We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch place for lunch--great food and wonderful neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chow Restaurant

Chow Restaurant
53 Lafayette Cir, Lafayette, CA 94549-4321
925-962-2469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We support our neighbors and local farms by offering fresh, organic, healthy ingredients. Our chicken is organic free-range, our beef is natural & organic and our seafood is sustainably caught & delivered fresh. All our desserts are made fresh daily in our Lafayette location and fresh juices are pressed to order. This commitment to quality has put us on San Francisco Chronicle's list of the Top 100 Restaurants in the Bay Area nine years in a row.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Top notch place for lunch--great food and wonderful neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

How i wish Chow would locate in Scottsdale! Every time i come to visit family in Walnut Creek, i ask to be taken to Chow for another meal. This was my third visit and the food was outstanding again, just like usual.

i started with the beet salad and followed up with Thai noodles. All 4 at the table had some of the salad, which had two types of beets, lettuce and accompaniments of crispy nuts and flavored candied fruits. i asked the waiter if the grapefruit could be left out (heart med conflict) and he asked if he should change the dressing, which also contains grapefruit. Good catch!

Good salad. Nice portion, very fresh and wonderful flavor. The noodles came out soon after the salad, so i wanted to get into it while it was hot from the kitchen. Great flavor! While the noodles were a challenge to keep on the spoon, the broth was so inviting that i didn't go back to the salad till the noodles were completely finished! There were good sized slices of chicken and steak in the mix as well, and the combination of flavors and textures was excellent.

Others had burgers and fries. Lots of smiles Nothing left on any of the plates.

Great waiter. i love when they pick up on a food conflict and make sure to protect customers.

Chow continues to be an excellent place to dine. Only regret was that we all decided to skip dessert until later in the day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chow R, General Manager at Chow Restaurant, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thanks so much for visiting-- we love to know we're on the go-to list for out-of-towners coming to the area! We appreciate the feedback, and are glad to know we have fans in Scottsdale!

Best regards,

Claudio C., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    24
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The outdoor patio at Chow is the perfect place for a yummy salad on a warm summer day. The service was efficient, and the spinach salad was near perfection. Next time, I WILL try their specialty: ginger cake with pumpkin ice cream.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Came to lunch with a friend and enjoyed the cozy patio seating. The eclectic menu had me taking quite awhile to chose, they all sounded so good! The friendly waitress helped me decide on the lamb burger. We started outed with Arancini and these were crisp on the outside and moist and well seasoned inside. My entree did not disappoint. Fresh,and perfectly cooked. The accompanying mint spread went perfect for the burger and to dip my fries. I squeezed in desert too, peach cobbler was perfect! A great dining experience,we lingered for nearly 2 hours but never felt rushed even though it was a busy lunch time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go-To Local Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Chow is a hoppin' place that's perfect for families, and the food is tasty. I always look forward to my favorites: Veggie Scramble for breakfast, Grilled Prawn Louie for lunch, and Spicy Thai Noodles for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Service So So”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The food here was ok. Wines by the glass a bit pricey. The service lacked. Water asked for twice before getting it. Ketchup had to be chased down after requesting it. Waitress was perfectly friendly, just didn't seem to think our needs were important enough to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chow Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chow Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chow Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.