We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Anywhere But Here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay Anywhere But Here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

This is not a resort. You literally have to beg for a towel if you are not at the main pool. It is left filthy all day long. Towels piling high and people's trash left to rot. No one comes to serve you a drink or meal. Ever. You might as well be at home. The regular casitas are also dirty, dark and tired. If you're willing to pay 600+ for a spa villa you can get a nice room--but you will still have no resort amenities. None.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear vmapdx,

I'm sorry to hear that your experience at La Quinta Resort did not live up to your expectations of a resort vacation. I know how disappointing that must feel, and naturally we want all of our guests to have a relaxing time here that matches their dream vacation. I appreciate your taking the time to write this review, so that future guests will have an accurate idea of what to expect when they stay with us. As you mention, we provide food and towel service at the main pool. At all of the others, room service is available, and you're welcome to use the towels from your room. If you need more towels, housekeeping will happily provide them. I hope the next time you're visiting from Portland you'll allow us another opportunity to show you the true La Quinta Resort experience.

Thank you,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    417
    204
    173
    111
See reviews for
409
596
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our first time to the desert was 3 years ago when my husband had a confernce to attend at La Quinta. We've since been back a few times, staying at the JW Marriott and the Renaissance. The kids remembered our time at La Quinta fondly so we decided to go back.

When we checked in, we were told the A/C was going to be out that night but not to worry as it was to be cool that night. It was supposed to be back on at 6am, but instead came on late in the afternoon - and we had to call to inquire as to what was going on. (Expected some kind of proactive notification.) When we inquired, they offered us a fan and a free dinner at Adobe. In addition to the A/C, our family of 4 couldn't sleep that first night because the people above us were walking around - not partying or anything - from about 11pm until 2am! The creaking of the floors and EVERY little sound was enough to keep us all up. In the morning, we called the front desk and asked to move to avoid a repeat and we were told those people were checking out so it shouldn't be an issue...

Of course new people checked in, so it was an issue... and we ended up calling that evening to ask them to suggest they somehow quiet down. (How do you ask someone to stop moving around?) The bottom line is that the rooms don't have enough noise insulation and when we asked to move, that should have been honored.

The rooms are pretty tired. Carpets are stained, things just look kind of dingy. Beds are comfortable though. The note in the bathroom to hang your towel to use it again is well intended, but there was not one single hook or bar to be found... so waste we did.

The large pool is nice and considering it was Spring Break, it was not overly crowded. Our first day, we had a great experience with the service but the second day we found it impossible to find someone to take our order, so up to the bar we went... for waters, drinks, lunch -- we could NEVER find any one to service us. When we arrived that morning, there was a glass beer bottle laying on one of the chairs.

Outside our room there was a pool - this is why the kids wanted to go back to La Quinta! Unfortunately, there were 2 or 3 families who would stake it out for the ENTIRE day. Many hours would pass in the middle of the day and there wasn't a person to be found, but they would leave a towel on EVERY chair and all of their food and pool toys as if to claim it as theirs. This was a huge disappointment to us and happened all the days we were there. One of our children has allergies to nuts, and we would find pistachio shells not just on the side of the pool, but also IN it. This created some anxiety in our child, but we managed to keep him safe.

Regarding the handling of food allergies, the first day at the pool I asked the server early on if she could check on some ingredients for my child before it got too busy. She happily obliged and we were comfortable with how she handled it. The second day, I inquired (at the bar since I couldn't find a server) and the employee happily went in to the kitchen to inquire. She came out and said the food in question was indeed safe, but that he shouldn't eat the french fries as they used a soybean oil that contained nuts. Huh? I was absolutely floored as I was told the previous day it was safe soybean oil. When I told her this, she said "Well, did he eat it?" I said yes. She said "Well, did he react? I guess it's okay." I told her this is an extremely serious thing as it's life threatening and I do not take it lightly. It is hard enough to trust resorts, restuarants, etc. when we travel and this was not helping. When I came back a few minutes later after I calmed down, the chef came out and said he was mistaken... They comped us lunch, which was kind, but I do feel as though this is something that all the servers & employees at food establishments shoud know. It shouldn't be mistaken. The manager apparently overheard everything and came over to apologize as well. I did appreciate that, and I hope that they will better educate their staff at all restaurants. At Adobe, the server was standing their "thinking" when we inquired about the type of oil & what was in the food, but instead of "thinking", I would have preferred that she go and ask, which she did, once I suggested it.

We have traveled a lot with our children, and there are good and bad experiences. The best have been places (Montage Laguna Beach) that have gone out of their way to make my child feel special... "what would he LIKE to eat?" And then the chef makes a safe version for him... While I don't expect this everywhere, I do expect a resort of the La Quinta's caliber to at least be knowledgeable.

We were contacted prior to our stay via email by a concierge. When I emailed to inquire about our dining options and how to handle our food allergies, I gave my phone numbers to discuss on the phone. The woman emailed me and suggested I make dinner reservations and let her know where we'd be eating so she could tell the chef... This didn't really work for us as we didn't want to plan our meals a week in advance of our trip nor did we know what time we'd want to eat while away. Never did get any solid reassurance.

Overall, the kids had a fun time. My husband and I were disappointed in the service and overall condition of the room. The resort itself is gorgeous and they just need to take some time to renovate to the standards of the Waldforf Astoria name.

We will be back to the desert many more times, but we aren't sure we'll be back to La Quinta anytime soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear gbs527,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of your stay at La Quinta Resort. I do apologize that your experience here was so uneven, and I appreciate the care you put into writing your comments, which will be helpful for us in addressing your concerns. I was especially struck by your experience regarding your son's food allergies. As you mention, this is an extremely serious issue, one that we don't take lightly. It's clear, however, that we need to better train our entire team on this topic. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to provide your family with True Waldorf Service, and when you return I invite you to contact me directly so I can help make sure your next stay goes smoothly from start to finish.

All the best,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The price of the rooms are double what they should've been. it was more like staying at a highway motel, no ambience whatsoever. Absolutely no service at the pools either. Our friends got upgraded to a spa suite, beautiful but still no service at the pool. Definitely stay somewhere else!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Doodlenuggy,

I'm sorry to hear that you found your stay at La Quinta Resort such a disappointment. One of the great things about a relaxing pool getaway is enjoying food service by the pool, so I can understand the frustration you voice in your review. We do have direct food service at our Main Pool, and at all the others we offer room service delivery. I apologize that these options were not brought to your attention.

Sincerely,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Any Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The grounds of La Quinta are beautiful however there are a lot of little things that together add up to an experience that really is not at the Waldorf Astoria level. Among them:

1. Most annoying and dangerous. There are skateboards and scooters everywhere. It is annoying to have to dodge them all of the time. In fact, I was unable to dodge one and the kid ran right into me. They have signs forbidding them on the tile areas but do not enforce at all. It really takes away from the experience especially if you are trying to relax or have a business meeting or conference. And, if a kid were to run into someone with limited mobility it is a lawsuit waiting to happen.

2. Analog TVs with bad reception. Really need to upgrade those.

3. The food at the Mexican restaurant has gone down hill and the service is slow and not very attentive.

Now for the good:

1. Spa is nice and services were wonderful. They do have midweek specials that you should ask about.

2. The grounds are amazingly beautiful and the many pools provide you with options.

3. The fitness center is large and has great equipment.

4. Beds were very comfy but the rest of the furniture could use some refreshing.

All in all, it is a beautiful location, but not up to Waldorf Astoria standards.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear AnyGuest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at La Quinta Resort. We pay great attention to our guests' comments, and yours offer food for thought on several fronts. I'm sorry that your experience didn't live up to your expectations, despite the positive things you mentioned. I agree with you that the details matter, and your review will help us make sure that every element of the La Quinta experience lives up to the level of Waldorf Astoria.

All the best,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a relaxing couple's getaway upon a recommendation from a friend. Unfortunately, we had to transfer rooms the first night due to the fact that the box spring was entirely broken underneath our mattress. They wanted to fix it by putting a board underneath the mattress, and we refused, so we were given another room. The first night in the new room was ok, despite the fickle toilet and the 5 foot tall shower head that requires you to duck every time you want to get your hair wet. The second night, however, we were woken up around 1am because we could hear every word of a loud couple's conversation in the adjoining room next door. The third night, we were woken up by the second--yes, second--adjoining room, where there was a family with two young children who were screaming and slamming doors for over an hour up until midnight. By this time, we felt like we were living in a communal home with no control over the noise around us. And after 2 nights of interrupted sleep, we couldn't take it anymore, so we transferred rooms around midnight just to get some sleep. Because the 3rd room wasn't available the following night, we were given a fourth room for our last night. Four rooms in four nights. All of this and we were only compensated for one night of our stay. I've never been so disappointed in a resort and it made our vacation anything but relaxing. We do not plan to visit this resort again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear moonlite44,

I apologize that your couple's getaway proved to be less than relaxing. So many elements are involved in creating the perfect retreat, and it's a great disappointment when things go amiss. I hope that you will consider including La Quinta Resort in your future plans, and when you do, please contact me directly so that I can make sure your next visit is the relaxing vacation you desire.

Sincerely,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona Del Mar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We have been frequent visitors to La Quinta. We go on weekdays for better prices. The property has hardly changed which is why we return. Morgan's restaurant and the 26 provide great food. Will be repeat customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear swimmerz,

Thank you so much for letting TripAdvisor readers know how much you've enjoyed your visits to La Quinta Resort! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the future.

Best regards,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our family reunion vacation took up 9 rooms at the resort. Each had issues, from bugs, to non working TVs, to burnt out lights, etc. The grounds and restaurants are top notch but the rooms are tired and dated, and do not correspond favorably to the price charged for them. They are a little dingy and run down... from the patio furniture to the A/C vents to the room furnishings... it's all a little dusty or dirty or outdated, creating an overall feel of tiredness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear AkaFlaco,

I'm sorry to hear that you found your rooms out of sync with the rest of the resort. I understand how distracting that could be, when you'd rather focus on enjoying your reunion. I do hope you were able to enjoy your family time together nonetheless, creating memories to cherish for years to come. And I invite you on your next visit to contact me, because I'd like to help ensure your next family reunion goes off without a hitch.

Sincerely,
Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;