We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to SDSU and good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa to your Saves list
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Close to SDSU and good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was helping my daughter move into her new rental house so knew I would be gone all day and most of the evenings so I just wanted a place that was close, safe, clean and cheap. This fit the bill perfectly. If you know you are going to 'see' the room mostly in the dark (ie, you will be sleeping and that's it) this is great. I just wanted a place to crash that was quiet, clean, and comfortable enough to sleep. Next year, when she is moving again (sigh), I will stay here as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    93
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
64
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It has nothing fancy but all the essentials are there. The beds are comfortable and it is convenient to have a fridge and a microwave in the room. The staffs are very friendly. Like others have said, plumbing noise from next door and cars on the street can be heard from time to time but not unbearable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nothing special for sure, a bed, a tv, and a bathroom but it was clean. Bedding was clean but low quality, towels were small but absorbent, bathroom was clean but the door barely made it past the bowl. Had a fridge, and microwave although I used neither. Hair dryer, coffee pot, and a very noisy alarm clock which I unplugged in frustration at 5:30 a.m. Complimentary breakfast was adequate with cereal, danish, toast, instant oatmeal, yogurt and bananas/apples. Did the job and again the breakfast area was clean. Parking spaces are narrow, my small SUV barely fit. Had to pull out so the passenger could get in/out. Very close to SDSU and a great price at under $80 with taxes. I checked in late and checked out early so it was all I needed and pretty much what I expected. Clean was all I cared about and it was that!

Room Tip: I think they're all about the same, hotel is on a main street. Street noise is inevitable but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I been here in this facility may be 15 times and every time, they treat me like the only guest in the hotel, they try to feel me as in my home, they are a wonderful people and try to help me in everything, I`ll come back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.