We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with excellent golf package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
seattle
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great place with excellent golf package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed here with the desert links golf package ($280 for one person) which comes with unlimited golf at 5 courses (Stadium $50 more) and a $25 resort credit. As a Hilton diamond member, I was upgraded to a starlight casita. I found both the room and the grounds to be very nice and the staff very helpful.

My understanding is with the golf package you can only reserve one tee time (per night of stay) and only after 12 noon on the day of check-in. They do allow early check-in to play golf even if the room wasn't ready (I was fortunate and had my room by 8:00am and out golfing by 8:45). I played as a single so it was easier to fit in with openings. I played a total of 4 rounds over 2 days under one paid night. Four rounds of top level golf, $25 room credit, no resort charge, and a very decent room for $280. What a deal!

I'd suggest reserving a tee time on the busier day or the course you'd most like to play and then being flexible with the other times.

Room Tip: Starlight Casitas are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    776
    397
    200
    171
    110
See reviews for
390
584
58
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our first visit in 2011 was my husband’s and mine first land based vacation in years – we usually cruise. What a super surprise we found and it had us returning early 2012!

I have taken my first review from last year and updated it to allow for the different room type and eating experiences we had this trip.

At check-in we were greeted with the same friendly assistance and lovely cool juice. We asked for the room or similar in the same location we had last year. Unfortunately, there were several large conferences/groups booked in and we were unable to have that room for our 7 nights. The 2 desk staff searched and tried their best to find us similar pool side King casita, ground floor but away from the main pool. They found a King ground floor room backing onto a pool, in a "quieter" area and were most apologetic they could not meet our request better at that time. They assured us if we would like to return the following day or later, then they would gladly move us to a preferred area/room if it became available. The service here and throughout the hotel really is exceptional as can be seen.

We were fine with the room we were given though it was 1 of the original casitas (100s) and somewhat smaller than the one we had experienced in the 600s last year. I would recommend however, that if you are not a tall person, that you ask for a room with walk-in shower as the room we had was shower/tub combined and I struggled a tad stepping in and out of the bath/shower. (The room we had last year had separate tub and shower).

Both well cleaned and maintained rooms we have experienced had their own patio area with a sun lounger, chair and side table and were steps from a pool with whirlpool; had a King bed, in-room safe, good size closet, bed side tables with drawer and open storage area, a good size set of drawers, table and chairs, lounger chair and fridge complete with ice-maker.

For comparison, the 600 block casita room we had last year also had microwave and fireplace and was more updated. Its bathroom was huge with a double sink, soaker tub and separate shower and the toilet was separate to the bathroom.

The service, the facilities and the location have left us with no doubt that we are going to be back on a regular basis for sure. He is a golfer - me not at all. This resort was perfect for both of us and is exactly what a resort should be for a golfer and a golf widow.

There are plenty of golf courses nearby for him, Cabazon outlet mall a 30 minute drive for me as well as a mall a short drive down the road with JC Penn, Macy’s and other big name stores. Albertsons is but a 10minute drive away and they clearly cater for those wanting to self-cater at the resorts in the area with a variety of sandwiches, muffins, yoghurt parfaits as well as the usual grocery store items … and beer!

All staff we came upon were very friendly and we felt they could not do enough for us wherever we were. The resort itself has bike rentals, spa facilities and shops to browse, gorgeous grounds and so many pools and whirlpools to choose from it isn’t funny. There are palm trees, fruit trees, flowering shrubs and cactus everywhere. The fountains and ornamental vases and statues along with the Mexican restaurant, a couple of bars and a restaurant, coffee shop and relaxing seating in sun or shade adds to the luxury feel of this resort. Even the public washrooms have a touch of luxury. Some have beautifully coloured and patterned sinks and are immaculately maintained.

Throughout the property there are 41 pools all as beautiful along with 23 tennis courts, a main pool and a children’s pool.

You may wish to be by the main pool and kid’s pool where all the action is – there is poolside bar/food service and music. Alternatively, you may wish to have the best of both worlds and take as we did a casita away from the sometimes energetic and raucous fun. We found we enjoyed relaxing quietly with a book, our own cooler loaded with drinks, an ipod or such and our room was steps away with all the conveniences we needed. Note too that staff are only too willing to shuttle you around the resort on mini-golf carts so if you don’t want to walk to the main pool or back, you can always hitch a ride.

The pool areas are well maintained on a regularl basis and we especially enjoyed sitting around one at night watching the spectacular sunset over the mountains. Of course if you prefer to lounge around the pool there are plenty of umbrellas and cushioned loungers.

Excellent free Wi-Fi connections though cable is provided, paper each day and lots of plush towels in the bathroom. The in-room coffee sucks but there is a coffee shop on-site providing a slightly better quality and also snack/breakfast items at a reasonable price.

We filled a plastic bag with ice from one of the ice-machines on site for our cooler. Note that the machines are not at every pool area but there will be one nearby and if it is just ice for drinks you need and your ice maker is not making ice quick enough, housekeeping will bring you a bucket.

Loved the food at the sports-bar pub Twenty Six. We ate there several evenings and food and service were great. The beer can chicken special has sadly been dropped but the fried chicken special was awesome and don't miss the lobster stir fry special, the lobster melts in your mouth and was superb. My husband also highly recommends the pork chops and ribs there.

La Quinta itself is a lovely quaint place to stroll around and if you like seafood, you may like to try the Crab Pot. Great service, fun atmosphere and excellent seafood dishes. Alternatively try the Arnold Palmer restaurant at happy hour. Great burgers at a good price in the bar for sure.

If you are a golfer or golf widow, I hope you enjoy it as much as hubby and I did .... twice!

Room Tip: If you are not a tall person, ask for rooms with a walkin shower as opposed to soaker tub/shower typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had stayed here previously for a business convention, I liked it so much I went back with my wife as part of a 2 week holiday split between Vegas and La Qunita, driving between the two locations through the high desert.

The resort has the old Mexican feel to it, rooms are large and comfortable with private verandas. The complex is laid out around small swimming pools. Good choice of restrauants and the sports bar is good for an evening cocktail. Staff are all very friendly, plenty of attractions in the local area. Beware though the summer is hot, hot, hot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Was looking forward to staying at one of the casitas and enjoying one of the golf packages. Had no problem booking the room - but the golf was anther story. They have member blocks on the golf tee times that are not released until two days before -- after the deadline when your room rate becomes nonrefundable. So even though you are booking a golf package - there is no guarantee that you will be able to get a tee time on the courses. Really strange considering that we could go on "Golf Now website" and book a tee time on those courses immediately. Also - reservations for both the room and the golf kept us on hold for over 5 minutes each time we called in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stunning beautiful property against mountain backdrops. LaQuinta is a model of what a resort should be. From the rooms to the pools to the food to the staff, it's pure beauty, comfort and excellence. Our second stay there was even better than our first and we will be back sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This place is absolutely stunning, grounds wise. It is well groomed with beautiful views. Where it falls down are the rooms. The one we stayed in was very very old and tired and reminded me of a motel room and not in line with what you see when you drive up. We had an a joining door and could hear the other family next door. We paid a lot of money for this, and whilst I couldn't fault the place, the room was way below par and way below what we had paid for. The food was over priced so I would suggest eating out away from the resort. We had a good time, but we wouldn't stay there again as overall when you look at the accommodation there was no value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed at La Quinta Resort last weekend. I was pleasantly surprised with the quick check-in process and clear directions on how to get to our room. We were upgraded to a King stargazer casita which is the way to go. Very large private deck. The room is average. Decor is rustic, but timeless so that I would imagine less updating needs to be done. There is an unstocked minibar in the room along with basic amenities (iron/ipod doc/ etc). All in all a nice size room that ran about $425 per night. I've stayed in much nicer properties around the world for less.

The property has numerous pools scattered throughout the property but to have a drink and/or food you need to go to the main pool where service is mediocre and the quality of the food follows suit.

The outdoor dining near the Adobe restaurant is a great place to listen to music and enjoy some drinks and food. We also had a chance to enjoy roomservice which is on the pricey end. One breakfast burrito and one tea ran $50.00. Nothing more was ordered and we asked for certain add-ons that were not delivered.

The phone systems at the hotel seem to need some attention. Everytime you press one of their convenient buttons, nothing happens. I also had to dial the operator to get anywhere.

The grounds near the lobby and the restaurants are immaculate, but once you stray towards the lodging areas there are definitely some neglicted areas, which normally wouldn't be a big deal but this is a Waldor Astoria property.

I would suggest The Parker as an alternative. Same pricing and very cool place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.