We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Sea Food Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Pier

Yankee Pier
3593 Mount Diablo Blvd, Lafayette, CA 94549
(925) 283-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Yankee Pier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 64 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Circle
Transit: Block and a half from the Lafayette BART station.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Sea Food Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Excellent service, and Sea Food.
I would like to see that french fries can be substituted for a vegie without the extra fee.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy Hour on the weekends, fun and affordable quick spot after your hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a cute spot with a fancy feel but reasonable prices.

We hiked to the waterfall in the Baltimore Canyon Open Space Preserve which was too beautiful among the redwoods and (on-leash) dog friendly. It was hot and my wife suggested we stop for a drink in the shade with our little dogs. A quick search brought up a nearby pizza place but we drove past Yankee Pier and decided to check it out first ... and we're glad we did!

The outdoor patio is very cute with a sandbox for kids and quick but not obtrusive service. They quickly brought our pups a water bowl which was a nice touch. The weekend happy hour (3-5pm) gets you $2 half pints of on tap brews and some entirely affordable appetizers. We had the $4 fried green tomatoes which really hit the spot (though they were a little heavy, but what do you expect with something fried, eh?).

I'd avoid the outdoor seating on a terribly hot day, but it was shady and there are plenty of heaters for the colder times. We'll certainly be back with friends next time we go on a hike in the open space preserve.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
2 reviews
“a really good seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

There are only a few good seafood restaurants in Contra Costa or the East Bay for that matter. It's simple but very good. They have a full bellied fried clam plate that is excellent. I like their lobster roll (a bit pricey). They only carry sustainable fishes and their raw clams are really fresh. They also have great sides like grilled asparagus, spinach, squash, corn done simply and beautifully I recommend it. It reminds me of when I lived in Boston and that is saying something.

Dawn S.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Bright, airy setting - good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I drove all the way from Daly City to meet friends for lunch. While I do think the seafood at Nick's in Pacifica is better, Yankee Pier had very good New England clam chowder and a fairly extensive menu selection. What I was longing for, though, was a grilled seafood platter and they did not have that. I settled for their "Tombo Tuna and Monterey Jack Melt", served on a soft roll, with chips and cole slaw. It was quite good. Sadly, no one else at my table tried anything different. We didn't even order dessert.

The restaurant itself was bright, airy and open. Because it was so hot, we did not dine outside though there is that option. There is a nice wine list offering an especially large number of California selections.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“New England on the Pacific...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have eaten here many times in the past and it is predictably good every time. We come specifically for the lobster and fried clams (hard to get anywhere in the West), but have also enjoyed salmon, shrimp, clam chowder. The service is terrific and there is nice patio in the front and back - and easy parking. We are both from Boston and like the "Fish House" feeling of this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yankee Pier also viewed

Lafayette, CA
Lafayette, CA
 

Been to Yankee Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.