We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing place with amazing hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chateau at Lake La Quinta to your Saves list
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 La Quinta B&B and Inns
Houston
1 review
“Peaceful & relaxing place with amazing hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the 1st time in early January. Worth every penny & more! We've stayed @a lot of places around the country, but this surpassed them all. Intimate place that provides genuine hospitality. Staff goes beyond expectations to provide everything you could need. Chris (GM) is an amazing chef! Delicious flatbread & more. Wine choices in machine with wine card make it more than convenient. Massage in room by person they recommend was added benefit. You don't have to leave site for anything, but when we asked for restaurant recommendation, they provided a great choice. Delicious breakfast too! Could not have asked for more. Thanks to all the staff for their hard work.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your first visit to The Chateau! We are delighted your stay exceeded all other vacation experiences. We are thrilled our staff went above and beyond your expectations, and that you could not have asked for more. We appreciate all your compliments about our accommodations and amenities and hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
98
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have been coming to the desert area for 25 years and now to our surprise we have discovered something not only new but fabulous! By my mistake we arrived a day earlier then our confirmed reservation, the staff could not have been more gracious to us and my oversight and accommodated us for that evening. The entire staff led by Chris rivals any five star resort we have ever stayed in. Oh yes, the wine dispenser, gimmicky, fun, and addicting and you could see enjoyed by all the guests. The Chateau is both formal and casual at the same time, and the setting on the lake was most relaxing. We had the pleasure of meeting several of the area residents who came by one evening for a flatbread and a drink, very fun ! We know there are plans already in place for this year for an expansion and some additional improvements so we will look forward to that next year.

Room Tip: We prefer the second level for the balcony and the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Chateau. We are thrilled our staff could not have been more accommodating. We are happy you found our lakeside setting most relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We could not speak more highly of this boutique hotel and it's staff. Every interaction with the staff was very professional and friendly. Our check in was very casual and included a tour of the property and our room. We were welcomed by Chris who goes above and beyond. He wears so many hats on the property and is always there. Chris treats the hotel as if he owns it and makes you feel like family that has come to his home for a visit. The entire staff was attentive and not overbearing. If you wanted the service they were there, but if you wanted to be left alone they seemed to disappear. It was very fortunate for us to have found the Chateau. It is a gem in the desert that everyone should experience. I cannot emphasis enough how impressed I was with the property and the staff, especially Chris.

Room Tip: I don't think you could miss with any of the rooms. We stayed on the ground floor which had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing this generous review of your stay at The Chateau. We are thrilled every interaction with our staff was professional and friendly. We love knowing our guests feel like family when staying with us. We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments and hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was hands down the best Bed and Breakfast or hotel experience my boyfriend and I have had in our four years together! And it was the first place I have truly ever been able to relax at thanks to the amazing setting, the gorgeous rooms and the accommodating staff. I didn't have to lift a finger and we had no reason at all to leave the property. Our balcony over looking the lake was perfect for coffee in the morning and wine/dessert in the evening. Our bathtub was the perfect size. The bed was comfy and the fireplace was icing on the cake!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for visiting The Chateau. We are delighted you want us all to yourself! Conversely, we appreciate your letting others know about the great time you had here. Thanks for sharing! It was wonderful to read your generous compliments about our accommodations and staff. We are thrilled you had an amazing experience and hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I attended a wedding that took over the whole property for the weekend. Family and friends were all staying at the Chateau. The rehearsal dinner was catered in the dining room which was yummy and we did not have to drive anywhere.

There are several large fire pits on the patio - great for the chill in the evening. Patio area was beautiful overlooking the lake. For our event they set up a bar and bartender. Perfect. But if you wanted you were given a debit card to use in the wine cabinet. They had several types of wine there.

Breakfast was served between 8:30 and 9:30 am. The menu changed daily. They graciously accommodated me as I am Gluten Free. ( I would mention that when you check in. )

This was a wonderful establishment , wish I lived closer so I could bring my husband! Trader Joes is only a couple blocks away so we had snacks in the room. There is a refrigerator in each guest room. Also nearby are many stores and shops for anything you may need.

Room Tip: Chose a first floor room to avoid the stairs. Inform at check-in any food allergy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the wedding festivities you attended at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta. We are happy you were impressed with our lakeside amenities, and that we could accommodate your gluten-free needs. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope you will consider returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

OMG beautiful, charming, peaceful, with a lovely staff. We were looking for a chance to be in a more private, quiet getaway. Didn't know what to expect and we were thrilled to find we were happy with everything. The lake was calming and fun to have wine by. Great spa/bath in the suite. We're so happy we went and can't wait go back!! Bridget & Barry

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your generous comments. We are thrilled you were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations, and that you found the peace and solitude you were seeking. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We went over for my birthday and selected the Chateau mainly because of the wonderful reviews posted on TripAdvisor and other travel sites. We only stayed one night because the facility was entirely rented out for a wedding party for the next night. (there is a review from the wedding group also.) We loved the Chateau, the location and the wonderful staff (Chris, Tammy & Omar). We stayed in the Lakeside Casitaand thoroughly enjoyed its location on the water and the room itself. We also enjoyed having flatbread pizza on the patio while using the wine bar where you wait on yourself. I cannot say one thing bad about our visit and we hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: We loved the Lakeside Casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drenzi, Manager at The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for spending your birthday with us. We wish you could have stayed longer to make the occasion even more special. We truly appreciate your generous comments and are happy we could make such a positive impression in such a short time. Please come back for an extended visit! We hope you had a great birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Chateau at Lake La Quinta is one of California's most intimate boutique resorts. With 13 charming suites and casitas overlooking idyllic Lake La Quinta, The Chateau is a romantic adult sanctuary where you can get away from it all – and discover the magic all over again. With more than a half million dollars in resort renovations, including a remodeled lobby with bar, updated swimming pool, exquisite exterior stone work, a new lakeside entertaining area with a fire pit, pizza oven and a grand stone fireplace. The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.