We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's in the Desert

Morgan's in the Desert
49499 Eisenhower Dr, La Quinta, CA 92253-2722
760-564-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Morgan's in the Desert is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in La Quinta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Morgan’s in the desert, by James Beard Award winning Chef Jimmy Schmidt, welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining or cocktail experience.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had a very good time and great meal. We ate here as compensation (by the hotel) for room issues. The food was excellent - memorable was the starter: fried baby artichokes and green olives. Certainly on the pricey side but it did not seem more expensive that other top restaurants in the area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    48
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great service, romantic atmosphere, great food, and kid-friendly to boot.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
1 review
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had dinner here and it was fantastic - the food, the service, ambience, everything! We ordered a steak and the braised short rib and both were cooked to perfection and tasted just as fine. Wine list is very good - prices are high for the area but worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice for a catered dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our dinner was catered by Morgan's ~ as it was a private dinner for a group of 23 persons. Very delicious and very good service. We chose the braised short ribs, which were outstanding. Dessert was an ice cream version of s'mores, very delicious!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good food, exceptional setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

There's indoor and outdoor seating in this old Spanish hacienda-style setting. The roaring fireplace on a cold evening and the efficient, knowledgeable service are some of the reasons why this place is quite a few cuts above the usual evening out. Our only caveat was that some of the cooking doesn't quite hit it off because the chef's TOO inventive. Beluga lentils with halibut? Each was delicious but together, overwhelmed the delicate fish. My scallops were cooked just right but rested on a gummy risotto curiously "seasoned" with sweat pea and celery root????
The desserts were good but rather simple to justify the price.
All in all, the food was pricey for what you get. Would we eat there again? No. There are too many other exceptional restaurants up the valley to try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's in the Desert also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Morgan's in the Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's in the Desert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.