We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brigantine La Mesa

Brigantine La Mesa
9350 Fuerte Drive, La Mesa, CA 91941-4107
(619) 465-1935
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brigantine La Mesa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 188 Restaurants in La Mesa
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Severin Drive
Green Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had a birthday dinner tonight and it was very good. the service was exceptional, Diana really took care of us. She was friendly and professional. For vegetarians I'd recommend the Fish Tacos with avocado instead of fish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Its not my kind of restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Its very expensive & I just don't feel comfortable there . Not much more to say since I didn't care for it .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ship of fools”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

First off the reservation was made for 6 people. Upon checking in, they had it for 4. After waiting outside for 30 min. the hostess found us and said they had been buzzing us for 15 minutes, the buzzer never went off. They sat us in a large room off the main dining area. It was more like a well lit meeting room. Our table that should seat 4 had the leaves pulled out on the ends and slanted so the plate kept sliding towards your lap. The waiter showed us the desserts that came with the "first catch" and several of us ordered from that menu. My salmon was excellent, but the sweet potato veg came with bacon all over it which wasn't described on the menu. Friend didn't get his salad the same time the rest of us did, he had to ask for it. The wine ordered didn't come for at least 20 minutes. We had to ask for it. My husband had the coconut shrimp, he loved it. At the end of the meal the waited came over and said they were out of desserts! To finish off the night, it took forever to get the checks only to have them all mixed up with the wrong meals on the wrong tabs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Was able to return to this fun resturant on my last trip to San Diego. No trip there can skip the Brigantine for Fish Tacos. The Best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A great place for lunch...busy, yet able to get seated quickly upon arrival. Staff was efficient and attentive. The Brig is my favorite place for fish tacos...and, once upon a time, Cobb Salad. I noticed the Cobb Salad was off the menu...please bring it back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brigantine La Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Brigantine La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brigantine La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.