We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hangout” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach
, Laguna Beach, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$100*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular surfing and bodysurfing beach.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is a nice beach. great sand, great water (except the sea weeds). Ample parking, lot of food options (though a bit on the expensive side) Nice place to hang out with friends and family. Even strangers can join in a game of beach volleyball so its safe and fun. It took a while to get back from the beach as it was a single lane road to get back for me but overall it was a fine outing and I do not mind going there often.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    106
    14
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Definitely one of my favourite places on our California road trip.

Absolutely stunning. Waves and tide are pretty big and powerful so you have to watch your children even more closely but so much fun jumping those waves!! Gorgeous town, shops, ice creams.

Totally fell in love with this place. What more can I say. Can't wait to go back!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The beach is right on the main road but you don't even notice the traffic. The cliffs and palm trees and beautiful sand make you feel as if you are in paradise. However you are right in the center of town and have access to many great restaurants and shopping.
Best beach in California !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Most Iconic Beach Town in Southern California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is it! The best beach views in the state. Dine at the beach side restaurants. Stroll down the street’s and you will find art ,eating and quaint shops... this place has it all. Go early and parking is no problem and do not miss walking down through Heisler Park. Love this area so much!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overated, hyped up dirty beach.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After driving to California all the way from Vegas, we were really looking forward to going to Laguna beach.

It was such a disappointment! There were piles of seaweed all along the coastline with flies buzzing around it - making it i! There were other sea 'creatures' trapped within the huge mounds of seaweed. Water was freezing cold at 1pm. Sunbathing was ok for 20mins until some pigeons and even bigger birds were near us eating the rubbish other people had left. Plenty of other pigeons on rooftops near beach - we couldn't relax so left to visit shops. Nothing really worth buying. Should mention we parked on a little side street near the coast - free parking.

I would seriously not recommend going to this beach as it was quite dirty with rubbish / food / empty wrappers everywhere and we couldn't relax due to the amount of birds on the beach. Go to Santa Monica beach - much cleaner!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.