We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in decline” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel in decline”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First, let me say we have been frequent guests of the hotel for over 30 years. In fact, we were married at the hotel several years ago. On our most recent trip we encountered several problems and will not stay at the property in the future. We booked a “Vintage” Resort Casita which has been our preferred accommodation. However, this time the room was not up to standard. This was the smallest room we have ever been in not at all like the others we have stayed in for many years. The room did not come anywhere near the published square foot size. The room was so small two people could hardly maneuver around without bumping into one another. The bathroom was so dark you could not see to shave and the room heater was so loud it was impossible to sleep.In addition, the room price was nearly double last years cost at the same time of year.

We did have a lovely view out the small window and we tried to take advantage with a room service breakfast. However, even that was ruined when the hotel grounds staff started working on the flower bed outside our window at 9:00 am. Check-out was a nightmare. No express check-out is offered and when I arrive at the check-out desk at 10:30 am there were 11 people in-line ahead of me and 2 clerks. Took over 30 minutes to check-out. In addition, the bill was incorrect and credits had not been applied…which further slowed the process.

When the front desk clerk asked if we enjoyed our stay I informed him we did not like our room. He asked if we just didn’t like the “Vintage” casitas and when I told him that was our preferred room his only response was “well I guess you just didn’t like that room”. No apology…no concern.

I completed the Hilton request for on-line survey feedback and I wrote a personal letter to the hotel manager. After 4 weeks no reply. I think you probably get the same feeling I have they just don't care. The hotel has significantly raised prices in the last year while delivering less service, poor management and limited value.

The La Quinta Resort was once one of the best properties in the Palm Springs area or anywhere. Unfortunately, the lack management attention and the poor value delivered will cause us to find other accommodations in the future.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
49
3
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Big line - lots of time to check in. Got to room but it was occupied by someone else. Had to call and they sent us to a new room. Rooms are spacious and have had some updating, but they are older. The tub (which we don't use) was huge. The shower (which we use) was tiny. Nice fireplace which we used a lot. Decided to stay one more night which we worked out. When we got back to room after golfing, room was not cleaned yet. Had to call and they sent a girl to clean while we were sitting in the room trying to relax. But it was eventually clean. We went out to dinner and when we got back our key card would not work. Had to drive around to the desk and get new cards. Then a small thing, but the last straw, we ran out of Kleenex. We called and they sent some over. We mentioned all the issues we had, and they apologized and said we could have a late checkout (which was very nice). They also said they would provide breakfast, which was also nice. However, we are not breakfast eaters, so when I went to the desk to check out I mentioned that we are not breakfast eaters but would enjoy lunch. They agreed, and we had a very nice lunch. Lots of nice things - beautiful place, pretty Christmas decorations, good food, but the place is definitely not run like a top notch resort, especially for what they charge.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have gone to La Quinta every year in February since 2011 with a group of families. It started as a coincidence with 4 families and the word has spread it has gotten up to more than 10 families. La Quinta is ideal for this kind of gathering. The hotel is great about putting families around the same pool. It's like an old-fashioned village, with kids easily visiting friends, and everyone coming and going at the pool as the day progresses. The kids swim, take the great tennis clinic, take golf lessons, and swim lots more, at our "neighborhood" pool and at the main, larger pool, where one of the families rents a cabana and everyone gathers when they are hungry for lunch. There are spa visits, yoga classes, and great group dinners (at the La Quinta restaurants and in town) and tennis and golf for adults as well. The setting is beautiful and the rooms (our group stays in the Spa Villas) are well-maintained and so convenient, with kitchens and lots of space. Babysitters can be easily arranged. It is such a wonderful set up for both socializing as much as you like and also easily retreating for a bit of downtime.
We are always there in February --one year it even rained and we still had a great time! Most of the time it's lovely that time of year, warm enough to swim, but not too hot.
We have had magical times with friends there-- it's a huge resort, but feels like a bunch of lovely small towns. Love the bougainvillea! Looking forward to another visit in a few weeks.

Room Tip: The website has nice descriptions of the different kinds of rooms. Spa Villas are newer. Take a look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BirdixSF,
Thank you for this fine recommendation to the TripAdvisor community. You've really captured the essence of what I find so special about La Quinta Resort and Club, that although it is a huge property, it feels quite like many small towns. For years, we've taken great pride in providing families from all over with a memorable group experience. I am happy to know that yours is a part of that tradition. Thank you for your loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back in February!
Best regards,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had an issue upon entering my room where the bathroom was not properly cleaned prior to check-in, but a call to the front desk had Housekeeping there within 10 minuted to resolve the issue. Great service and location. A perfect couples retreat.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear L3174OAryanb,
Thank you so much for sharing your valuable feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you received exceptional Waldorf service while you were here, and that you enjoyed your couples retreat. We look forward to your next stay!
Sincerely,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here in the old days it was fantastic. Now it is a Hilton property, old and falling apart. Not nearly worth the price and the staff is on autopilot. They tolerate problems poorly and we had several. Could not get in our room on several occasions, took hours each time to enter. No hot water, windows do not operate shutters broken AC marginal. $600 a night POS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at La Quinta numerous times over the past 10+ years and since they just did some renovations and we checked them out it's time for a review! La Quinta is very large with over 20 pools. Buildings are grouped around the pools with around 20 rooms sharing a pool/jacuzzi. With this set up it's always possible to get a chair and an umbrella, sometimes if a large group is at a certain pool you may want to go to the next pool over which is no big deal. Poolside rooms are literally steps from the pool. Others may be on the back of the building and some parts of the hotel have larger fenced pools and grass between the building and the pool. Personally, the poolside Casita is the way to go if you're going to hang by the pool. There is also a large main pool. It can be VERY crowded during holiday weeks and especially spring break. The kids love it though and there is no bar or restaurant at the smaller pools. You can have your own cooler and order room service though and that's what we do!

The rooms have recently been upgraded. This basically means new carpet and drapes, new bedding. Bathrooms are the same but they were already cool with the old mexican style tile that you see throughout the resort. Some buildings have two floors and if you are down stairs from someone active you can definitely hear it! The rooms are comfortable, fairly large and attractive. Bathrooms are large, nice towels, etc. Pool towels are pretty skimpy to be honest.

The resort itself is all Santa Barbara style and very well done. Be prepared to walk, it's quite spread out, our kids usually bring a razor or skateboard and so does everyone else. It is a very family friendly resort so there are frequently large family and friend groups with kids, etc. so while it is basically quiet, there is a fair amount of activity. It is a great place for an event with a large group as you can get your rooms around the same pool and have it to yourself, make your own drinks and even have a meal as there are outdoor tables at most of the pool areas.

The area near the front entrance is where the restaurants, shops, etc. are located and it's always pretty hopping around there. In the evenings the terrace serves margaritas and other drinks, frequently has a live band and people up and dancing. Morgan's restaurant has a patio with a fireplace and a very beautiful interior. The food there is fantastic, pretty pricey however. The mexican restaurant is also tasty and fun. I have only eaten breakfast at the third restaurant (can't recall the name) but it's a great breakfast too and there is also a coffee shop with pastries, bagels, and the usual basics.

I did not visit the gym on my last visit so it may be remodeled. Previously it was large, had a lot of bikes, treadmills and cardio equipment but was cramped and not always adequately air conditioned but otherwise perfectly usable, at least for me.

One downside of La Quinta Resort is that it is a bit away from some of the popular restaurants, the Riverwalk, etc. You need to drive to go pretty much anywhere off property. We usually come out for one to three days and mostly stay at the resort. All in all, it's my favorite of the Palm Desert properties though I have not been to the new Ritz.

Room Tip: Look at a resort map online and decide what area looks like the right thing for you, ie: Proximity t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Igetaroundconb,
Thank you for being a loyal guest of La Quinta Resort and Club. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on the restoration at our property. With over 41 pools spread throughout the resort, I completely agree with you, it's always possible to get a chair and umbrella. And yes, you are correct, the Fitness Center has been completely restored as well. We look forward to your next visit, and we will have the lounge chairs waiting!
Sincerely,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband surprised me with a quick getaway this past weekend. It was very last minute so we did not schedule many activities. We ended up focusing the majority of our free time towards the spa. Friday evening we started with a Desert Duo massage. The spa stays open until 8 pm so it was very easy to schedule an appointment after our arrival that day. The facilities are very nice. Our favorite part was a lounge area outdoors by a fire. The next day we were back at the spa for a mani/pedi. Once again the facilities are very nice, the staff is wonderful, and I cannot say enough about the ease with scheduling!!

The resort itself is breathtaking. There are miles of sidewalk to walk, pools in every courtyard area. If you are one to look for a private pool all to yourself this is your place. We also visited the gym facilities. I don't believe my review could every do justice to the beauty of this resort. During our stay we also visited all three of the restaurants. The food was wonderful at each of them! I would suggest making reservations for dinner!!

I look forward to coming back to the La Quinta resort again soon!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Betsey T,
Thank you for choosing La Quinta Resort as the setting for your romantic weekend getaway. It's a special pleasure for us to be able to help our guests relax and rejuvenate! And I completely agree with you, our spa is simply wonderful. I appreciate your sharing this experience with the TripAdvisor community, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.