We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with some issues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House
Save
You added Carriage House to your Saves list
1322 Catalina Street, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Laguna Beach B&B and Inns
California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice stay with some issues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Carriage House during our March break. It is a lovely historical bed & breakfast and the rooms have a vintage fell and are quaint. We stayed in the Mandalay suite which was large with a fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms a living room and bathroom. We had lots of space, just like our own little cottage.

The bedding was clean and clean towels were provided daily. What was not so great was that the room was very dusty and in dire need of a thorough deep cleaning. Upon our arrival we noticed pet hair on the carpets. Light fixtures, light switches, the television and furniture were all very dusty and dirty as well as the vanity in the bathroom. Also, the heater was saturated with dust as well. Needless to say, we were sneezing during our stay. I wouldn't say the suites were filthy, but did require extra elbow grease. The building is from the 1920's so it is old but the walls were in need of fresh paint and wood windows and moldings in need of again a thorough cleaning. Carpets are worn.

The kitchen was fully equipped, however, when I began using utensils for cooking I noticed the drawers inside and utensils were sticky. The cookware was not very clean so we had to wash everything. I took the tea kettle from the stove to make some hot tea and there was old water sitting inside the kettle. The water had particles of mold in it. The shower and tub are very, very worn and the sundries provided could have been presented better.

On a positive note. We enjoyed the treats provided daily, snacks, fruit, wine.

The owner's of the inn were very nice. On the website they have their picture. A picture of a couple between mid-thirties to forties but when we arrived I was surprised to see they were actually about 15 to 20 years older than the photo. Not that we minded at all but I think an updated photo would be better represented.

They provide beach towels, chairs and umbrella which was great, however, when we arrived at the beach the umbrella was broken so my husband managed to tie up the broken pieces and made it work. When we returned and told Leslie, she was aloof and said that that was the only one they had and someone broke it and it is what it is.

Overall, we had a nice stay. I would not say it was a top notch B&B. I have been to many where the rooms are immaculate and gourmet breakfast is served. At breakfast I noticed the table setting had some dirty spoons, glasses and small plates. For the price I feel that the quality of the inn should be kicked up a notch. If they can get their hired help to really clean the rooms and give them the attention they desire I think their guests would appreciate it.

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2007

April 2006
What a wonderful place to stay! Amazing location and a friendly welcome from our hosts even though we arrived late after driving from Los Angeles in terrible rain. My teenage daughters enjoyed the experience as well and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Great to be able to sit outside for breakfast and every morning there were fresh cakes/breads to try including the home made granola.
Thank you Leslie for a wonderful five days.

  • Liked — location and size of apartment
  • Disliked — dogs allowed to stay in rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We stayed in a wonderful two bedroom (Mandalay room) apartment at this friendly bed and breakfast two blocks from the beach. Totally enjoyed our stay, the kids loved friendly Finnegan and we enjoyed chatting with the owners. The beach was usually private, clear blue water and the waves were great to ride. No AC but large windows with a fresh and constant breeze. Enjoyed the carafe of chilled white wine each evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2006

Just returned from a delightful weekend stay at the Carriage House in Laguna Beach. Good thing the reservations were made months in advance as the B&B was booked and Laguna Beach was swarming with visitors for the Pageant of the Masters (excellent event!!)
Leslie and Andy, proprietors of the Carriage House, were very gracious and made us felt so welcomed. Even their dog, Finnegan, met us as we were checking in.
The Carriage House rooms are so spacious, clean and well furnished. Immediately felt like we were at home. We were also provided with complimentary goodies such as red and white wines, cookies, cheese, fruits and chocolates. It was such a nice touch. For breakfast, we had cereal, fresh fruit, various breads and pastries, coffee, juice and tea. Plenty to start the day exploring the Laguna Beach area. The area around the Carriage House is primarily residential...which means "quiet". However, it is also located just two blocks from the beach. Definitely recommend this excellent B&B for anyone going to the Laguna Beach or South Coast area.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

We stayed at the Carriage House for a night while in town to see Pageant of the Masters. We were greeted by the lovely English couple who own and run the B and B, along with their dog, Finnigan, who is too cute for words! Had we known beforehand that this was a dog-friendly establishment, we most definitely would have brought our two dogs along! The property is a converted apartment complex, so each of the 6 rooms is huge! We stayed in "Primrose Lane", and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a 2 bedroom apartment complete with full kitchen, living room and bathroom to ourselves! The owners provide nice amenities like bowls of fresh fruit and snacks in the rooms, red and white wine, and even a book on the bedside table and an assortment of magazines in the living room! They were also nice enough to let us borrow binoculars to take to the show, and had we wanted to spend a day on the beach, they were ready with beach towels and beach chairs as well! Breakfast was very yummy in the morning! The only drawback I can think of is the noise level. Although the Carriage House is not on a main street, it is situated on a corner with quite a bit of traffic, and since some of the windows in our room were of the open-air louvered type, we were bothered by the noise during daytime hours. Also, they are building a new apartment complex about 2 lots down, so we were awakened by a very loud circular saw and hammering at about 7:30 in the morning. Other than that, the Carriage House was charming, friendly, and by far one of the best places I have stayed at so far! I will definitely be back next year, or maybe sooner with my dogs in tow!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2005

My dog and I stayed here in 04/03. It was really lovely. Convenient, quiet location, clean and comfortable room, very nice owners, and tasty breakfast.

Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2003

The Carriage House is great! Very hospitable hosts, cozy and clean rooms, and great dogs. Food is wonderful and location is perfect for a quick walk to the beach. Can't say enough nice things. Stayed for a week in September, going back in December. Can't wait!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House

Address: 1322 Catalina Street, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Laguna Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.