We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Artisan Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artisan Bistro

Artisan Bistro
1005 Brown Ave, Lafayette, CA 94549-3901
925-962-0882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Artisan Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mt. Diablo Blvd.
Transit: Close to the Lafayette Bart Station.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Artisan Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the 2-3 best restaurants in Contra Costa County, Ca...It's intimate and
very comfortable with excellent service and a fine bar. The food is superb. It's a Michelin recommended restaurant with all that implies.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We took our family here to celebrate our son's high school graduation. He was off attending grad night so we got to experiment with dishes. We had sous vide octopus for the first time and it was amazing. Everyone at our table (including some hard core foodies from LA) enjoyed the meal and we spent a lot of time exchanging tastes. Excellent food, attentive service, relaxing ambiance. Perfect for a special occasion/celebration or a good solid meal after a hard week. We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, California, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Brentwood corn soup - delicious! no thickeners, sweet fresh corn
tempura halibut tacos - fish arrived warm and crispy but tender, tacos were excellent
sweet potato fries - a MUST for every meal!
trio of sorbets - each flavor true to its fruit, wonderful!
service is outstanding as is every bite of food!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not up to reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Over cooked and not flavorful. I brought a party of five and was seriously disappointed at dinner. Heard burgers at brunch were great. But John Dory, tiny ribeye with oxtail hash and the farro risotto were all disappointments. Pork tenderloin was better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely, casual atmosphere with very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having read positive reviews, I finally made a reservation a few days in advance and wasn't disappointed by the experience. The restaurant is a converted one story house with a series of three dining areas around a central service bar. The wooden floor and ceiling height might make the noise level an issue, but fortunately the restaurant was not full at the time we were enjoying dinner. Our waiter was very attentive and had a good command of the menu.
We split a prosciutto and melon salad. I would like to have seen a little more melon on the plate. I ordered the rack of lamb which was quite good, but only contained 3 points.
We were glad we followed the advice of our waiter and had one order of a la carte french-fries. They were excellent and served with aeole.
The restaurant has a lovely outside patio which we would have enjoyed had it not been for the yellow jackets circling the table after we were seated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artisan Bistro also viewed

Lafayette, CA
Lafayette, CA
 

Been to Artisan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artisan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.