We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Merendero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Merendero
1910 Fairplex Drive, La Verne, CA
(909) 593-7078
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 79 Restaurants in La Verne
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pomona, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow, this little place is definitely authentic. No Americanized food here.. not only is it a restaurant, but it's also a bakery! The enchiladas, chiles rellenos and sopes are my favorite but I still haven't tried something I didn't like. If you want authentic.. this is the place to go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Another Mexican Restaurant ?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes another, but , the 'chile relleno', 'green enchilada plate', and so many other dishes are well worth the wait. Also if you dine in there are various beers to sample.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DImas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sopes Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My recommendation: Carnitas sopes. THE best I've had anywhere and a great accompaniment for the juices kept in drink coolers at the order window. If you want your food fast and prefer a quiet atmosphere, opt to eat outside rather than inside.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Fast Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

El Merendero is an established fast food place. The menu is comprehensive, the service is fast, but the food is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

El Merendero is one of our favorite places to eat. They give you plenty on your plate and their prices are very reasonable. They have remodeled and it looks very clean and nice. On our last visit, our waitress was Jessica. She is the best waitress that we have every had at El Merendero's. She kept asking us if everything was ok and did we need anything else. She kept our chips and salsa filled as we needed it. She was a great waitress. And the food was very good, as always.

I have been to the other location in Pomona and the tables are so close together, it feels like you are eating with the people seated next to you. But, the food is good. We prefer the location by the fairgrounds in La Verne.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Merendero also viewed

 

Been to El Merendero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Merendero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.