We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wine Bar at Old Town

The Wine Bar at Old Town
78085 Avenida la Fonda, La Quinta, CA 92253
+1 760-564-8744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in La Quinta
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: We have a great selection of retail wines (over 300). 30 To 40 wines by the glass, wine flights, a great bar menu and a full dinner menu. Full Bar and craft beer for those who prefer not to enjoy wine. Live entertainment.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Charming and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A local friend and I ate here at his recommendation. We ate in the bar area which we thought less crowded than the dining area. Excellent experience. Fun atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

.....we had considered eating in this Bistro on a number of occasions and finally decided to go for dinner. The menu is very limited but that a side, when the food was brought out to us it we were both very disappointed. The food was ok tasting but lacked imagination and presentation. With so much strong competition in the area I would suggest they need to do more to attract and get repeat customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Come to drink but forget the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed picking out our own bottle, Force of Nature, sitting down to a table catching up with some friends in from out of town.The wine was priced at a premium but far better than a typical restaurant would charge.

Our mistake was in ordering food. The tri tip sandwich consisted of a rather small piece of thinly cut meat placed on a large bun served with a side of plain potato chips.

We sat on the patio to "enjoy" the second hand smoke from the man puffing a cigar next to us. This was too much and a health hazard for the four of us.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A gem in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stopped by this inviting place with high top tables, a bar, and outside seating for lunch. The place is a restaurant/bar on one side and a wine shop on the other. The servers were very friendly and the experience was positive enough that we came back the same night for dinner. The lunch and dinner menus are limited, so if you don't want a salad, sandwich or flatbread, this is not the place for you. They have a great selection of wines by the glass, and of course, many more choices if you opt to buy a bottle (no corkage fee).

For dinner, two of us had paninni's (ham/cheese; chicken/avocado) and the other had the meatloaf sandwich. All came with kettle chips. We were very pleased with these sandwiches, and my husband raved about the unique meatloaf sandwich. We were there on a Friday night and live music was being played that we thoroughly enjoyed. There aren't too many tables, so it's quiet enough that at you can carry on a conversation with your table mates, even with the music playing.

It wasn't warm enough to sit on the patio, but if it warms up, we'll go back again and sit outside. All-in-all, charming place, with good food/wine, and very friendly servers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“fabulous spot for a light dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We loved this place and went twice. Fun spot with lots of energy inside--obviously regular patrons enjoying the atmosphere. We sat on the patio both times and had great meals that were flavourful and full of fresh tasty ingredients. Salads and sandwiches were creative and well presented. Wine list extensive, flights of varieties of wines available were delicious! Wine store half of the premises had many interesting bottles for sale. Staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. Live music on the weekend was a bonus--very good musicians. Easy walk from our hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Bar at Old Town also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to The Wine Bar at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wine Bar at Old Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.