We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on a budget and pet friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa

Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa to your Saves list
Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   7621 Alvarado Road, La Mesa, CA 92041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good on a budget and pet friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We needed a budget hotel for the weekend and this was it. The room was clean but had a bad smell when we first walked in, I'm pretty sure it was from the old AC unit, the smell did eventually get better. We loved that they are pet friendly and didn't have a pet fee. Don't expect a coffee maker or microwave in the rooms. The staff was super friendly, that's a plus. The only thing that made it uncomfortable was the sketchy people walking around all hours of the night. This place is definitely for those on a budget, keep that in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Needed a last minute budget hotel for a night. At 1st sight this motel appeared shabby from the outside but the rooms were actually pretty nice. There's cable tv and a mini fridge. The linen was clean and our smoking room didn't smell stale. The location is close to public transportation, next to a grocery store and close to the main hwy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a cool little place out of the way. I checked in around 4PM and the guy at the front desk was great. He offered to change my room for more convenient parking but the room he moved me to was smoking. So I went back to the original room and he gave me complementary WI FI access for the trouble of having to come back to the office to get the key redone. Great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for our last night to save some money after staying downtown all weekend. The hotel was clean enough, but you get what you pay for otherwise. The location is not very conveinent to the rest of San Diego and there is not much around as far as places to eat or for groceries. They do have a small continental breakfast in the mornings. That said, it's a good budget hotel I think we only paid $50 a night and it was fine for the price, I'd recommend it if you're looking to save money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I've been traveling for about a month, now. I've been staying in Motel 6's because most of them have been recently renovated & because they are the cheapest national motel chain. You can find a Motel 6 anywhere. So, the first Motel 6 I st as yed in was on the Las Vegas strip. My room was recently renovated. I asked for a recently renovated room. I had a flat screen tv & the bedding that comes with the recently renovated rooms, which is orange & beige. I had a stand up shower in the Motel 6 on the Lad Vegas strip. That mafe it hard to shave my legs standing up. So, the next Motel 6 I stayed at was in downtown San Diego. I asked for a recently renovated room. Again, it was nice. I had a bathtub & shower this time. Plus, I had a flat screen tv, again. I stayed in another Motel 6 near La Jolla. They call it Motel 6 North on my phone. It's on Clairemont Mesa Blvd. I didn't ask for a recently renovated room & didn't get one. There was carpet on the floors instead of the renovated wood. I don't think it's real wood. There was also no flat screen tv. Anyhow, this room wasn't recently renovated, but I was very pleased! I even got a room next to the ice machine. I was keeping bottled water in my sink & filling my sink with ice to keep it cold. So, being next to the ice machine was a plus. I did ask for a room downstairs, because of my luggage. It's heavy! However, the room I'm sta ying at in La Mesa, the room I should be reviewing, is NOT as nice as the others. The room had a musty smell... You get used to it & don't smell it anymore, though. The vent cover is off the A/C & Heating. There is also no flat screen. The sink in the bathroom is smaller than other Motel 6's. That's a problem because I'm using my sink as a make-shift ice chest. This Motel 6 is almost a mile from the trolley. I had to walk carrying very heavy luggage. I had a heavy bookbag on my shoulders. Call a cab if you carry luggage on your shoulders. This is unhealthy to walk with so much weight on you. I enjoy walking, but not with a heavy bookbag on my shoulders. It's so inconvienient to walk from the trolley to here, unless you have very little or no luggage at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None of your business
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed at this Motel 6 while I was down south for vacation. I had La Mesa PD show up at my hotel room after midnight on the last night of my stay and place me under arrest, saying that they had a felony warrant for my arrest. I was not aware of this and if I had been, it would have been taken care of long ago. I went to jail ONCE in my life and it's been at least 5 years, but it's still haunting me... And out of the blue! I will never stay at this Motel 6 again.

Room Tip: Compliance with Law We may disclose Guest Information to law enforcement agencies, or may be requir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We travel with our dog, so usually choose Motel 6 when traveling. But this praticular establishment left lots to be desired. Rooms smelled. Exterior looked rundown. Staff agreeable to refunding my charges. Worst Motel 6 I've experienced. I recommend Corporate pay a visit and bring it up to Motel 6 standards.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa

Address: 7621 Alvarado Road, La Mesa, CA 92041
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa Hotel La Mesa
Motel 6 La Mesa
Motel Six La Mesa
La Mesa Motel 6
La Mesa Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 San Diego - La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.