We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a memeorable place to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Palmer's Restaurant

Arnold Palmer's Restaurant
78164 Avenue 52, La Quinta, CA 92253
760-771-4653
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Arnold Palmer's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington Street
Description: Arnold Palmer's Restaurant features Progressive American cuisine, including fresh seafood, steaks, and some of Arnie's great comfort foods. This one-of-a-kind restaurant features an impressive wine room that houses 2,500 bottles of wine and an exclusive Chef’s Table for special events. A variety of live entertainment in the evening in Arnie’s Pub sets the atmosphere for guests to enjoy a unique dining experience. The extensive newly remodled patio offers stunning views of the Santa Rosa Mountains, a cozy outdoor fire pit for guests to gather and a putting green where visitors can work on their game.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“just a memeorable place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

lots of Arnie memeorbilia, in fact he's there often, we've seen him 4 of the last 5 times we've been there--the putting green is fun if you don't have reservstions,food is Arnie's favorites and its all amazing!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    70
    52
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great spot in La Quinta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our party of four visited Arnold Palmer's in La Quinta for an early bird special of cocktails and a light dinner. The restaurant is an upscale dining establishment featuring all things Arnold Palmer. The bar area, inside dining rooms (and there are several) and the outside patio dining areas are all done extremely well. They even feature a putting green with traps that one can use prior to or after their meals. Our server in the bar area, Karen, was friendly, attentive and efficient. The walls throughout the establishment are adorned with pictures and memorabilia of Arnold Palmer and you can trace his career from Day One on by strolling around the place. We enjoyed Happy Hour-priced drinks and decided to have a light dinner from the Happy Hour menu. Our selections included some chips and dip, barbecued ribs, meat loaf sliders and French Dip sandwiches. All were excellent. The bar area, as one might expect, is a bit noisier than the separate dining areas, but not objectionably so. We thoroughly enjoyed our early evening dining experience at Arnold Palmer's and won't hesitate to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best in the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went there to celebrate a birthday and asked to be seated in our favorite spot, their wonderful patio. There are heaters everywhere, so the desert chill isn't a factor. Arnold's is a lively spot with live entertainment in the bar, a quiet dining area and the patio.
We are from Chicago, so we know good food! Arnold Palmer's is the best steak in the desert, their seafood is always fresh, salads are creative and varied. The menu changes all the time, but their rib eye is to die for as is their free range chicken.
We've gone there in jeans and we've gone upscale. They cater to all and the service never varies for us. This is probably our favorite spot in the desert. If you like lobster, you must try the lobster bisque. The wine list is very good as well, although not large.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not sure about the new chef.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have eaten a few times here in the past and were generally very satisfied, but this time we were proudly told (twice?) that there was a 'new chef'. Well, I like cooking - including the occasional experimentation - but here we were presented with some wierd combinations: Lobster bisque with essence of porcini....and sea bass - a delicate fish - with garlic-stuffed mushrooms around it...hmm.
The scallops, however, were excellent - not much to go wrong there.
But very sorry they have succumbed to the temptation to have you play with an i-pad as the wine list. They would be better to get a bit more diversification in the list itself - I didn't make a record of the actual totals, but I seem to recall that under 'whites' there are some 12 or more chardonnays and only 3 or 4 others - no riesling (other than by the glass, and it was poor), no gewurztraminer.....a poor selection overall.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Arnie's restaurant is a must when visiting La Quinta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The restaurant is just stupendous. I have heard mixed reviews from various people and decided to go and experience it myself. The staff is fabulous. Everyone is very friendly and I received a smile from everyone. Danny was our waiter and he was so knowledgeable and welcoming. I ordered the scallops and they were exquisite. It is a bit pricey but i believe it's worth it.

It's a beautiful restaurant with a great staff and food. If you are looking for great service and food go to Arnie's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold Palmer's Restaurant also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Arnold Palmer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Palmer's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.