We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Spa Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Spa Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our annual getaway to La Quinta recently as part of a larger group for a family reunion. All our families had a fabulous time! We loved our casual Mexican themed dinner at the outdoor cafe, complete with live music and an almost full moon. Again, I had a fabulous spa experience! Right from making my spa reservation to checking out of the serene and beautiful spa facility, I found all the staff to be friendly and very helpful, often giving 'that little bit extra'! My 'custom relaxation massage' was wonderful and just what I needed to relax after a day of travelling. Even though it was hot outside, I loved the eucalyptus steam room as it was perfect after 'airplane air'. Before leaving, I relaxed outside with chilled herbal tea to the sound of the fountain. I browsed the shop at the spa and in fact came back the next day to purchase the signature La Quinta Coco Mango body lotion (that I now can't live without as it is also in the rooms and I became addicted), and a wonderful 'EnergyMuse' activated crystal bracelet. I would advise checking out the spa menu online and booking your treatment early especially if you will be at the resort on the weekend. If you have flexibility, take advantage of the Monday to Wednesday Spa Specials! Don't forget to try the Eggs Bennies before you check out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    403
    202
    172
    110
See reviews for
392
586
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villa Park, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a resort with history. If you stay in one of the refurbished bungalows, you will have a placard with the name of the star/celebrity that has stayed in that bungalow. We like to stay in the bungalows near the "Adult" pool where there are activities during the summer months; i.e., DJ, drinks, fun!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in the Bungalows. There is a whole new section of this resort as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We came to the resort on a 3 night package that included two rounds of golf and a $25 meal credit. We stayed in a very large suite that was nice and roomy. We thought the workout facility was very nice. We would come back again on a similar package.
Be warned however that the suites are a little dated and a few things did not work. We only had two plates and no wine glasses in our room when we arrived. We needed maintenance to fix a drain and one phone never worked. We also recommend eating off the property. The restaurants are expensive for what you get.
Since I am having my hip replaced my wife played both golf rounds. She enjoyed the Dunes course more than the PGA West Nicklaus course. Some of the courses are closed in October so September or November are better times to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This resort has it all, minutes from the 10 Freeway, but miles from the rat race. Rooms are old spanish style, water pressure is low in some rooms since many structures were built 75 years ago. Grounds are impeccable, flowers, flowers, and more flowers. Mountains next to the resort are almost prehistoric. You know you're in the desert, complimentary valet, and golf cart service throughout grounds. Golfers delight, Desert Mountain Club House is full of golf attire with extreme La Quinta logos, there are sale racks! Eat at the Mexican restaurant top level on the property, they have the killer Mahi Mahi fish tacos, the bakery has great blueberry muffins. Bathroom's inside your room, may be small, at least in their one-bedroom, the toilet is too close to the shower, limits entry to the rear of tub. Air conditioning works fine, room service is prompt. Front desk is courteous, but ask for extended check-out around 9:00AM that's when managers come to work, otherwise you're talking to the operator who has limited power of attorney and you'll only get a 1:00PM extended check-out instead of a 2:00PM, which is what you want if you arrived the night before, i.e. why pay so much and only get to enjoy the property and local area just a few hours. There is a SBUX close by, for those who love their latte's and green tea ice latte's, but its not on property, get directions from valet, its minutes away. PGA West, Trilogy, and new public golf course, all at your fingertips, Historic La Quinta near by, just a neighborhood. Lots of people running and riding bikes, so if you have time or a bike bring it with you. Might need an extra blanket at night, gets chilly big mini fridgerator in room, I know big and mini don't go together but it's true. Internet is slow. Enjoy what nature provides!

Room Tip: Stay close to the lobby, it's the gateway to shops, restaurants, and your car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed two nights. Our downstairs room, at $215/night+parking+resort fee, was clean and large. The bed comfortable. Pool steps from our room door. Sangria oh so good. Peaceful and quiet and very hospitable. This is a property where you can easily relax and go to breakfast, lunch and dinner "as you are".
Take a side trip to Shield's Date Farm for breakfast and fresh dates to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

To me, a resort should provide the sort of experience where you feel like you have strayed from your regular routine and stepped into a slice of luxary. While there wasn't anything wrong with the accomidations at La Quinta, there wasn't that aspect of something extra special. The room was spacious and clean, but lacked some modern comforts, such as racks to hang towels on by the vanity sink and in the bathroom (the bathroom had two tiny hooks instead.). I was hanging towels in the closet for them to dry! While soap and aneminities were provided, they were sparse, with no extra bars of soap provided for two people sharing a room (soap can go down fast if you are taking multiple showers!) Coffee was provided with no creamers, and pool towels could never be found, despite being told they would be delivered to our room. My companion was happy with the bed, although I found it a little soft for my liking. Fortunately the room was very quiet and I had a decent evening's sleep. Staff members were cordial but I never felt like anyone was overly happy that I had chosen their hotel for my stay. They performed their jobs satisfactorially, so this is not a complaint, it's more a statement on the loose definition of "resort." I did find the food I ate at La Quinta very good and would definately recommend folks to try all their restaurants..

Room Tip: I think any room would be nice, request to be away from the 21+ pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with our two 5 year olds.

Positives: Roomy and spacious, world-renowned golf course (and tennis courts?), gorgeous gardens, great weather and place to relax by the numerous small pools (easy to have your own semi-secluded pool right outside your room), mini-fridge, nice tub and separate shower, nice jumping off point from Joshua tree (though 45 min away), very comfortable beds

Negatives: Old run-down decor (okay if you like "rustic"), mostly retired crowd, resort fee, housekeeping just piled all our stuff (clothes, dolls, and damp towels) in one messy pile on a chair, Twenty6 restaurant food was blah, stayed on 1st floor and could hear the people above us walking around throughout the night.

Our stay was okay. Nothing spectacular. This is our 3rd time at a Waldorf Astoria hotel and we have concluded that the brand spends more money on maintaining more of the landscaping than the actual rooms and service. Better to spend your money at the J.W. Marriott or Hyatt nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.