We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet. Out of the way. N” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Cahuilla Recreation Area

Lake Cahuilla Recreation Area
58075 Jefferson Street, La Quinta, CA 92253
760 564-4712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in La Quinta
Attraction details
B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet. Out of the way. N”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This man made lake and camp ground are very quiet and out of the way. We visited in Jan 2013 and drove around the lake.
Many are fishing in the stocked lake (trout). Kids under the age of 12 don't need a fishing licence if they're with an adult who has a valid one.

This would not be my type of camping as it seems barren to me. There are many motor homes and even tents all set up but not a lot of trees or shelter.

The lake is obviously man made as it sits in the middle of the desert. The mountains are bordering the lake and there are hiking trails visible from the driveway. Would be very handy to hike and explore.

The mountains serve as some shade or relief from the hot sun in the summer but in Jan it just seems grey and boring.

We did pick up a brochure and the prices are very reasonable.

So please be aware, I toured the Rec Area but I didn't stay overnight...that may offer a different experience.

Good luck.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unexpected Jewel in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Living in Palm Desert, I thought I had seen most outdoorsy attractions in the valley until I saw a sign for this place, so I visited. It took about 20 minutes to get to from La Quinta, but it is worth it. The lake has very nice sandy beaches and picnic areas - it is very picturesque and unexpected. The camping looked quite decent and there were lots of trails in the mountains around the lake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“RV Camping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I hadn't known this park was here. I enjoyed staying here in my motorhome, lots of walking and beautiful vistas. Great rates, especially if you have Passport America. Can't swim in the lake or allow your dog to swim. Swimming pool was closed which was too bad, it looked nice; however the campground was not too crowded and it was quiet when I was there which I appreciated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
259 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Way out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Found by mistake while looking for a house. The area has a good area for RV's and it was late so we didn't look around much. Will have to go back when more time is available but from the first glance it looked OK.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis in the Dessert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A very beautiful man made recreational lake with RV parks , hiking trails and much more. Wonderful area to visit and explore. Close to La Quinta and Palm Springs Area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Cahuilla Recreation Area also viewed

La Quinta, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
La Quinta, California Desert
 

Been to Lake Cahuilla Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Cahuilla Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.