We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta-Dunes Course

La Quinta-Dunes Course
50200 Avenida Vista Bonita, La Quinta, CA 92253-2600
760-564-7686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 Attractions in La Quinta
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque 18-hole golf course with mountain views.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Shape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The course was in great shape. It was a little hot, but hard to do anything about that in July. There was a Junior tournament happening on the Mountain Course and the staff was great to guide me onto the Dunes course to make for an easier day. Susan W. was awesome.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Must Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved this course. Enjoyed it so much that when I finished I played the front nine of the Mountain course. They didn't charge me for the extra holes. It was already over a hundred degrees. The only downside of the Dunes course is that there is no turn to stop for a beer or food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Good but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a decent dunes course that plays to a medium length with most holes being of average difficulty (17 being the exception). My beef about this course is that on most holes the type of grass in front of the green does not allow for a bump and run and given most greens are mounded and hard, it is very difficult to stay on the surface. My adjusted to leaving shots about 100 yards out improved scoring but that kept the driver in the bag for almost the whole round.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tough but fair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Pete Dye at his best. Undulating fairways will keep you on your toes (pun intended).
Get the ball close, cause the greens are slick. Course is in great shape now!! Go play

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We've played this course about 5 times and it's always fun and fair. Nothing is tricked up, just good golf and nice greens.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Quinta-Dunes Course also viewed

La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
La Quinta, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to La Quinta-Dunes Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta-Dunes Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.