We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Chateau at Lake La Quinta to your Saves list
The Chateau at Lake La Quinta
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 La Quinta B&B and Inns
Placerville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“peaceful get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect, but when we arrived felt we made the right choice. Mary was very hospitable. She made every effort to make us feel comfortable. The bungalow was private and exceptionally clean. We enjoyed a different breakfast every morning. The view from our private balcony overlooked the lake. We would definitely return to this calm and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
98
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Covina, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for an affordable B&B where we could spend our one year anniversary/my birthday, and Lake La Quinta was perfect. We arrived a little early and they were very accommodating and we got into Chateau Spa Suite #9 earlier than regular check in time.

The room was cute, cozy, and updated. It was smaller than what it looked like in pictures, but that's the funny thing about hotels...they have pictures taken from the "perfect" angle so the room comes across as looking bigger than it actually is. However, we did not mind...after all, we were there to celebrate our anniversary, so we didn't need much room anyway. :) The view from our room was absolutely beautiful and there was a nice, private balcony area where we could sit and enjoy it. Breakfast both mornings was delicious and meat-free for those vegans, although I wouldn't have minded some bacon or sausage on my plate. :) We also had in-room massages through the massage company they advertise in the lobby- Healing Hands Massage Therapy- ask for Teresa! :) They did an amazing job on my Swedish massage and the BF loved his Deep Tissue massage!

Overall, I would definitely recommend Lake La Quinta Inn, and I look forward to returning with the BF, on a hopefully "cooler" weekend so we can use the fireplace...

Room Tip: It looks like they are all newly renovated, so you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was our first stay in the California Desert area and I came across Lake La Quinta Inn when I was scanning trip advisor to find a quiet romantic get away.My husband and I could not be happier with this choice.We stayed in one of the Bungalows and it perfectly matched the pictures posted on their web site which we all know is not a true reflection for so many hotels.
The room was sparkling clean with a very comfortable bed and I loved the bath products.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful.The breakfast timing and choices could be more flexible but the setting is very nice.We went to Lavendar Bistro which is near by for dinner and it was very good but Palm Springs is a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

First and foremost, this being our first visit to the "desert," I wasn't real sure where we wanted to focus our stay. I found the Lake La Quinta Inn on tripadvisor and contacted Chris who took it from there. His service, patience (for my unending due diligence) and attention to detail from the first call to the day we checked out was "first class" and then some!

The Inn is set in a very quiet and secure residential area. It faces out to a beautiful lake with a fountain that is illuminated at dusk. For location, the Inn is close to everything, especially wonderful dining, shopping, golf and hiking. (I would recommend the service, "Standby Golf" for obtaining tee times and reduced greens fees). Chris is unreal with his knowledge of the area and his recommendations and assistance in obtaining reservations for dining exceeded our expectations.

Our bungalow, "Captain's Quarters" is located apart from the main chateau just a few steps from the pool and jacuzzi. Off of the main room are french doors that open out to a balcony that faces the lake. It is a great spot to have coffee in the morning or a glass of wine before dinner. A very comfortable king sized bed with the finest cotton linens made for great sleep. A gas fireplace is located in the corner of the room and added to the warmth. A large flat-screen tv also provided good viewing from anywhere in the room. The bathroom and shower are most spacious and were stocked with "green" organic products. The cotton "waffle" textured robes were a wonderful discovery. Just away from the double vanity was a separate toliet room that provided well for privacy. This bungalow also has it's own hot tub located just outside of the bathroom on a private patio.

Breakfast is served between 8:30 and 9:30 am. The hot breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and juice, coffee and a main course that included eggs, waffles, pancakes, etc. that rotated throughout the week. Mary always saw to it that we were well taken care of at breakfast. Her tasty mexican omelettes were a treat!

We can't thank Chris and Mary enough for making our first trip to the desert such a wonderful experience! We are counting the months until we can get back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here from 2/15/12-2/21/12. Everything lived up to the already great reviews posted. Breakfast was varied and delicious each day and if you only made it close to the 9:30 cut off they still happily served you without hesitation. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are in wonderful shape and were kept spotless. The views are great and the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. It was a bit chilly to use the pools but they were kept up nicely and they are heated if anyone did feel like using them. I highly recommend these accomodations to anyone. If you don't mind driving into Palm Springs and being away from the Palm Springs buzz a bit and just want a comfortable and relaxing place stay this is the place for you. There is plenty to do in La Quinta and Palm Desert close by so it is not like you are in the middle of nowhere or something. We got a great deal via Expedia but we'd have had no problem paying the normal pricing to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

I surprised my wife with a surprise wedding anniversary weekend and it couldn't have been better. Chris assisted me with everything. He had champagne on ice waiting for us in the room along with my wife's favorite ingredients for her favorite cocktail. The view from the balconies of the room are georgeous! We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

A treasure! All suites have been totally redone with soft welcoming textures. All have fantastic views of the lake. Fantastic get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chateau at Lake La Quinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chateau at Lake La Quinta

Address: 78 - 120 Caleo Bay, La Quinta, CA 92253 (Formerly Lake La Quinta Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > La Quinta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Quinta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chateau at Lake La Quinta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all-new Chateau at Lake La Quinta is one of California's most intimate boutique resorts. With 13 charming suites and casitas overlooking idyllic Lake La Quinta, The Chateau is a romantic adult sanctuary where you can get away from it all – and discover the magic all over again. With more than a half million dollars in resort renovations, including a remodeled lobby with bar, updated swimming pool, exquisite exterior stone work, a new lakeside entertaining area with a fire pit, pizza oven and a grand stone fireplace. The Chateau at Lake La Quinta now more than ever has everything you need to recharge and reconnect. Modeled on a French manor, The Chateau brings old world charm and service to the desert. No request is too big or detail too small. Want The Chateau all to yourself? The resort is available to buy out for corporate and special events, including weddings, reunions, golf outings and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Chateau at Lake La Quinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake La Quinta Hotel La Quinta
The Chateau At Lake La Quinta Greater Palm Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chateau at Lake La Quinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.