We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for taking care of your guests! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   9550 Murray Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
1 review
“Thanks for taking care of your guests! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights while in San Diego for the birth of my nephew. Have stayed here a few times before. It's close to my sister's home, and it's really convenient to be able to have breakfast at the hotel before heading out for the day. The room has always been nice, no problem with parking, and great staff. This past time, while having breakfast, the staff even came in to remove a couple who had snuck into the breakfast without being a guest at the hotel. They handled it very well and without incident, and we're very apologetic to the guests. They seem to be on top of making sure their guests are well taken care of.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhixlamesa, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Erin M,

Congratulations on the birth of your nephew! We are very glad to hear that you experienced great customer service since we strive to do just that. We also know that our guest safety in priority and we are happy to hear that the situation was handled in a very safe and rapid way without disturbing our guests during their breakfast. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

-Holiday Inn Express Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    30
    16
    16
See reviews for
49
24
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Over a thirty year period of travelling around the U.S., this place is the worst experience for what you get, which is a nightmare. We booked in the hotel at $122 per night, but when we arrived there, we were told that the room is at $171 for that first night, and then it will decrease after that. This took us by surprise, for the person on the phone who we booked with did not inform us about anything of that sort. We had no choice but to accept because there was no cancellation and we were exhausted after a long drive. It was awful to be cheated.
For the price we paid, we were shocked with the condition of the room. The bathtub's drain was not working, leaving one to shower with the water above one's ankle (thus you are soaking your feet with your own dirt). The six high-intensity lights by the mirror in the bathroom (more like a tiny toilet), plus the ceiling light, is extremely hot and can give you a headache within five minutes. Also, because it was very hot, we unscrewed four of the six light bulbs. While the bathroom was very bright, the bedroom was dimly lit. The furniture is outdated and has a lot of stains, including the curtain. Although the carpet is dark, you can still see the dirt on it. To top it off, when you get off the elevator on your floor, you can smell an awful scent from the carpet.
The breakfast area is very small, not enough seats, the people were standing while eating, and there was not enough food. What a horrible experience that was!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear AnalieD,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We would like to follow up on your experience so we have sent you a private message to obtain more information.

I hope to hear back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

One of the smaller hotels and nothing fancy but clean and quiet which was what we needed. Didn't use any amenities so can't rate that. Pool looked small but clean, but cool day, no one was there. Comfortable bed. Very convenient to I-8 and some restaurants with in walking..

Room Tip: wouldn't do any extended stay but great for a quick layover in transit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhixlamesa, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback. I'm glad you had a pleasant time during your stay. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurants next door and also were able to get to the freeway with no trouble. We hope to be able to house you again for your next travel needs. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here overnight while on a quick business trip. Front desk was pleasant and helpful. Room was suite with lots of useless space and sofas. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. Very nice selection of DirecTV channels. Internet was free and strong signal. Parking was tight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Captain814,

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. We strive to be the best in the industry and it makes us happy to read that you found the room clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we most certainly welcome any opportunity to improve. Thank you for staying and we hope you to serve you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

After a cross country drive to relocate son- the room was very quiet, staff very friendly and accommodating.
Room on first floor exceptionally clean- great black out blinds and no noise! All that you need in a hotel room!
Will stay when I visit next!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was a last minute stay in San Diego and the Holiday Inn Express offered a military discount and complimentary breakfast so it was OK. The hallways and my room had a musty smell to it. The front desk manager TRIED to help by spraying air freshener and opening the window, but it only helped for a brief amount of time. The hotel is right off the freeway and the noise for the traffic was too much, so the window had to be closed immediately
The hotel offered an complimentary parking and hot breakfast that was very good. Over All an OK at best stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Travelalldtime,

Thank you for staying and for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am glad that you liked our complimentary parking and breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the scent of the hallway and your room. Rest assured that I have shared you comments with our hotel management to consider improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and hope you visit us again.b

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

This hotel is clean and convenient. Carlos worked the desk and was as welcoming as could be. He baked some chocolate chip cookies and had fresh coffee to help "spoil" our dinner. The room was cooled and not stuffy. The hotel just smells clean. The beds are firm but comfortable. The furnishings are classic and fresh. Good location. We will stay here again if given the opportunity.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Mesa
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
3.7 mi away
Super 8 San Diego Area  / La Mesa
2.4 mi away
Travelodge La Mesa
Travelodge La Mesa
#4 of 10 in La Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
2.7 mi away
Days Inn La Mesa Suites - San Diego
5.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego

Address: 9550 Murray Dr, La Mesa, CA 91942-3924 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (SDSU Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego nestled centrally in San Diego La Mesa. We are just off the 8 Freeway and minutes away from SDSU, Grossmont Center, Grossmont Hospital, Downtown La Mesa and El Cajon. We strive to provide the perfect accommodations for our ideal guests: the business traveler, the small family, the sports team, and the corporate group. Our new rooms have the most comfortable bedding and pillows. Lie down, open up your laptop, and enjoy our stellar Wi-Fi while you enjoy over 200 HD channels on our 42-inch flat screens displaying the best of DirecTV(R) programming. Take a hot shower or bath, enjoy a hot breakfast, and enjoy the best of San Diego. We would love to see you! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego-La Mesa (Sdsu Area) Hotel La Mesa
Holiday Inn La Mesa
La Mesa Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS La Mesa San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.