We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake view with the Desert Sun - the best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chateau at Lake La Quinta to your Saves list
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 La Quinta B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Lake view with the Desert Sun - the best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2005

We stayed at this romantic hideaway during the spring 2005. The Tuscan suite was the ultimate in luxury, complete with beautiful lake view, steam shower, in room jacuzzi tub and all the amenities one would expect in a larger hotel. The English innkeeper Julia was friendly and very knowledgeable about the best restaurants and activities in the area. She made us feel right at home during our time at the inn. Breakfast in the morning and the wine and appetizer hour in the late afternoon allowed us to get to know our fellow guests and we made some new firends. The massages we had from Sherri Lynn were outstanding . All in all this is a wonderful getaway location. Thank you for your hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
98
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2005

We stayed for two weeks at Lake La Quinta Inn in 2004 and returned to stay for four and a half weeks this past winter. The Inn has a most friendly,warm and gracious environment. The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed. The staff are all wonderful. Julia the innkeeper is surrounded by the loveliest women who are entirely accomodating. Julia calls them "her girls". When we left we felt as if we were saying good-bye to favorite relatives.
I would highly reccomend this Inn. We are Inn travelers and have been to Inns all over the world including Relaid CHatteau Inns. This Inn has the flavor of one of the Relais Chateaus but is more afforable and friendlier.

Barbara and Robert COvell

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2005

Lake La Quinta Inn is very nice, but their idea of customer service is very poor. It would be wise to remember that this Inn is more of a Bed & Breakfast. The location is very good, their spot of the "Lake" is nice, and the rooms very comfortable.

As for service, there is none after 4 pm. If you want something, too bad. The receptionist acted rather peeved that our flight dictated that we would not arrive until after 6 pm, which meant she had to stay late. We purchased a package that included a massage. We could not get the time we wanted so they 'penciled' us in for another time. When we told them that we could not make that time, we were told we would be charged a cancellation fee. This happened on the same morning when the cook forgot to show up! Because breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:30 am, most guests show up around 8:15. Around 8:45 we were told that the cook didn't show and no one else could be contacted. In fact, no one else even had a key to the kitchen. No apologies, no coffee, only some scrambled eggs on dry English muffins around 9:15. The breakfasts on the other days were tasty, but servings were very small with no seconds. We spoke to other guests that had experienced other inconveniences.

Did we enjoy our stay? Yes. Would we return? Not unless we heard from others that the staff had suddenly decided to treat their guests as "guests" not as inconveniences.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, March 27, 2005
Lake La Quinta Inn prides itself on Customer Service. All of our staff goes above and beyond the call of duty for every one of our guests. From dinner reservations to doctors appointments no task is too great. We are personal assistants to our guests for their stay. So, I was very upset to read Mr. Elliotts comments. They do not reflect the level of service we provide at Lake La Quinta Inn. Please allow me to correct his negative remarks.
First, Lake La Quinta Inn IS a Bed and Breakfast and we proudly advertise that fact on our website lakelaquintainn.com. The Bed and Breakfast Journal voted us “#1 Bed and Breakfast on the West Coast.” At 4pm every evening we serve Wine and hors d’ oeuvres, chat with our guests, book dinner reservations etc until 6 pm. His statement of “no service after 4pm” is not correct. Most “Bed and Breakfasts” never have anyone stationed at the front desk at all, let alone after 6pm. We therefore offer better service than most of our competitors.
This guest booked and confirmed massages and then canceled at the last minute because he got box seats at a tennis tournament. All spa services have cancellation policies and we actually only charged this guest $50 as an accommodation.
Finally, due to illness our cook was absent one morning during their stay. However, fresh coffee was still brewed and in the dining room by 8:50 am and butter and jam were placed on all the tables for the English muffins. While we are not an all you can eat restaurant, we would gladly accommodate a guest’s request for additional servings.
In conclusion, this one unhappy guest is not an accurate reflection of our Inn.

G. Giovanni Giammarco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2004

From July 10th to the 14th I stayed in this beautiful Inn. I spent one night in the Marrakesh Room and 3 nights in the Captains Quarters. The Inn is so lovely and peaceful and once you walk inside you feel like you're worlds away from where you really are, smack dab in the middle of the desert! You could drive right by the place and never have a clue that you just passed a lake! I tried to reserve the Captains Quarters for the entire time but it was not available for the first night so that's why I spent the first night in the Marrakesh. I am glad that I did actually, because not only did I get to experience more of the place, but I learned that a jacuzzi is much more satisfying INSIDE your room when the temperature is 111 outside. The Capts Quarters had a private jacuzzi outside but it was always too hot to use it but the Marrakesh had one inside and it was delightful. I imagine that in the cooler weather the Capts Quarters jacuzzi would be great as well. The Capts Quarters also had a DVD player which was really nice and the view was exceptional! Whenever I tell people about a place I've stayed I try to tell them the good AND the bad but quite frankly there is nothing bad that I can say about Lake La Quinta Inn. I loved it!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2004

The Lake La Quinta inn is a truly spectacular destination spot. Our room had an incredible view of the lake, yes a lake in the desert.
Jacuzzi tub and gourmet breakfast in the morning. We will be back .
definitely 4 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2004

Lake La Quinta Inn is wonderful! We were amazed at the cleanliness, and the charm of our room and the privacy we felt on our own little private patio area. We will definitely be visiting again. Also, the staff is super helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2003

WOW, what a romantic place. A must stay!!!!Everyone was so nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Chateau at Lake La Quinta is one of California's most intimate boutique resorts. With 13 charming suites and casitas overlooking idyllic Lake La Quinta, The Chateau is a romantic adult sanctuary where you can get away from it all – and discover the magic all over again. With more than a half million dollars in resort renovations, including a remodeled lobby with bar, updated swimming pool, exquisite exterior stone work, a new lakeside entertaining area with a fire pit, pizza oven and a grand stone fireplace. The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.