We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft

The Loft
30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-715-6420
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Loft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Paris, France
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“exceptional view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Got to say the food was tasty, but the view is overwhelming. One of the best view ever. The service and the cleanliness of the restrooms...you wouldn't want leave them afterwards.
Luxury.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    35
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Memorable retirement dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well I retired last Friday and thought we should go out for my special occasion and was not disappointed at all with the Loft. The deck is overlooking the Pacific and the pool at the Montage resort. I choose the Trout with walnut butter and my hubbie got the Halibut with lobster sauce. Ny trout melted in my mouth and the baby green beans with toasted walnuts that came with dinner were excellent also and I ate every single bite. I order the signature martini with rose water and grapefruit and it was very well presented and had a good flavor also. I would recommend this restaurant to all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Breakfasts at The Loft are a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Montage and enjoyed our breakfasts sitting on the patio overlooking the pool and ocean. From extremely healthy ( smoothies, granolas, egg white omelets to more substantial, the breakfasts were delicious! I don't think I have ever seen croissants that large!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The view is better than the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner and breakfast here while staying at the hotel. The dinner was OK. The cheesy bread was the best part though. I had the U10 sea scallops that were chewy and overcooked/burnt with a cauliflower mousse that had a weird taste to it. My husband had the artichoke soup and loved it. For breakfast I had the Loft Breakfast with a delicious Greek yoghurt with granola and a grapefruit cup that left me wondering why they didn't have grapefruit spoons since less than half of it was chopped/sliced. My husband had the Loft Omelette and he thought it was OK, it probably would have tasted better with eggs instead of just egg whites. Like everything else at Montage, the service was top notch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Elegant yes, but this is the Montage after all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Great food, excellent wine list and perfect service. Then there's the view. All combined to make an excellent experience. A must see destination

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loft also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.