We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greens were in bad shape nice.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course

PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course
56-150 PGA Boulevard, La Quinta, CA 92253
800-PGA-WEST
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in La Quinta
Type: Golf Courses, Tours
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Designed by famed Jack Nicklaus, this 18-hole championship desert course is dramatic in design, featuring plenty of large lakes, deep bunkers and steep drops off the edges of greens.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Greens were in bad shape nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am sure this course is a lot better during the high season. Played this course in June 2013 and the greens were very hard and did not roll true at all. They were a complete joke. Almost unplayable. If they just punched them let us know ahead of time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    5
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
644 reviews 644 reviews
277 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
440 helpful votes 440 helpful votes
“A great, challenging golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

While definitely an easier track that it's neighbour the Stadium Course, the PGA West Nicklaus Tournament Course is no push over. Tight fairways, vast waste bunkers, elevated greens, long water carries and plenty of water hazards make the course much tougher than it looks on the scorecard.

There's no doubt you can score here but keeping your ball in the fairway is a must. We found the pace of play to be decent for a resort course - just over 4.5 hours - and the course was in decent shape. No two holes are identical which makes it an enjoyable course to play and approaching the 9th and 18th greens (particularly if you have a long iron in) can be heart stopping.

Don't be put off by the high greens fees. You can find bargains online if you look. We were able to book our tee-time for $125 (for 8:33am Saturday) on standbygolf.com.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Humana Challenge Tournament”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Watched the Tournament and enjoyed the Course to go around it,
Kept in great condition, Good condition for playing or watching.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“PGA West Nicklaus Tournament Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The course is in excellent condition and is very challenging. There is lots of sand and water including two island greens. Pace of play was a bit slow (4.25 hours). The green fees are pricy but worth it to play this beautiful course. The clubhouse, practice areas, and staff were all great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nicklaus excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I have played Nicklaus around the world and he creates similar courses but everyone has a distinguishing feature, feel and identity to it. This course does not bank on you being in great form nor does it require you to a low handicapper, as long as you hit the ball fairly straight and have sparks of good form you will knock it round in a comfortably. What I loved so much about this course was the contours throughout the course, it is visually stunning and not often everybody in your group says WOW! That is something special and worth a mention. Please play this course after the stadium to fully understand my review, I file this after being tormented by the most difficult course I ever played. Plus, I have forgot to mention how welcoming and friendly the staff are no matter whether they are a groundsmen, caddy or bar maid everyone is brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PGA West Jack Nicklaus Tournament Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.