We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure who their target market is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not sure who their target market is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

Wanted to be pleased but was dissatisfied.the setting is remarkable, amenities quite nice, rooms are marginal. I was in room 505, an older part of the resort. While I appreciate the history and age of la Quinta my roomfelt as if I were in a budget motel. There are many pluses to this resort however it is not clear if they are catering to a more sophisticated, resort savvy crowd, a 21+ party crowd or budget family travelers. Plaza area is quaint, restaraunts are great. The over 21 pool was tacky and loud. It seemed very incongruous in this resort. The pet friendly aspect was also quit disconcerting. Dogs were everywhere..... As well as their waste. I get the need to be dog friendly but when there is poo on the sidewalk and dogs in the pool and on the lounge chair..... That's a bit much. I hope this resort can reclaim its identity as an old hide away and spend some money on up grades..... Then I will return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    783
    408
    202
    172
    110
See reviews for
394
589
59
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011 via mobile

Love this resort but too many dogs! I think almost every guest had one or two dogs w them. I love dogs &I have 2 of my own. Also lots of kids riding on the paths on razor scooters. Given that it is Thanksgiving break it is very busy. Rooms are nice, could use some updating. Ask for the newer section if that's important to you. The setting is the best. Great service. Charming. Many different room options. Will come again...just hope they tighten up the dog policy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

arrived here on a wednesday early evening, check in quick and easy, escorted to our casita. We had a private patio yard with 2 chaise lounge chairs and table. Large room with king size bed, built in gas fire place and large bathroom. Several restaurants on site, twenty6 and Adobe, great food and service. Happy hour should be 3p-7p though. Property was pristine and weather was great. Highly recommend. Yes, the property is older but is a fabulous place to stay. Left on Sunday, check out not until noon. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a Hilton Honor member you get a free room upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Our room was on the second floor and was quite large and had a very large outside patio with a view. The room was only adequately furnished but certainly ok for our 3 night stay. We were centrally located to the reception area and on site restaurant. This place is busy with group sales so book early if possible. We used the AAA rate to save some $$$

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Just gross, If you think this is a 4star resort, trust me it's never been rated , I've asked!!! It's sick what the rooms hold, Waking up to cockroaches in my personal stuff and in the bed, ON MY PILLOW!!! just nasty, Management tries to make you feel better by what offering credit toward the room or a return stay, anything else but room compensation!! They should from all the money a Hilton would make get a good Pest Control company to take care of the The roaches and bed bugs they have!! The grounds are beautiful but omg, Try staying at a motel 8, I doubt they have these problems. The managers are just never get anything done, seems to me the Agents and Operators are told just to always say sorry and that they have never heard this before, but yet they have!! People running this Hotel should all be fired, it has fallen hard.. Years ago it did so much better ...My advice don't stay there go to Miramonte, or Marriott few minutes away, this is just a nightmare, will never go back, F.Y.I if the property is busy they start upselling people complimentary , that's what they say but they actually don't have rooms so they gotta sell suites, you can be priceline paying $78 and getting a suite but someone paying $230 u get a regular room, I paid a great deal and got a whatever room, while my friend who booked third party got a better much larger room, Like wow!!! They need to get it together... They are a rip off!! I think the roaches enjoyed the bed and my food, rather than me, my stay!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel is just plain tired and old. I see from other posts that there must be some nice rooms at this resort, but I have never stayed in one. Each trip I have stayed in a starlight casita and every time the room has been drab run down and in need of a MAJOR reno. When electrical cords fall out of wall sockets because the socket is so old it no longer has friction, you need to remodel.

The spa was also very poor and the locker room looked like a quick YMCA remodel. There were chipped and cracked tiles in many places. The spa services were adequate but the surroundings made it a poor experience overall.

I will agree the grounds are very beautiful and the layout of the resort is unique, but this resort is living in its past glory.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room. Although one of my associated said he got a remodeled spa casita and he di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just got back from La Quinta Resort. Staff was great, property is very lush with tons of flowers, onsite dining was fabulous! Definitely coming back!!

Room Tip: All rooms are casitas which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.