We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Save Saved
You added Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in La Mesa
Peralta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I spent a week at this motel and was treated like a king! I have enjoyed seeing the employees that really like the owner and were happy to be working for them.I can understand why because the owner made everyone appreciated and feel like family.The motel is well maintained and clean.It was quiet at night.When I return to the San Diego area I will plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    85
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
82
60
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. The location is pretty good. The people that work here are great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I was amazed by the quality level of this hotel and of the room. The staff was also very helpful and friendly although it took them a bit long to find my reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

You feel like people here really care about the property and you as their guest. Nicest people, very clean, great value. Do not hesitate to make a reservation here. I have stayed here at least 5 times for a week at a time. I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

When I first came into my room (a double queen), I was surprised It looks so clean and modern! There was also a basket filled with the usual necessities plus a nasal opener for the snorers. The beds were also quite comfortable. The location is just 10 minutes away from SeaWorld and the San Diego coast. Unfortunately for me, I visited San Diego when it rained. The front desk staff was also quite helpful and friendly. But the best thing of all the best things about this hotel is the value. The biggest bang for the buck value I have seen so far. Highly recommended motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I booked this place last minute without shopping around and was surprised what a great place this is. The staff was friendly, and the room had everything a traveler could need: small fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker. All in a super clean and updated environment. Not your typical motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Allow me to thank you for your kind words about our hotel they are greatly appreciated. Our team strives to exceed the expectations of every guest and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again on your next visit to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I couldn't have been more pleased with this property! I chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews, when I had to be in La Mesa for my twin brother's wedding. The hotel was easy to find, and within 5 minutes of where I needed to be. There was ample parking. The room was clean and convenient, complete with a fridge and microwave. Breakfast in the morning was great--little pastries, yogurt, coffee, and juice.

This hotel is family operated, and you can tell. From the moment I checked in, they were so friendly to my mother and I. They carried our bags to our room, even though it wasn't too terribly far. They gave us traffic and directions advice, and did everything they could to make our stay positive. We just loved them!

Due to some last minute family issues, we had to change our itinerary to leave a day early than we had reserved. I had gotten a reduced rate by pre-paying, with a condition that there would be no refund for an early departure. When we checked out early, I assumed I would be charged the full amount, as that is what I agreed to. What an amazing surprise that the owner himself comp'ed the third night and did not charge me! I couldn't believe it! What a great business!!

I will definitely choose this establishment each time I visit my brother and his wife from now on :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8SanDiego, General Manager at Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you very much for allowing us to serve you on your recent trip to San Diego/ La Mesa. I am truly excited that you will return to visit us when you return to San Diego. It was my pleasure to help with your luggage, it is all part of the service we attempt to provide our wonderful guests. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa

Address: 6952 University Ave, La Mesa, CA 91942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > La Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in La Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated rooms. Popular attractions such as the Gas Lamp Quarter, Mission and Pacific Beach, and Sea World are only a short 15 minute drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa Hotel La Mesa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Diego Area / La Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.