We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft

The Loft
30801 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
949-715-6420
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Loft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 154 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montage Resort Drive & South Pacific Coast Highway
Boston MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice restaurant, fresh food, breakfast particularly good. Staff very careful and attentive. Go out of your way to eat here. But bring a thick wallet.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    31
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Breath taking views, incredible menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have had the privilege of dining here for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Each meal was fabulous. They do in fact take their menu very seriously, and food quality even more seriously. With Studio restaurant on the property, they have stiff competition as food goes, but the restaurant brings it! Believe it or not the food quality is outstanding at either meal. We often eat here 3 - 4 times while at the hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We look forward to sharing many more fabulous meals with you at The Loft. Many thanks for your continued loyalty and patronage.

Warmly,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful setting and interesting and delicious breakfast foods.
The servers I met were all professional and friendly as well, and made the experience even better.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had both lunch and dinner here and I have had breakfast at an earlier stay and all I can say they take their food seriously! The chess bar is amazing and everything is so fresh and tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view, food disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went for a birthday celebration, while the view was unbelievable
The food just wasn't in the same league. $25 for a burger? I can name many places that are so much better at half the price....Haven, CrowBar, Umami. You pay for the view not the food, oh and $11 for parking WITH validation. Not much to recommend or celebrate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddOrlichGM, General Manager at The Loft, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Please refer to the private message I sent you with my contact information. I regret that you were dissatisfied with the cuisine at The Loft, and even more so considering what a special occasion you were celebrating. I would like to rectify your poor experience and invite you to return.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Todd Orlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Loft also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.