We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staying at this resort hotel is like stepping back in time 80 or so years, and in a good way. It's steeped in atmosphere from the heyday of the 20's and 30's and you can easily imagine the rich and famous of that era enjoying the wonderful facities, especially during the evening when the bands are playing and the whole complex is lit up in a most delightful way. We stayed in the Frank Capra room, which was lovely, expecially the bathroom, and again steeped in atmosphere, especially with the large hammock on the green just outside the room. Yes, some of the furniture is a bit dated and careworn, but that somehow fitted in. The swimming pools were fine, not big, but big enough to cool down in the high temperatures. We had a couple of meals in the different restaurants and both were enjoyable and reasonably priced. All the staff were friendly, helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Fudgecat0250,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your stay at La Quinta Resort. I'm glad to hear that you had the opportunity to stay in the casita where Frank Capra wrote movies such as "It Happened One Night" and "It's a Wonderful Life." Mr. Capra certainly found inspiration here at the resort, and we find that many of our guests tap into that same creative energy that has always made this such a magical place.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    417
    204
    172
    111
See reviews for
408
596
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Pasadena, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You never have to leave the property, it has numerous restaurants and endless entertainment options This is one of my favorite weekend getaways and we go every year. The pools are clean and the ones with food service have great options. There's bike rental,yoga, golf, tennis and amazing sunsets. Go give it a try!

Room Tip: Every room is good. We prefer to not be in a casita by a pool because the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Lrwheel12,

Thank you for such a strong recommendation. We certainly work to provide a lot of options for our guests who want to be active--as well as the opportunity to simply relax at Spa La Quinta or poolside for those who don't. We're grateful for your loyalty in returning to the property time and again, and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spacious units, great service, excellent food made the way you want it (omelet station rules) a great place to recharge or hang out with family. Of course don't forget the excellent golf course, tennis courts and spa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Oscar G,

We often hear from guests that La Quinta Resort is a great place for family getaways, and I'm glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your time here as well. As you mention, food is something we take seriously. As much as possible, we use locally sourced food at our restaurants, which means everything you eat here is as farm-fresh as we can make it. Thank you for staying with us--we hope to welcome you back again someday soon.

Best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I went here with my sisters, we had a fabulous time, the resort is fabulous, the staff is very accommodating, the restaurants were fabulous. The grounds are beautiful...We stayed in a Resort Casita. We had a swimming pool very close to our Casita, which made it so nice too. We went up in the Tram Car to the top of the mountain, which was amazing....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It sounds like you and your sisters enjoyed a true desert visit while you were here at La Quinta Resort. Aren't the views from the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway astounding? We're grateful that you chose to stay with us, and I'm very happy that your experience was so positive. We look forward to welcoming you and your sisters back whenever you're ready for your next desert getaway.

All the best,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Labor weekend (2 adults & 2 young teenagers), arrived on Friday night and check in was a bit slow, however Chris was very helpful in getting us rooms close together, rooms nice but a little dated, carpets well worn, furniture the same and paint on carpet and bathroom tiles, however beds were very comfortable. We found the ambiance of the resort very relaxing and very peaceful with the exception of the young kids on their scooters in the casita next to us, they obviously did not have a volume control button!!! not the hotels fault, poor parenting. The only negative we had about the hotel was when our daughter sat on the sunlounger on the balcony it broke (she is about 45kgs) and she suffered bad grazes to her back. When we reported this to staff in the lobby the manager Jason Plazola was called, his approach and how he dealt with us was superb, he called for security named Ricardo who met us in our room examined the sunlounger and offered to get maintenance to come and remove it, but because we were leaving the next morning we told him to leave it until the next day, his care and attention to our daughter was fantastic and gave me medical supplies so I could continue to treat her. I feel I have to mentioned these three members of staff because I felt they went above and beyond their duties and are a credit to the hotel. We only ate in Adobe Grill food was fine, our waitress was just 'ok' definitely have got better service. But once again, well done Chris, Jason and Ricardo, guys like you make a hotel worth visiting, and because of you we will consider La Quinta on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lutongills,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at La Quinta Resort. I'm very glad that overall you found the resort relaxing and peaceful. Needless to say, we're very concerned with the safety of our guests, and it's especially good to know that Chris, Jason and Ricardo made sure you were well taken care of. We would definitely welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future, and wish you all the best on your travels.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I highly recommend this resort because of the extraordinary staff, magnificent location, and the rooms are very big. I really enjoyed staying there. I was very surprised at the size of the room. The staff was so accommodating and willing to help with whatever I needed. I drink hot tea and I was able to get an electric kettle. My wireless connection was not working and the staff came in and worked on it and was able to get my connection. The place was very very clean. The pools were clean too. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michele,

Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation of La Quinta Resort! We're very proud of our beautiful, historic grounds, but the truth is that our extraordinary staff truly makes the resort a special place. Sometimes it comes down to a simple act such as providing an electric kettle, because we believe that the essence of true Waldorf service begins with these details.

We're grateful you chose to stay with us, and we look forward to being of service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Sereno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great!!! Beautiful place with great services! The staff was extremely helpful. The meeting rooms were great for out group! The meal service was excellent! Thank you so much for all your help for our Group!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zakee J, Director of Operations at La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Donald & Rose,

I'm very pleased you had such an excellent experience at La Quinta Resort with your group. I'm extremely proud of our staff, who diligently strive to provide true Waldorf service to everyone who stays with us. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we'd love to welcome you back any time.

Sincerely,

Zakee Jones
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.