We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another golf course” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta-Dunes Course

La Quinta-Dunes Course
50200 Avenida Vista Bonita, La Quinta, CA 92253-2600
760-564-7686
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque 18-hole golf course with mountain views.
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Just another golf course”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nice golf course, but greens were extremely hard and slow to putt on. Too expensive for this type of course. Slow play also made it hard to enjoy

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Shape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The course was in great shape. It was a little hot, but hard to do anything about that in July. There was a Junior tournament happening on the Mountain Course and the staff was great to guide me onto the Dunes course to make for an easier day. Susan W. was awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 95BigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Must Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved this course. Enjoyed it so much that when I finished I played the front nine of the Mountain course. They didn't charge me for the extra holes. It was already over a hundred degrees. The only downside of the Dunes course is that there is no turn to stop for a beer or food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
271 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a decent dunes course that plays to a medium length with most holes being of average difficulty (17 being the exception). My beef about this course is that on most holes the type of grass in front of the green does not allow for a bump and run and given most greens are mounded and hard, it is very difficult to stay on the surface. My adjusted to leaving shots about 100 yards out improved scoring but that kept the driver in the bag for almost the whole round.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tough but fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pete Dye at his best. Undulating fairways will keep you on your toes (pun intended).
Get the ball close, cause the greens are slick. Course is in great shape now!! Go play

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quinta-Dunes Course also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to La Quinta-Dunes Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing