We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mario's Italian Cafe

Mario's Italian Cafe
49-906 Jefferson St., La Quinta, CA 92236
(760) 777-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 106 Restaurants in La Quinta
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family Favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We visit this area once a year and always bring the family. They have a nice selection and at fair prices. Our service has always been good and there are always lots of customers when we are there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One word: Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Very simple, average food. Probably would not return. The food was just ok. I have to say the prices are good, but then again, I guess you get what you pay for sometimes. Many better options for Italian in the desert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gracious even for a late arrival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had just traveled on a Friday night from Orange County to our weekend home in Indio. Tired and not really wanting to grocery shop and make dinner at 9:30 in the evening, we saw the lights on at Mario's. Even though they closed at 10:00 they were very welcoming and didn't seem to mind the late arrival. We started with their antipasto salad which was delicious - loaded with veggies and Italian cold cuts and just the right amount of dressing. Then we had their Mario's Special pizza and the crust was very good! It was crispy and not too thick and doughy. The waitress kept checking on us and didn't rush the bill. We were very grateful to them. One word of caution: the portions are very large! We ordered a small salad and small pizza for 2 of us and it was ample.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We won't be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have recently moved in the neighborhood and decided to try this restaurant. It is in a parking lot with a market, drug store and a few small shops. Parking is very easy.

When you walk in you immediately notice the plastic "vines" on the walls. We sat down and had a very pleasant young lady take our orders and answer a few questions we had. She was the bright spot of the entire experience.

On the positive side, the portions are good size and the price is on the low end.

On the negative side, the food is just not very good.

A chicken dish came swimming in their tomato sauce. It was without taste.

I ordered manicotti. It came on a bed of pasta noodles. The sauce was truly without taste. The cheese was of a poor texture. It was possibly the worst pasta dish I have had in many years.

That being said, there were quite a few people eating dinner. I guess they overlooked the poor food taste in favor of large portions for a low price.

I am sad to say that we will not go back. We had hoped to have a neighborhood Italian restaurant
to go to on a regular basis. This is not it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere, fair price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful neighborhood place. Have been their twice and enjoyed both visits. Food is good and the atmosphere is tops. We ordered the light fare, which was just enough food for us. Would recommend to anyone. BTW, I would not say this is better than NY or NJ Italian, but it's pretty good for western fare.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Italian Cafe also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Mario's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mario's Italian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.