We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort with potential to be fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort with potential to be fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Resort for 1 week in November with my 2 adult children. Our purpose was relaxation and the ability to play tennis. We had a lovely room that was properly maintained near the pool/tennis courts and not to far from the Concierge's area. There were many ants in the room but not sufficient to bother any of us. If you bring food into the unit, make sure you put them in the fridge, which was provided, The resort is being updated and, as a result, the fitness area is subpar and temporary while the main pool is functional, with small pools in between every set of casitas. There are several restaurants/eating areas on the property and we enjoyed 26 the most. We ate at Morgans one evening and, despite the hype, felt it was very expensive and not as good as the hype, although it was quite decent. There are numerous eating establishments in the area, so you won't go hungry. The tennis facility was excellent and we took several lessons with Tom Gorman who certainly enhanced our stay the resort. He is knowledgeable, entertaining and personable and we looked forward to each and every lesson with him. If you are a tennis fan and/or player, you ought to take at least one lesson with him. Court time is expensive and the staff were unable to set up games for us, which wasn't critical in our situation because we were able to play with one another.

The Resort is quite laid back, staff very personable and helpful and once the upgrades are completed, this will be an excellent resort. I intend to return and, hopefully, I will be able to upgrade this review.

Room Tip: If your room is beside young children, you might have to endure the commotion that they make. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    11
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
18
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night, and did not use the resort facilities, so this is a review of the room only. The room was tired and in need of updating. The rug was actually dirty and frayed. The room was very basic with nothing resort-like about it at all. Bathroom very basic. The beds were comfortable with good quality bedding, but that is the best to be said. I was actually pretty shocked to think this was a "Waldorf" property. Wifi was VERY VERY poor in the room. May have been our location, but basically the wifi did not work.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear NancyJVR,

Our goal is for each and every guest to receive True Waldorf Service at La Quinta Resort, and I'm quite sorry to hear that your visit failed to meet that standard. I do hope that you will return to the resort in the future at a time when you can more fully experience all that the resort has to offer. When you do, I invite you to contact the front office so we can make sure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Best regards,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey Peninsula, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

This wonderful resort brings me back to my childhood as a native daughter of California. The Adobe single storied casitas are well appointed and gracious. I love the feeling sitting under the stars in the front courtyard it takes me back in time. I highly recommend this wonderful resort. Be aware of the non refundable pet deposit of $100. However, you will get pet placemats, stainless bowls and a great pet bed.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at La Quinta several times, and the service is always top notch. The rooms are a bit "dated" at this point, but my understanding is that they are in the process of up dating. If you don't rent a car, they are awesome about arranging transport anywhere you want to go. I highly recommend La Quinta.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jafortho,

Thank you for writing such a heartfelt recommendation of La Quitna Resort for TripAdvisor readers. I do hope you will come and stay again to experience our renovated rooms. One thing that hasn't changed, however, is our unrelenting focus on providing True Waldorf Service. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

OK perhaps competition from the Ritz Carlton reopening ( the second time they have come to Rancho Mirage and the same location) has pushed this resort but whatever, its a much better stay. The rooms are newly remodeled, (the gym still being worked on). Better outdoor furniture, and nicer appointments inside the suites. Badly needed. The service at the front desk, valet, and 26 were all very impressive and Four Season's esque. I haven't been to the newly remodeled Ritz but didn't like the location, and the layout from before. Many of the rooms are down stairs and sort of dark. But I will give it a shot.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Tomk626,

I'm quite pleased to hear that your recent stay at La Quinta Resort exceeded your expectations. We're very proud of our team members, and it will be my pleasure to pass along your positive words. Thank you for taking the time to write, and please know that we would love to be your destination of choice when you are planning your next desert getaway.

Sincerely,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have been going here for years because of the location and the resort itself. The resort had been getting tired recently. However, it has new owners (still remaining as part of the Hilton Group) and it is undergoing extensive renovations which are bringing it back to its former glory. Service is excellent as are the hotels amenities which include a spa, large number of tennis courts, over 20 swimming pools and golf courses on property. We like it because unlike most other large hotels and resorts you stay in casitas rather than normal hotel rooms. The bar (Twenty 6) is a reasonable hotel bar. There are several restaurants on property. Morgan's in the Desert is very nice, but I find it over priced. I would recommend eating in the many excellent restaurants in the area rather than the ones in the property - local taxis are very reasonably priced. Despite some of the negatives I still rate it 5 stars - it is an exceptionally unique and relaxing resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are within a few steps of a pool. SO don't pay extra for poll side unless you reallly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BrianG50,

I appreciate your thoughtful and balanced review of La Quinta Resort. I'm most pleased to hear that you received excellent service during your stays, which means you were free to relax and more fully enjoy your time. I have to agree that it's difficult to find another resort quite like this one, and I hope we'll have the privilege of welcoming you back to this special, relaxing place for years to come.

Sincerely,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed here many times throughout the years & always leave feeling so relaxed. This timed we stayed in a casita that had a private courtyard & jacuzzi & will definitely reserve this type of room again. The rooms are beautifully decorated & the beds are super comfy. The rooms we've stayed in have been equipped with a Keurig coffee maker and a small fridge. There are delicious restaurants on the property & pools at every turn. The resort staff was friendly and when we needed anything they responded quickly. The only knock is the parking, it's pretty crowded by evening. However, they do offer free valet. I still gave them a 5 because overall our stay here is always fabulous!

Room Tip: If you don't want to be awaken by the sun request a room facing west. If you cannot walk far req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkriske, Manager at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear E F,

It's wonderful to hear that your visits to La Quinta Resort have been consistently fabulous. Our team works hard to ensure that our guests are able to relax and enjoy the resort without a care, and your review lets us know that we're achieving that goal. Thank you for letting us and the TripAdvisor community know how much you've enjoyed your stays here over the years. We look forward to making your next visit as memorable as the ones that came before.

Sincerely,
Jay Kriske
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.