We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most upscale resort in the desert” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The most upscale resort in the desert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came out to the desert at the last minute for a few nights over our sons' high school spring break as we were experiencing a very foggy spring on the Los Angeles coast and we wanted some sun. La Quinta is definitely our 1st choice for a stay in the desert as it is the most unique resort with its layout and various types of casitas. We have stayed at all the 4 1/2 and 5 star hotels many many times and family consensus is that this is the best in the Palm Springs Desert. I prefer their upstairs starlight casita's with their huge private patios or their walled in casitas with private patios, some with private jacuzzi's or pools, but they were sold out. I do not like their original 1920's casitas as they are small and old, nor do I like the downstairs casitas surrounding the pools as they offer very little privacy. We ended up way out on property at the Spa Villas with 2 upstairs units in different buildings which are the newest accommodations on the property and are also available for sale. Upon entering the spa villa, you immediately go up a flight of stairs to the second level. The villa is one large room with a bedroom area on one side and a couch, chairs, tv and balcony with 2 chairs. The bedroom overlooked the pool, the living room the parking lot and mountains beyond. The bathroom was large done in spanish tiles with separate shower and tub with plenty of windows. If you wanted a larger unit, you could connect it with the unit downstairs which has a bedroom, a real living room and kitchen via a lock off door which was located in the entryway. Some units had open garages downstairs instead of a bottom unit. Housekeeping was mediocre compared to previous visits. Trash was not always emptied, dirty glasses were left on the nightstand and the sheets were not very clean. I was awakened by crickets in our bathroom at night. The light outside the entrance to our room was burned out for our whole visit making it difficult to key our room at night. We had requested it to be repaired on 3 different occasions to no avail. Very surprising for a Waldorf Astoria. The spa villa building clustered around small gated pools,and there was NO service at all at the pools. The resort was 100% capacity when we were there and only once did any other people join us at the pool. It was our own little oasis! We walked the entire grounds of the resort each day as the grounds are extremely well manicured and the flowers are spectacular. The pools in the other sections were very crowded and the main pool was filled with parents with small children. Food was good at the restaurant by the main pool overlooking their exhibition tennis court, but service was extremely slow. We had a very late dinner our first evening in theMexican Cantina and the food and drinks there are authentic with good service. We always eat here each time we are in the desert whether we stay here or not. We got dressed up one night for dinner at their upscale restaurant, Morgan's. It has a rather limited menu but the food was of good quality and our server was very knowledgeable about their food and wines. Overall, this was one of our most disappointing stays here. Hotel needs to hire more staff for peak periods such as spring break/Easter. We will return and give them another chance, but only when I can get 2 starlight casitas, and definitely not at holiday time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear RPV5,

I'm very disappointed to hear that your recent visit did not live up to your expectations, although I'm grateful that you're willing to give us another opportunity to match or exceed your earlier experiences. The next time you come to La Quinta Resort, I invite you to contact me directly so I can personally ensure your next visit is everything you hope it will be.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    429
    209
    174
    113
See reviews for
416
620
60
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

At one time this was a great property with beautiful grounds, great service and wonderful casita rooms. That was then and this is now. The property is simply tired and ownership is clearly cutting costs while squeezing every nickel out of the guest. For example, they charge a daily $27 resort fee for free local phone calls and other nickel and dime amenities. But do they provide towels at the pool? No except for the main pool which is a dirty health hazard overrun with children that resembles a summer camp or a preschool.

When you call the front desk and ask about towels, they tell you to use the "pool towels" in the room. Well it only takes 3 of the in-room pool towels to cover your chaise lounge at the pool. In other words, they are small and inadequate for pool use. But I guess they make sense when ownership is saving money and cutting costs.

We had a host of problems with our experience including a reservation process that makes the airlines look competent and was never properly managed despite repeated phone calls to the property and the Hilton reservations office before our stay. This reservation breakdown led to a 30 minute check-in process at 9:00 pm at night after a day of travel.

Although I have premium status in the Hilton Honors program and have stayed at the hotel a number of times in the past, we were rewarded with probably the worst room on the property that was on the edge of the property overlooking a parking lot and had a tiny bathroom with a 5-foot high shower head. Nice.

I repeatedly tried to contact the property's management before our stay, during our stay and after our stay to discuss our issues with the reservation process and our stay including our room issues. Well guess what, they just ignored my calls and I even spoke to Nancy, the executive assistant to the GM who basically told me to pound sand. Nice attitude and customer retention.

Needless to say, we will not be returning to this once great and classic property and you should avoid it all costs unless you get a great rate and everything else is booked.

The only redeeming feature about the resort is its food which is very good for a hotel and reasonable for a resort. And the food service employees are very nice and helpful unlike management. They seem to care about the guest. I wish I could say the same for the management team.

Room Tip: Bribe the front desk--I have no idea as I honestly believe we got the worst room on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear JBN1956,

It was a pleasure talking to you about your challenges here at La Quinta Resort. I am glad we were able to come to an amicable resolution with your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in the 500's rooms in an area of the resort that is the "low rent" district. Still a lovely part of the resort to stay in.

Lots of small pools in the interior courtyard areas and near the 21 and older pool that is open on weekends. The grounds are well kept and the staff is all friendly. Take your tennis racket- I regret not having done that. There are weekly mens and womens court groups and many other options if you arent traveling with another player. The courts are in great shape too!

Read by the small pool near your room in relative quiet or travel down to one of two larger pools on the grounds that have bar/food service available. Be aware if you travel in September it is hot and the pools are not cooled. A dip in the pool can cool you off if there is a breeze to help. The small pools need more umbrellas for shade though since there are not shade trees near the pools.

The ambiance of adobe brick architecture sets the mood of comfort and class. Beautiful place to stay and disconnect.

The food on the property provides enough variety that it really isnt necessary to get in the car and go someplace for a few nights. Pick some things up at the grocery store for breakfast and lunch to keep the costs down and you can stay for a week.

Room Tip: Next time I would like to stay closer to the spa in the spa villas area as it is further from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear TravelfanDurango,

Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. You've offered some very practical tips that I'm sure future guests will find helpful. For example,you're absolutely right that tennis players should bring their rackets to La Quinta Resort. We have 23 tennis courts, both hard and clay, and have been voted one of the top tennis resorts in the world. Hopefully the next time you visit from Colorado, you'll be able to get in some good tennis time.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staying at this resort hotel is like stepping back in time 80 or so years, and in a good way. It's steeped in atmosphere from the heyday of the 20's and 30's and you can easily imagine the rich and famous of that era enjoying the wonderful facities, especially during the evening when the bands are playing and the whole complex is lit up in a most delightful way. We stayed in the Frank Capra room, which was lovely, expecially the bathroom, and again steeped in atmosphere, especially with the large hammock on the green just outside the room. Yes, some of the furniture is a bit dated and careworn, but that somehow fitted in. The swimming pools were fine, not big, but big enough to cool down in the high temperatures. We had a couple of meals in the different restaurants and both were enjoyable and reasonably priced. All the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Fudgecat0250,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your stay at La Quinta Resort. I'm glad to hear that you had the opportunity to stay in the casita where Frank Capra wrote movies such as "It Happened One Night" and "It's a Wonderful Life." Mr. Capra certainly found inspiration here at the resort, and we find that many of our guests tap into that same creative energy that has always made this such a magical place.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You never have to leave the property, it has numerous restaurants and endless entertainment options This is one of my favorite weekend getaways and we go every year. The pools are clean and the ones with food service have great options. There's bike rental,yoga, golf, tennis and amazing sunsets. Go give it a try!

Room Tip: Every room is good. We prefer to not be in a casita by a pool because the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lrwheel12,

Thank you for such a strong recommendation. We certainly work to provide a lot of options for our guests who want to be active--as well as the opportunity to simply relax at Spa La Quinta or poolside for those who don't. We're grateful for your loyalty in returning to the property time and again, and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spacious units, great service, excellent food made the way you want it (omelet station rules) a great place to recharge or hang out with family. Of course don't forget the excellent golf course, tennis courts and spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Oscar G,

We often hear from guests that La Quinta Resort is a great place for family getaways, and I'm glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here as well. As you mention, food is something we take seriously. As much as possible, we use locally sourced food at our restaurants, which means everything you eat here is as farm-fresh as we can make it. Thank you for staying with us--we hope to welcome you back again someday soon.

Best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went here with my sisters, we had a fabulous time, the resort is fabulous, the staff is very accommodating, the restaurants were fabulous. The grounds are beautiful...We stayed in a Resort Casita. We had a swimming pool very close to our Casita, which made it so nice too. We went up in the Tram Car to the top of the mountain, which was amazing....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It sounds like you and your sisters enjoyed a true desert visit while you were here at La Quinta Resort. Aren't the views from the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway astounding? We're grateful that you chose to stay with us, and I'm very happy that your experience was so positive. We look forward to welcoming you and your sisters back whenever you're ready for your next desert getaway.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 796
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.