We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location, Lousy Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Lousy Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have visited this hotel on and off over the last 30 plus years. It has a fabulous location but over the years little has been upgraded, it is very tired. The common areas, including the roof terrace restaurant were very dirty on our last visit, tables uncleared and sticky. The stall were rude and we witnessed some dreadful abuse from staff towards a disabled diner. Totally out of order. Such a pity, such a waste of a prime location.

Room Tip: Forget it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We would also like to take a moment to inform you that Hotel Laguna has undergone several updates throughout the past 2 years including new mattresses and pillows, carpeting, flat screen TVs with DirecTV, and drapes. Our on-site restaurant, OceanView Bar & Grill, has also undergone numerous changes including hardwood floors, new umbrellas and furniture, and several new flat-screens, the largest of which is 80”. Hotel Laguna is often praised for its caring and accommodating staff, so we are surprised to hear of such serious allegations of “abuse” from any of our staff to ANY guest. If you would like to send us the details (date, time, detailed account of what happened and who was involved), we will absolutely inform the appropriate managers and look into the matter further. Thank you so much for your feedback and we would love the opportunity to change your mind about us if you choose to visit again.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    50
    49
    52
    70
See reviews for
54
104
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

booked 1 night for a last minute get-a-way, not too far from my OC/HB location - and it was perfect via 'hotel tonight' for a great price. arrived after 4:30pm and in time to drop bags off in room 208 -with view of main beach/coast/playground...in time for stroll on the sands during twilight to tidepools,( tidepools have seen better days- much better 15 yrs ago).

manage to snag a lounger with cushion on the hotel 'private beach' during the last 15"( beach boy was awesome, close by 6pm yet offer fresh towel)

too hungry to explore - so Oceanview bar/grill on location serve 1 of best 'house pale lager' and tasty seafood pasta + pizza for reasonable prices on the beach with gorgeous views of sunset.

aim for 1st Thursday of month for "ART WALK" - galleries opened till 9pm.

yes historic landmark so hotel is >75yrs old, decent sz rm. old windows( heard surf/waves all night) comfy kg.bed, smaller bathrm with tub. perfectly quaint for me - but I love old places, well kept,with friendly staff.
to hungry to

Room Tip: pay more and ask for ocean view rooms - if you don't mind crashing waves at night. mind you smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
The management and staff of Hotel Laguna are so pleased to read that you were able to enjoy all of the wonderful accommodations at our historic Hotel via HotelTonight! We love that so many of our guests truly appreciate the charm and beauty that is Hotel Laguna. We compliment you for being so knowledgeable not only about our property but the surrounding city activities and happenings. Thank you for your patronage and your lovely review. Look for us again soon on HotelTonight—we’re big fans of theirs! 

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I wanted a getaway for my birthday, so after reading lots of reviews for the Laguna Beach area I knew this was the place. I wanted a view, for long romantic walks with my husband, and somewhere nice to go for dinner within walking distance. Hotel Laguna provided me with everything I asked for. Yes, it's an old historic hotel, but it was so perfectly charming. We slept with the windows open, listening to the crashing waves all night long. We had our night and morning beach stroll, and jetted across the street to Nick's for a delightful dinner. We will definitely be back when we need to recharge the batteries.
All gushing aside, My one major critique has to be the continental breakfast offered. Please, I would rather you provide nothing at all than what was offered and the room in which it was provided was pretty awful.

Room Tip: The room 201, the corner room had the perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for your descriptive feedback. Hotel Laguna is the perfect place to “recharge the batteries.” Our Corner Ocean Front room views are just about the best views you can find in Laguna Beach and we’re glad you had the chance to experience them! Please note that we have taken your advice on the continental breakfast and will no longer offer it, effective May 24th, 2013. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to comment on your lovely stay at Hotel Laguna, and we look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Anyone who reads a few reviews on this hotel should get a good understanding of what type of hotel this is. No one is claiming it is a 5 Star hotel, nor is it as bad as some in the reviews make it seem. I don't understand why some travelers who book a 2 1/2 star hotel like this complain that it isn't luxurious.

If you want luxury, there are at least 2 other hotels down the road on the beach, including the 5-Star Montage which is probably the nicest hotel on the beach in Southern California. But for the rest of us, Hotel Laguna is just fine. I stay in Laguna Beach several times a year. There are about 20 hotels to choose from, and only a few are on the beach. This is the best bargain ON the beach and the ONLY hotel with a private beach that has food and drink service.

Take a look at the traveler photos here on Tripadvisor and you will get a good idea of what to expect from the rooms. The Hotel is 120 years old and the rooms show it. There are at least two types of rooms. The cheaper rooms with a village view are the ones that are very basic. The village view rooms are also noisier because they are close to PCH and the windows do not sound proof well (remember they are 120 years old). All rooms are small by today's standards.

The higher priced ocean view rooms are a little bigger and have newer furnishings. However, even the nicest rooms are basic by most standards. I would say like a three star Best Western. But all are clean. None have air conditioning. The only noise I heard in the ocean view was the waves crashing all night.

The private beach is kind of a big deal. One of only a few private beaches in California, there is a small designated area where you can sit on padded lounge chairs under umbrellas with service. Not having to travel with or carry chairs and umbrellas is nice. There is a toy store next door where we buy a football or frisbee if we forget ours. Surfboards, boogie boards, etc.

Despite the basic rooms, the common areas are very nice. The lobby and corridors are nicely decorated. There are two dining options in the restaurant, one is fancy, the other is casual. Both have the best views of any restaurant in Laguna. If these dont meet your needs, some of the best restaurants you can find are within steps of the hotel. And with the money you save by staying at Hotel Laguna, you can splurge at dinner. Or take a pizza to the beach from the pizzeria next door and enjoy the sunset.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write this wonderful, extensive review about your time spent at Hotel Laguna! We know that our hotel won’t always be the perfect match for every traveler, but we appreciate your honest contribution to our future guests. We completely agree that research and due-diligence will greatly benefit travelers with their accommodations—excellent tip!


Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are absolute scary. Recommend any property in Laguna EXCEPT Hotel Laguna. Paid $330 for (1) night for an Ocean Front view and we had a view of the roof. Highly recommend Laguna Edge Hotel! Less expensive, balcony, great service, and commentary valet. Will not recommend Hotel Laguna to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. As many other guests have mentioned in previous posts, we are a historical landmark and take great pride in our rich history. We regret that you did not appreciate the historic charm Hotel Laguna. We thank you for your feedback and hope your next visit to Laguna Beach will be at a hotel more suited to your needs.

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

It is very hard to rate this property. Let me say it this way. My wife and I have been returning yearly for more than 5 decades.
The rooms are small and old, and the only AC is the ocean breeze and ceiling fans, but it is hard to notice because of the friendly, welcoming staff and the location. Right on one of the best beaches in the world. In one of the best walking cities. You can have great food and drink on your private beach chair or just an iced tea and a desert on the Terrace. The constant sound of the waves, sunsets, dolphins, and pelicans will all color your day. It is not for everyone but it is our home for 3 weeks each winter. Can we say more.

Room Tip: Tell Varia what you want and she or her staff will do their best to make it happen if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We know exactly who you are and we thank you so much that part of our extended Hotel Laguna family our special continues to choose us as your home away from home! We appreciate your taking the time to let others know how much you enjoy our historic property, customer service, and restaurants. We can’t wait to see you again very soon!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Laguna on February 15th. What a beautiful Hotel on the beach. Great room with ocean views and styling from years past. Slept with the windows open and went to sleep hearing the waves break on the shore. Staff was all very friendly and professional. Stayed here about 2 years ago with different management and the staff attitude was terrible. Diner was fabulous and the executive chef (relatively new from what I was told), actually came to our table to check on the meals. Went to the bar after dinner and danced. Great band. I very rarely write positive reviews but this Hotel deserves it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLagunaOC, Manager at Hotel Laguna, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
The staff and management Hotel Laguna were delighted to read your wonderful review of our historic property, the live entertainment, and our Executive Chef’s delicious menu. We are so happy to hear that all aspects of your experience were memorable! We also love your room tip: why come to Laguna Beach and NOT get an ocean view room? We hope you’ll visit us again soon!

Safe Travels,

Sarah Lawson
Director of Sales and Marketing | Hotel Laguna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna

Address: 425 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Laguna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Historic Hotel Laguna in Downtown Laguna Beach offers all the modern luxuries of today with the historical charm of yesteryear. We have 2 on-property restaurants, the OceanView Bar offering the latest entertainment and weekend nightlife, an exclusive Beach Club, and an array of banquet services and meeting space. We also offer spa and beauty services and massage services (beach front or in the privacy of your guestroom). We are conveniently located within walking distance of all the summer pageants, festivals and the downtown Laguna Beach shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laguna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.