We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled in the Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices from these 11 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Nestled in the Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This beautiful property nestled in the mountains is a very romantic getaway for couples. The quality of service is unbelievable. They cater to all your needs, to the point of bellman taking you to your room or anywhere else for that matter. It's as though you have traveled back in time. Beautiful grounds, beautiful villas, great service with a smile. We'll be back. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Frances T,

The Cahuilla people, who originally inhabited the area where La Quinta Resort now sits nestled in the Santa Rosa Mountains, called this area "Happy Hollow." I think you've discovered some of the magic they recognized in this place, and I'm grateful that you chose to share it with future travelers here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort, and wish you many more romantic getaways for years to come!

Best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    425
    208
    174
    113
See reviews for
415
612
60
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We decided to visit this resort based on a rave review of a co-worker. Nevertheless, I would say this resort if vastly overrated. First of all, the rooms are on the older side. Carpet was rather old and the walls were on the thin side. For the two nights we stayed, we heard every move the upstairs guest made from walking across the room every ten minutes to the flushing of the toilet. As you can imagine, we didn't get much sleep. Furthermore, the rooms weren't very well stocked. There was only ONE BAR OF SOAP IN THE ROOM which I found rather odd for an "upscale" resort. On our first night, not only were we kept up by the guest upstairs, we were rudely awakened from are light sleep by some drunk girl in the courtyard. We notified the front desk in the morning and they gave us a $50.00 dollar credit. On the positive side, the food was good. The 26 restaurant had a nice selection of quality food. The staff for the most part were friendly. I wouldn't stay here again though. Not much to do... the larger pools were nice, but the grounds were rather boring.

Room Tip: choose a room by the large pool.. avoid rooms that are two levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Trebor D,

I'm very sorry to learn that you had difficult sleeping during your stay at La Quinta Resort. Whenever possible, we're happy to try to relocate guests who find their room unsuitable for any reason, including noisy neighbors. Despite these difficulties, I'm pleased that you received good service from the staff and found the food to be good. I hope you will reconsider your decision not to stay with us again in the future, and if so, I invite you to contact me directly so I can confer with you to make certain your next stay far outshines the first.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The resort has seen better days. It needs an infusion of cash to upgrade the bathrooms and to fix the parking. With a child in a stroller and significant luggage we were forced to park close to a quarter mile away in a construction zone. Carrying a infants luggage back and forth over our stay was very annoying. I expect more from this brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Chris N,

One of the charms of La Quinta Resort is the many casitas nestled around pools and interspersed throughout 45 acres of landscaping. We do recognize that this also presents a challenge at times, and I can see how annoying this would have been for you. For this very reason, we offer free transportation via golf-cart to all guests who find they're having difficulty getting from one place to another. I apologize that you weren't aware of this option, and I hope that you will consider returning to the resort for a better experience. When you do, please contact me directly, because I'd like to ensure that your next experience meets your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Classy hotel with a nice feel.
Clean and well appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff.
Casita 230 is large and perfect for a relaxing stay adjacent to a nice small pool.
Hotel gym and spa great, lots of equipment.
Bathroom toiletries were not Ferragamo as advertised but a brand I had not heard of.
Not sure if this is a cost cutting measure or due to a temporary shortage.
Diamond card status does not entitle you to the usual complimentary breakfast. Staff advised each Waldorf property dictates the level of recognition it offers. Have only ever stayed in Waldorf properties before that offered the breakfast so this came as a surprise.
I was disappointed by this, although I cannot fault the level of service provided by the staff or my overall positive impression of this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Nicholas H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience here at La Quinta Resort. I'm grateful that despite your disappointment over the Diamond-level HHonors benefits, you received a high level of service from our staff and formed a positive overall impression of the resort itself. We do hope that you will spend time with us again the next time you visit from the UK.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

THe La Quinta Resort and Spa never dissapoints!!!!! It is beautiful, and calm, and quiet. It's a great place to rest. Had a wedding at Greta Garbos' courtyard, and it was beautiful. The rooms were clean, and the bathrooms are great!! The rooms are huge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Patty T,

Isn't the courtyard at La Casa a spectacular venue for a wedding? We are always excited when we can be part of such a special occasion in our guests' lives, and it pleases me that your experiences here have been beautiful.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has old world Spanish style charm with a casual feel. This resort has a golf course, tennis courts and a multitude of swimming pools. The restaurants are all great and there is a bit of shopping. The Spa was a real treat for my 8 year old daughter as they allowed kids here. She was beyond thrilled to be able to get a pedicure and use the facilities. The grounds are large, private and beautifully maintained...many great photo spots. The rooms were great and most had a connection to a shared lap pool along with the other larger resort pools. Overall this was a very relaxing vacation even with the kids. There is also an adult pool if you want the complete escape. I would recommend to couples or families of well behaved children.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and we got an upgrade to a suite with a front and back patio area t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Slogirl N,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. Your review nicely includes so much of what La Quinta Resort offers, and you even raise a point that few reviewers mention: we have a special children's menu at Spa La Quinta. I'm so pleased that your daughter was able to have such a thrilling experience, and that you were able to find multiple ways to relax, even on a family vacation.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

great hotel, with great service, would stay here again next trip to this area, felt I was in another world, the service from when I checked in to when I left was just great, I have been to this area many times and have stayed in many hotels, this is by far the best I have stayed in

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

I appreciate your taking the time to write this concise yet expressive review of your stay at La Quinta Resort! Our staff works hard to provide a superior guest experience for each person who visits with us, and it will give me great pleasure to pass along your accolades. We hope you will indeed allow us the privilege of serving you again during your next trip to the Palm Springs area.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.