We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service - makes staying in the hotel worthwhile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Bistro & Bar

The Park Bistro & Bar
3287 Mt Diablo Blvd, Lafayette, CA 94549 (Formerly Duck Club Restaurant)
925-283-7108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Park Bistro & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 61 restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Park Bistro & Bar showcases only the freshest, local and organically grown produce as well as naturally raised meats and line-caught fish. Executive Chef Adam Carpenter has created an approachable, yet inventive menu, presenting a French twist on American fare. With a wholesome and earthy quality, many dishes elevate “comfort” food. Natural light from the romantic inner fountain courtyard, intimate alcoves, a large communal table and versatile private dining spaces. Rustic stone floors, natural wood tables, leather seating and an original art program create a warm and inviting, yet grand and inspiring, space that will create the most memorable dining experience in Lafayette. The Park Bar overlooks the recently renovated covered patio with an adjacent outdoor terrace featuring two fire pits offering both dining and casual lounge seating year round. The Park Bar offers guests traditional bar fare, aselection of artisanal beers and wines by the glass, and classic cocktails.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food and service - makes staying in the hotel worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We eat here all the time when we stay and their menu is great. The mac and cheese with lobster was great, french dip was pretty good too. We like the bar restaurant but the Duck Club Restaurant is also great!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    13
    11
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We just had a lovely evening at The Park Bistro and Bar. We got a lovely booth in a quiet space. The fresh seasonal carrot ginger soup and my husband's onion soup were full of rich flavors. Then the boneless beef shortribs just melted in your mouth. Presentation was beautifully done, service excellent, and they celebrated his birthday in unexpected ways. For all this the cost was quite reasonable. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Possibilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I used to dine here when it was the Duck Club and looked forward to our first visit since it was remodeled and revamped. It's billed as a bistro and sort of leans that way but the menu really didn't have all that many items you would find in a classic bistro. I can't say we were impressed by the decor in the dining room but the bar definitely looked inviting. Next time we'll head straight there rather than the more formal dining room. Our food was okay but not particularly outstanding. The service was very good and we didn't think the prices were out of line including the wine. We thought the wine list could use a bit more focus though as it seemed to be all over the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth a Look -- Nice Facelift!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Recently, I had the opportunity to eat brunch in the restaurant and have drinks in the bar in the evening. It was the first time since the remodel -- what a beautiful space. The old world charm and character, but with a brighter, current, upscale feel.
The brunch menu was varied -- it was hard to make a selection. The buffet portion included breakfast pastries, lox, bagels with accoutrements, antipasti, cheese and a nice selection of vegetables. Also, there is a mouth-watering dessert buffet.
Also included is an entrée…. I had a perfectly prepared cheeseburger. (I almost selected the eggs benedict which looked amazing.) My dining partner had the tritip, served with fries, which was delicious. We sampled several of the desserts -- loved (!) the cheesecake and chocolate torte. We look forward to trying dinner.
The bar was comfortable, warm and inviting -- the service was friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Hurray-The Table Coverings are Back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were thrilled to see that tablecloths have been returned to cover the tables in the elegant renovated dining room. On our first visit after the renovation, tables were barren and the effect was inconsistent with the vibe of the room and the quality of the food. Although it’s called The Park Bistro and Bar, the food is upscale and beautifully served–thus the need for tablecloths in the restaurant. The same menu is served in the bar and on the patio, which is terrific for those who want to be more casual yet enjoy fine cuisine. Although nicely appointed with a firepit, the patio is very noisy with the sounds of the adjacent freeway. Hopefully they’ll add a fountain, green screens, and noise inhibitors to create a more peaceful patio. The bar serves a perfect margarita in a tall glass with a slice of lime-just the way a margarita should be. The French onion soup is rich and soothing, especially delicious while sitting by the fire. The bruschetta is lively and made on thick-crusted bread piled high with tomatoes and served with beans. Orange and red beets, slivers of turnip and goat cheese atop arugula makes for a beautiful and delicious salad. From the Plank, the Lamb T-bone is fantastic-juicy, tender, and served at the correct temperature. Service is professional and friendly and a surprise birthday dessert was the icing on a perfect evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Park Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Park Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Bistro & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.