We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay, Although Don't Let The Name Waldorf Astoria Mislead You” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay, Although Don't Let The Name Waldorf Astoria Mislead You”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend a couple of days in the Palm Springs area for our 1 year anniversary. Our first trip together was at Rancho Las Palmas a couple of years ago, which we loved, but we were interested in trying something new. We wanted to stay at Desert Springs Marriott, where a gondola takes you to your room, but we were surprised that the entire hotel was booked, especially for the middle of July. Regardless, after many recommendations from friends, we booked our stay at La Quinta Resort in La Quinta, just outside of Palm Springs.

We knew July would be hot, over 110 most days, but that didn't bother us. We got a great rate with our AAA card, and when we checked in, we were upgraded from a Starlight Casita (which they say affords the best views at the resort) to a Hideaway Casita, which contains a private yard with hot tub. I was a bit bummed initially with our upgrade, because there was no view at all, we were just looking out into your private yard. Also, the Hideaway Casita was literally 30 steps from the lobby entrance. I was hoping for something a bit off the beaten path at such a large resort. Regardless, the Casita was still totally private, which we loved.

La Quinta is a Waldorf Astoria hotel, and when I hear the name Waldorf Astoria, I think of total luxury. Not so much here. The interior wasn't nearly as nice as Rancho Las Palmas. Furnishings were dated. We had a small fridge that leaked and a TV that was a bit fuzzy.

One of the great things about this resort though is the number of pools. There is a main pool, but when we walked over to it the snack bar there was blaring terrible music way too loud to enjoy it. The two pools by our Casita were quiet, which we loved, but the water in the pool itself wasn't as clear blue as I expected.

Only 2 restaurants on the property were open during our stay, Morgans in the Desert, which is so expensive, and Twenty6, which is where the room service comes from. Our first night we ordered room service, and the food was quite good.

The staff were fantastic. Everyone had a smile, was helpful, and really seemed to be enjoying their jobs, and making sure we were comfortable (thank you Christian for the room upgrade!).

Being that it was the middle of July, the resort was pretty much empty, which is how my wife and I like it...no screaming kids, no party scene, etc.

We didn't use the spa, or golf, or any amenities, so I can't really comment on that...we just went to relax and enjoy each other's company, a chance to get out of the busy life in LA...which we did.

However, when we go back to the Palm Springs area, it probably won't be to La Quinta...we'll either head back to Rancho Las Palmas, or try Desert Springs Marriott.

Room Tip: Go to their website to see the different types of rooms they have...I would ask to see the rooms bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    417
    204
    173
    111
See reviews for
409
596
60
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The service was fantastic in every respect from the front desk people, concierge, room service, etc.

We stayed in a room with a semi private pool which was shared by a few other units. The other units were occupied by a large extended family who were quite loud.

I asked if there was a more quite room. The front desk transferred us to another room without question. It was fantastic, roomy, clean, small bar/ fridge area directly off of the pool deck. It was called the Santa Monica Building.

We ate at the 26 Restaurant which was very good and wandered down to the coffee shop for coffee, fruit cups, etc for breakfast.

The grounds are beautiful with Lemon and Lime trees, grapefruit trees, cactii, etc.

The gym is fantastic with a large workout area and state of the art equipment.

I am not a tennis player, but the courts looked wonderful as did the golf course.

The concierge directed me to a chiropractor as I twisted my back.

All in all fanatstic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

outstanding grounds, great food, shopping, spa treatments, golf, tennis. wonderful, helpful staff, beautiful pools, comfy beds. this place is just perfect. stayed multiple times and can't wait to get back to the starlight casitas.

Room Tip: these folks are so great they always give an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Good points - pool right outside door, spacious & nicely decorated room, comfortable bed, really friendly & helpful staff - especially in Morgans and Twenty6 restaurants, concierge full of suggestions, great food & cocktails, short drive away from local restaurants for a bit of variety, car parking close to room, lovely gardens which are obviously well looked after.

Not so good - pool could have done with a bit of a clean - water was OK but dead bugs didn't get removed in 5 days and there was a layer of grime on the tiles above the water line, pool towels not the most luxurious and only one each

Good or bad depending on viewpoint - seemed very quiet - for 2 days we were practically the only people at our pool, and restaurants weren't busy.

Not the hotel's fault, but something to be aware of - we removed at least 10 dead bees from our pool. Possibly happened because they were trimming trees & hedges. Wear your pool shoes in case you stand on one.

Overall though, can't really complain about this stay - were looking for relaxation in the sunshine and we got it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Pools are a must for my family and this place certainly had their fair share of them, 42 to be exact! If a pool is busy just walk a little bit and you will come across another one. The family pool was deserted when we went for an evening swim around 9:30p. Yes, you must be good with walking because the resort is spread out but we enjoyed our walks around the property. We spotted several Hummingbirds which was a real treat for us! The grounds are impeccable, just beautiful. Lots of fruit trees and flowering plants. We had the best breakfast there at the on-site restaurant. I highly recommend the breakfast quesadilla. We did get room service the first night due traveling all day and just being plain exhausted. It was pricey and the food was ok. It was not nearly as good as the breakfast at the restaurant there. Overall we had an excellent experience here and we look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our first overnight stay and from the time we checked in, we were treated incredibly well. The Concierge offered us Cucumber Infused Lemon Water while were checking in; we were upgraded to a beautiful deluxe room since we mentioned we were celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. The room was amazing, clean, and in a quiet location, just as we requested; it even had a gas fireplace. The workout room was fully stocked with first rate equipment. We avoided the Renker Pool (21 and older) due to the music & bar scene, but were able to find a quiet one for just us right behind our casita. We ate in Old Town La Quinta, since the resort restaurants were quite pricey.
The onsite Coffee Shop was overpriced and delivered a weak Latte & coffee. We were wishing we just brought our own and brewed it in the room.

Room Tip: Mention your specific wishes & concerns & let them know if you are celebrating a special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I guess the best thing you can say about any resort is that you would return. The grounds are very nice. Architecture is classic Spanish and looks nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice. They're not spectacular, but are good. Beds are very nice. Plentiful pools make it easier for you to find one you like with people you like or away from those you don't. If you don't have kids with you, I'd request to be near the adult pool. If you pay to have a pool side room and end up with others in your area you don't want to share your pool with (like a family with 5 screaming, misbehaving kids) you wasted your money. The residences and the far back of the resort are gorgeous but I understand they cost more. Food isn't cheap at the resort, but it was good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 49499 Eisenhower Dr., La Quinta, CA 92253
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Resort & Club and PGA WEST® is a world-renowned Southern California desert retreat featuring 796 elegantly appointed casitas, suites and villas; the 23,000-square-foot Spa La Quinta® with 41 pools and 53 hot spas; 41 tennis courts; over 100,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and banquet facilities; and exceptional cuisine at Morgan’s in the desert, TWENTY6 and Adobe Grill. Known as The Western Home of Golf in America® and named ”North America’s Golf Resort of the Year,” it is home to five award-winning golf courses and four private courses – designed by legends Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Pete Dye, Greg Norman and Tom Weiskopf. Golf instruction is offered at the PGA WEST Golf Academy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Resort & Club Hotel La Quinta
La Quinta Resort And Club
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.