We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beachs in Laguna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach
, Laguna Beach, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$100*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular surfing and bodysurfing beach.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beachs in Laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Laguna Beach is a natural rocky, sandy beach with lots of tide pools and crystal clear water to enjoy, since there is a lot of beach to enjoy, you can find private coves where you don't have to share with crowds,..the beach is very different from beaches in Santa Monica or Venice, as it is a rocky natural beach. Rock formations off the coast can be dangerous so be careful when you swim or surf. There are plenty of stores and restaurants, lots of boutiques with one of a kind finds. Parking can be a nightmare so I recommend on summer weekends going early in the morning. Hotels fill up on the weekends too. Laguna has a huge dog park for your dogs off Laguna Canyon Road, so they can burn of energy....most restaurants plus a nice selection of hotels do take dogs. I recommend The Art Hotel, no charge to have your dogs. Laguna Beach has an amazing selection of art galleries and art events, if you love art this is definitely the place for you. The Laguna Coast Wilderness is located in some of the last remaining coastal canyons in Southern California. This is a beautiful place with plenty of hiking trails, in the winter the water brings the streams to life...so if you need to relax and get away, this is a very unique location that has something to do for everyone.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    106
    14
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eckert, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The pageant of the masters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to Laguna beach on our latest business trip. Great place . Love this beach , great restaurants and plenty of sand. We ended the day at the pageant of the masters just up Laguna canyon rd. first of all wow, all the great art and people that are there .we walked around for a couple of hours and saw all kinds of amazing art. From paintings to sculptures . Then at8pm the show starts. It's live art . Pele drees and stand still as the original paintings looked very fun. Don't miss this great but do get tickets early.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lots to do and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

By all means do visit Laguna Beach. It is an artist's colony so there are lots of galleries, good restaurants, shops and the beach is beautiful. The Pageant of the Masters is held annually in the summer months and well worth seeing. It is an art exhibit of some of the best artists in the area plus an amazing show outside. People are dressed up as paintings they call their tableaux. You would think these are the paintings because they seem so real. They even did Joan of Arc as a sculpture which looked like the real thing until the "actors" moved. They surprise you with the take down of each tableau. Dress warmly because it can get cool. There is also a restaurant in the exhibit area that you should reserve for. I think they do take reservations.

Parking can be tricky but there are spaces towards the canyon road.

It is beautiful all year and worth a trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The unmatched beauty of Laguna Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family lives in Irvine, California - a short drive from Laguna Beach. And when relatives and friends from abroad come to visit Southern California, we take them to Laguna Beach. It's mixture of rocky and sandy coastline are beautiful. Together with the walkway along the upper edge of the beach cliff side, visitors are challenged with a choice: "do I walk along the sandy beach next and see the ocean and cliff side up close, or do I walk on the upper walkway?" I say do both! The views of the gardens, the view from the walkway and the view from the gazebo are wonderful. The beach offers good waves for surfers, a volley ball court on the sand, lots of clean sand for walking or tanning. Frequently, I've see bride and groom with a professional photographer taking photos along the rocks. I've visited many times and haven't grown tired of this beach while other beaches have left me bored after a single visit. And after you're done walking along the upper edge of the cliff side, you can rest while you eat at Las Brisas on Cliff Drive or at one of the many restaurants that line the South Coast Highway.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch in laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a great lunch at the Surf and Sand Hotel at their seaside restaurant and bar. Great ocean views
Great food and decent price. It's all about location
I recommend a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.