We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Save Saved
You added Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in La Mesa
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommend this motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent one night here in August and were very pleased with the motel overall. Although a budget motel and priced accordingly, we found that it exceeded our expectations for that category of motel. In addition to being very well maintained and clean throughout, the motel "went the extra mile" by having a very quiet air conditioner, very quiet bathroom fan, comfortable bed and sparkling clean windows. And we really appreciated our nice, quiet room. Everything in the room worked well, such as the microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast was fine (cereal, fresh fruit, fruit juice and packaged pastries) and the breakfast area was kept very clean (the small motel lobby is transformed into a perfectly fine eating area in the morning). Pride of ownership is evident here. We will stay here again for future visits to San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
60
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, IL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We found this to be a convenient affordable base from which to spend time visiting attractions in San Diego, only complaint is the parking lot can be a little hard to park in (concrete pillars and narrow parking spots) would book here again.

Room Tip: We were on second floor, no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I apologize the parking situation made it difficult to find a spot. I appreciate the feedback and we will continue to look for creative ways to mitigate the parking issue when the location is busy. Please note, we have overflow parking across the street and on the street. Please ask any of our front desk agents and they will be more than happy to assist. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you are absolutely desperate for a place in La Mesa, and can't find something else, or you ride a bike, then this will probably meet your needs, otherwise forget it. The place is not that clean, although I have seen worse. You have to run in circles to get wet in the shower, the bed (at least the one we had) had a chasm in the middle, the TV was not very good on most stations, and most of all:

The parking was horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We had to park on the street and chance our car getting hit by late night drunks (of which there were more than a few), or by getting broken into by people that kept loitering until 4 am (I stay up really late). Many of the folks with SUV's and trucks had to take up 2 parking spaces, and I know they really did not want to do that, but had no choice.

OK, so there were a few good things, that's why I didn't give this place 1 star. They let us checkout later (12 instead of 11), the breakfast was the usual Super 8, and there were no bedbugs.

Room Tip: I don't know if it makes a big difference, but if you like quiet don't choose a room that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. Although parking is absolutely free, which is unusual in San Diego, it is not guaranteed. I apologize that the parking situation made your guest experience less than desirable, we do have overflow parking on the street and across the street, which the staff informed you of. We take matters of cleaniness very seriously and I invited you to contact me directly at super8sandiego@gmail.com to express your concerns so we may adjust our practices to address any discrepancies you found. When it comes to the bed, I would have to respectfully disagree, we have installed new Sealy Pillow-Top mattresses in all of our guestrooms and it is one of the many compliments we consistently receive at this location. Also, our televisions are LG LCD flat panel sets with over 70 local and cable channels, including HBO. I have been at this location for years and have parked on the street numerous times and never has my vehicle been hit by a drunk driver. I stay up late too during the night shift and frankly, there are some drunks walking home from bars, like in every urban environment, but not excessive amounts you suggest. Franky, I am pleased they are responsibly walking home instead of driving, so the chance of your car getting hit actually decreases. I am pleased you enjoyed the free late check out you receive and the fact that the room did not have any pests. It is our hope you will give us another chance to make a first impression. We appreciate your feedback, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good location, good beds, nice rooms, LOW cost and SUPER CLEAN. Hotel is family owned and they live on site. They personally take care of every detail for guest comfort and property maintenance.
It is like a visit to Grandma's. You are received with a warm welcome. When checking in you are advised to ask for anything you need. Only 10 miles from the airport, it is easily accessible to all of San Diego County sights.

Five of us stayed Six days. Had three rooms, all equally well tended. Vasanti even sent us all off with a Grandma hug and a sincere wish we would have safe journey.
While this is not a glitzy hotel, the accomodation, hospitality and cost is 5 Star and better. P.S. Stayed in Super 8s from NJ to CA and back. Would recommend every one. Will be our hotel of choice wherever we travel from now on.

Room Tip: Specify first or second floor if needed.Hotel is popular and fills up fast. Still quiet though. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your warm comments. Your feedback is truly appreciated and serves as motivation to continue to exceed the expectations of our guests. We hope to see you again very soon. We appreciate the warm hugs and hope you had a safe trip back home. Thank you again and we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for Comic-Con, it's such an easy drive from here and a great price. The owners are so friendly and extremely helpful. As we arrived, we were given a pack because we were going to Comic-Con, this had a map and some other stuff in it. Our son had forgotten to print out his barcode for his badge and the Receptionist had no hesitation is letting him do it on their printer: he wouldn't have been able to get his badge otherwise since they're being so careful this year. Our room had fridge and microwave, plus easy chair and desk. The beds were very comfortable and the A/C worked well. We had four nights here and would definitely stay here again. We had long conversations with the owner and he recommended a couple of things to see.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I remember our conversation, it was an absolute pleasure to speak with you! I hope you enjoyed the ComiCon and consider us again for the next years ComiCon. I am really pleased you enjoyed your little gift bag, it was the least we could do! Thank you again for your warm remarks and please stay in touch, it was a pleasure to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for one night. Previous reviews helped make our decision and they proved to be accurate. Our room was small but nicely decorated, well maintained and updated. Towels were small but we had two each which worked. Big screen TV, fridge and a good shower pressure. Breakfast was limited, cereal, fruit, yogurt and packaged pastries but good for the very reasonable price we paid for the night. We had a really good dinner at the Mystic Grill next door. The staff on the front desk at check in and out were very friendly and helpful. We were very satisfied with our experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My buddy and were in town for a 3 day golf tournament and we booked here based on reviews and price. We were not disappointed. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff beyond helpful. We stayed 3 nights and for sure I would stay again. It was a lot more comfortable than other rooms at 3 times the price. As was written by others, the parking is tight so if you are driving a huge truck you may want to look somewhere else, but we didn't have a problem.

This is not a 4 star luxury hotel, so don't expect that if you stay. It is a clean Super 8 at a great price though. They even had a little continental breakfast that we left too early to try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.