We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but only by comparison to its neighbours at PGA West” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta-Norman Course

La Quinta-Norman Course
50200 Avenida Vista Bonita, La Quinta, CA 92253-2600
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 19 Attractions in La Quinta
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A challenging 18-hole golf course with breathtaking views.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average but only by comparison to its neighbours at PGA West”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice complex up at PGA west but this is the least interesting of a nice trio you can play. You will play it cos you're there but had no desire to play it again.

Greens ran at about a 9, fairly true, but a bit linear. Nothing to write home about. Sorry Greg!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful course, challenging but playable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

One of the most attractive courses I've ever played; we went back the next day. There are long par 5s and tricky par 3s but the whole course is fair and just challenging enough. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shark Attack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Norman course is fun with a great mix of holes and length. I really enjoyed this course, especially since I won $$$!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“True desert course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We got a great deal to play this course on GolfNow. It is a true desert course with great mountain views. It is hot there in July, but they load the cart with a cooler of ice water. You also get range balls with the green fee. It is a beautiful and well maintained course. It is not as famous at the sister Jack Nicklas or Stadium courses, but it is as good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This PGA West course is good for all skill levels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The pro shop and back shop staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Had a nice lunch at Wallabees after the round. For whatever reason we didn't see the bevy cart till the 15th hole on this 120Deg day...strange indeed eh mate. As well the course Marshall suggested we skip a hole because we were behind....excuse me? the carts GPS indicated we were 4 minutes off the recommended pace.....give me a break! It's 120 degrees dude. Overall nice layout, although the greens were in rough shape.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quinta-Norman Course also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to La Quinta-Norman Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta-Norman Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.