We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let me get this straight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chateau at Lake La Quinta to your Saves list
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 La Quinta B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Let me get this straight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Chateau is not, repeat NOT a "b & b"! Rather, it is a small, sophisticated -what Bostonians call- a "boutique hotel". Chris is a unique host who effortlessly anticipated our every need- even encouraging us to try our wings tasting new wines. My favorite sommelier! My second favorite sommelier, Mike! Mary and Tammy are superb and Omar makes a mean Gazpacho!
Most nights we had a glass of wine by the lake and stayed for dinner! -in an area stuffed w/ fabulous restaurants! Flatbread pizza, pasta, chocolate treats to die for AND lost 2 lbs! Wine + pasta + Chocolate = negative 2lbs!
We have stayed at most of the real hotel 'biggies' throughout the Caribbean, -Jamaica, PR, DR, St. Kitts-any place w/ a golf course, (not dropping any names of course!) and the Greater Palm Springs area; we keep coming back here. Got it?

Room Tip: They are all pretty wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Chateau. We are thrilled our staff provided exceptional service. We will certainly be sharing your comments with the team. Enjoying wine by the lake before dinner sounds like a lovely experience. We appreciate all of your generous remarks and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
98
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a "hidden gem" and I had the luxury of staying several days. Chris, Mike, Mary, Rebecca provided very friendly and excellent service. I recommend the flatbread and a glass of wine every evening on the patio!

AA

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are delighted you found The Chateau to be a hidden gem! We are thrilled you received excellent service, and that we could receive your highest rating. We will certainly share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I had delightful weekend trip to this beautiful location. The venue is intimate and provides a luxurious getaway for all. The staff is exceptional and Chris, the General Manager, made sure we had a wonderful visit.

This location is also perfect for weddings or a retreat. With luxurious views from each of the 13 deluxe rooms and the breathtaking scenery all around this is one of the most amazing places to visit in all of Southern California!

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are thrilled you and your husband enjoyed a delightful weekend getaway at The Chateau. We appreciate your thoughtful mentions about our staff and resort grounds, and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband, who rarely has many free days for holiday getaways, was so pleased with our first visit to the Chateau , that he surprised me and said 'wanna go for Valentine's Day? I was surprised and tickled. Yes, yes , yes of course I giggled out.

We booked with Mgrs Chris and Tammy. Excited to learn Chris would be cooking Valentine dinner. All I can say is the weekend was perfect. Dinner was Devine and can you imagine, long stem red roses waiting in our suite. Too thoughtful. Perfect.

All the staff has a unique way of making you feel like you are the only couple there, When actually the Chateau is totally full We love that. The true test was my hubby saying 'let's try and squeeze another weekend soon'
Yay team!!! Perfect !!

Bridge and Barry

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are delighted you were so pleased with your first stay at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We appreciate all of your generous compliments about our accommodations, amenities and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlock, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Chateau at Lake La Quinta! We were originally just booked for one night, lucky for us there was a cancelation and we were able to stay an extra night before coming home. It is a wonderful, quiet, relaxing place. The hospitality was excellent. The food was incredible! A little taste of heaven here on earth!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are delighted you had an amazing stay at The Chateau! We appreciate your compliments and hope to welcome you back for an extended stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Chateau at Lake La Quinta is awesome. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The staff is amazing - Chris is very friendly, Mike is a treasure, and Mary is so sweet. They bend over backwards to help you, accommodate you, and make you feel so comfortable. The hotel is gorgeous - it's small and cozy, yet still worldly and classy. The decor is beautiful. The menu is delicious. The views are spectacular - there's nothing like sitting on the great patio, with a glass of wine, looking over the lake, fountain, and firepits, as the sun sets. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are delighted you found The Chateau absolutely beautiful. Your kind remarks about our staff, accommodations and amenities are truly appreciated. We love knowing our guests feel welcomed. Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at The Chateau for 3 nights in mid February and we truly felt it was the best part of our trip to the Palm Springs/Palm Desert/La Quinta area. Chris, Tammy and Mike know what customer service is all about and they deliver a superb experience. The Chateau itself is a beautiful building and the setting, right on the edge of the lake, is perfect. Our room was large, bright, and luxurious and the king-size bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept on. Breakfasts on the patio were delicious, as were the Chateau's signature flatbread pizzas and ruby red grapefruit cocktails! All in all, a 5 star experience that we look forward to repeating many times in the future!
Klas and Gail

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and either have a balcony or patio. Not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Chateau. We are thrilled to be the best part of your trip. We appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and accommodations and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Chateau at Lake La Quinta is one of California's most intimate boutique resorts. With 13 charming suites and casitas overlooking idyllic Lake La Quinta, The Chateau is a romantic adult sanctuary where you can get away from it all – and discover the magic all over again. With more than a half million dollars in resort renovations, including a remodeled lobby with bar, updated swimming pool, exquisite exterior stone work, a new lakeside entertaining area with a fire pit, pizza oven and a grand stone fireplace. The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.