. It is an average hotel, was good enough for us to spend one night and never some back before.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Laguna. It seems that our historic property may have not been the right fit for you. We wish you had mentioned your concerns to us while you were here as we would have addressed them immediately. We’re happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our OceanView Bar & Grill’s nationally ranked view and delicious drinks. If you’re in town again this summer, we invite you to return to our restaurant to sample our brand-new menu and enjoy a stunning Laguna Beach sunset! Again, thank you for your feedback.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent two days at this ocean front hotel....Warm welcome upon arrival...and Jasmine, at front
desk upgraded me to ocean view room. Room was clean, well taken care of, and very comfortable. Wonderful ocean terrace dining. Private beach with very attentive attendants ready
to serve you food and drink if desired. All staff were very accomodating and helpful.

Elegant lobby in this wonderful, historic landmark hotel. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view, or partial view, and sleep to the sound of the tide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We were so delighted to read your review! It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our amazing amenities and services. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and our restaurant. Our staff loves making our guests’ vacations enjoyable and relaxing! We greatly appreciate your taking the time to let others know how much you enjoyed your visit! Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you on our beach again soon!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was a little concerned about the condition of the hotel from some reviews I had read. You must know that when you book this hotel it is not new and to expect some old things... Like the size of the room and restroom. I was very happy to see that the room #204 was very clean and was a corner room with 2 windows. We could hear the surf very well.
My daughter and I had a very nice stay 4/19-4/20. The hotel has a fantastic location. I also had the best ever Lobster tail I have ever had. We had breakfast both days in the outdoor restaurant and all 4 dishes were excellent!
We did feel like the beach chairs were a little to close, but the service on the beach was excellent also.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, even called me to let me know we have left a beach towel in the room and did we want it maiiled.
We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: 204 corner room was great! 2 windows and is larger than othes
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We greatly appreciate your taking the time to share the details of your recent getaway, and we want to thank you so very much for choosing Hotel Laguna! The Ocean View Bar & Grill is not only the best view in town (and nationally recognized as one of the top 50 views in the US!), but also has some of the most delicious food! It sounds like you “caught” a taste of our mouthwatering lobster tail from our menu! The Beach Club is one of the most relaxing and enjoyable experiences you can spoil yourself with here in Laguna! We’re sorry to hear that the beach chairs were a little too close for comfort. When the weather is amazing, our guests can’t help but flock to our private beach! We loved reading you review and cannot wait to have you come back and enjoy our oceanfront location again!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is 120 years old. The doors are a little hard to close. Water fluctuates from hot to cold. Big deal, its an old vintage landmark in Laguna. The beds were very comfortable. Direct-TV is a plus. Listening to the ocean waves at night was so worth the minor issues. The staff was extremely friendly. Early check- in was not a problem. Even when we were traveling from Disneyland and, called about our room at 10am. The private beach is just footsteps away from the hotel. The houseman were friendly and prompt with setting up chairs and umbrellas for our party. The beachside service helps make your beach time more fun. There nothing like having a cocktail next to the ocean. There is a playground, again footsteps away from the private beach and hotel. Perfect for our family. The breakfast is light. Muffins and cereal were served while we were there. Fresh fruit or a waffle maker would help out the breakfast.

Room Tip: The partial view room is nice. You can see the beach as well as the near by shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
It sounds like Hotel Laguna was the perfect fit for you! We are very honored to have an elite Trip Advisor contributor take the time to reflect on your time spent at our Hotel. We are happy to hear that early check-in was a breeze and that our staff was caring and supportive of your needs. We’re very proud of our Beach Club and enjoyed treating you to the luxury of having lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas set up for you, along with delicious food and cocktails delivered right to you on the sand! We cannot thank you enough for your kind praise and thoughtful insight.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have visited this hotel on and off over the last 30 plus years. It has a fabulous location but over the years little has been upgraded, it is very tired. The common areas, including the roof terrace restaurant were very dirty on our last visit, tables uncleared and sticky. The stall were rude and we witnessed some dreadful abuse from staff towards a disabled diner. Totally out of order. Such a pity, such a waste of a prime location.

Room Tip: Forget it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would also like to take a moment to inform you that Hotel Laguna has undergone several updates throughout the past 2 years including new mattresses and pillows, carpeting, flat screen TVs with DirecTV, and drapes. Our on-site restaurant, OceanView Bar & Grill, has also undergone numerous changes including hardwood floors, new umbrellas and furniture, and several new flat-screens, the largest of which is 80”. Hotel Laguna is often praised for its caring and accommodating staff, so we are surprised to hear of such serious allegations of “abuse” from any of our staff to ANY guest. If you would like to send us the details (date, time, detailed account of what happened and who was involved), we will absolutely inform the appropriate managers and look into the matter further. Thank you so much for your feedback and we would love the opportunity to change your mind about us if you choose to visit again.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.