We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swad Indian Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Swad Indian Cuisine
3602 Mt Diablo Blvd, Lafayette, CA 94549
(925) 962-9575
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 64 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average food, not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Food is just OK. I've frequented many Indian restaurants in my time in UK, Europe, India and the US , this is not one that stands out. Rather bland, not hot and definitely not authentic. It's just about ok for a quick take out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kyle, Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Terrific lunch buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped in for the lunch buffet as my wife had been there with my son once and liked a lot. We were there at 12:15 so lunch was in full swing. Every dish on the buffet was great. The buffet dishes were always full and hot. Great variety. We found the service was first rate even at this very busy time of the day. Great place. Great location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Masala Prawn dish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My favorite Indian restaurant in the east bay - because of their Masala prawn appetizer dish ($7.95) it's awesome and I don't know of any other Indian restaurant that makes it. Interior is basic - patio seating outside is nice, weather willing as it's set back from the street. Prices are good. Easy to get to from Bart - it's right there as soon as you walk into Lafayette - only one block. Have eaten here many times and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Main dishes deliver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Context: we live in the far east bay and have been hunting for Indian in our area worth returning too, so we could stop hauling it home from the city. We have tried perhaps eight different restaurants in the san ramon valley, with no luck, but venturing a little further out of the valley we seem to have found a possibility in Swad.  We ate there on a Tuesday night with a party of two.
Location: Swad is located in downtown Lafayette literally across the parking lot from the Pittsburgh/bay point Bart.  Ample free parking is available in the lot behind and there is lots of shopping in the immediate area as well. The restaurant can be entered from the back parking lot or the front patio.
Atmosphere: I'd have to say there isn't much but sitting on the patio you are looking out over the main drag of downtown Lafayette which is pleasant. The patio is large with maybe eight tables and the inside is a bit smaller.
Service: this was by far the worst part of our experience, although certainly not bad enough to prevent our return. When we arrived, we took seats on the patio. At that time there were about four tables of people outside and one or two inside. There appeared to be two servers but given how long things took, maybe they were cooking too. We were not greeted and no one spoke to us for at least twenty minutes. Finally, we were brought two menus and the server mumbled something and ran off.  There were no drinks on the menu so when he finally returned we had to ask for the drink menu as well. Eventually we were able to order beer and water was brought to the table. We probably got the food a full hour after our arrival, and without any friendliness or really even conversation. They did serve up the food onto our plates, which I would have preferred they hadn't. They gave me far more food than I would eat and because it was now on my plate, it would be difficult to take it home, so you might request they let you serve yourself.
Food: we started with aloo tiki, from the app menu that includes the usual samosa and pakora apps.  We ordered baingan bhartha (roasted eggplant) and palak paneer (spinach with cheese) favorites we have ordered at many other Indian restaurants, and naan and rice. The waiters bought papadum, but these were a weak, light imitation of the usual crisp seed studded wafer.  Then the aloo tiki came, four pieces of fried mashed potato with spices set on lettuce with some chutney. These were tasty, moist and generally of about B quality.  The entrees are where Swad excelled, both were generous quantities served in the usual brass katori. The eggplant was rich with flavor and spice and cooked thoroughly. The spinach also aphid a smoky flavor, giving it more depth than the usual palak and the chunks of paneer were firm but not dry and squeaky or over-fried. Rice was a long grain basmati where each grain was separate with just a smidgen of seed and flavor. Naan was light with just a bit of chew and some charred edges, that actually reheated for leftovers pretty good. It was not heavy or dense.
Drinks: they serve several Indian beers and a selection of wines by the bottle and glass. 

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swad Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Lafayette, CA
 

Been to Swad Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swad Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.