We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pageant of the masters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach

Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach, CA
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$150*
and up
Ranked #4 of 41 Activities in Laguna Beach
Type: Nature & wildlife tours, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Shopping, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular surfing and bodysurfing beach.
Eckert, Colorado
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The pageant of the masters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to Laguna beach on our latest business trip. Great place . Love this beach , great restaurants and plenty of sand. We ended the day at the pageant of the masters just up Laguna canyon rd. first of all wow, all the great art and people that are there .we walked around for a couple of hours and saw all kinds of amazing art. From paintings to sculptures . Then at8pm the show starts. It's live art . Pele drees and stand still as the original paintings looked very fun. Don't miss this great but do get tickets early.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    93
    13
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lots to do and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

By all means do visit Laguna Beach. It is an artist's colony so there are lots of galleries, good restaurants, shops and the beach is beautiful. The Pageant of the Masters is held annually in the summer months and well worth seeing. It is an art exhibit of some of the best artists in the area plus an amazing show outside. People are dressed up as paintings they call their tableaux. You would think these are the paintings because they seem so real. They even did Joan of Arc as a sculpture which looked like the real thing until the "actors" moved. They surprise you with the take down of each tableau. Dress warmly because it can get cool. There is also a restaurant in the exhibit area that you should reserve for. I think they do take reservations.

Parking can be tricky but there are spaces towards the canyon road.

It is beautiful all year and worth a trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The unmatched beauty of Laguna Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family lives in Irvine, California - a short drive from Laguna Beach. And when relatives and friends from abroad come to visit Southern California, we take them to Laguna Beach. It's mixture of rocky and sandy coastline are beautiful. Together with the walkway along the upper edge of the beach cliff side, visitors are challenged with a choice: "do I walk along the sandy beach next and see the ocean and cliff side up close, or do I walk on the upper walkway?" I say do both! The views of the gardens, the view from the walkway and the view from the gazebo are wonderful. The beach offers good waves for surfers, a volley ball court on the sand, lots of clean sand for walking or tanning. Frequently, I've see bride and groom with a professional photographer taking photos along the rocks. I've visited many times and haven't grown tired of this beach while other beaches have left me bored after a single visit. And after you're done walking along the upper edge of the cliff side, you can rest while you eat at Las Brisas on Cliff Drive or at one of the many restaurants that line the South Coast Highway.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lunch in laguna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a great lunch at the Surf and Sand Hotel at their seaside restaurant and bar. Great ocean views
Great food and decent price. It's all about location
I recommend a visit

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Unique California Coastal City - Lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Laguna Beach can be crowded in the summer but is definitely worth a visit. There is a good public bus and free trolley bus in the summer to get around
The attractions are too many to list. Lots of art galleries, an excellent playhouse, Festival of Arts and Sawdust Festival, famous Pageant of Masters (live art recreations), a few excellent restaurants, a few night clubs, and best of all great beaches and quaint coves, skin diving, scuba diving, surfing, etc.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laguna Beach also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.