We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the breathtaking views, and great food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines Gliderport

Torrey Pines Gliderport
2800 Torrey Pines Scenic Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
+1 858-452-9858
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Attractions in La Jolla
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love the breathtaking views, and great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

One of my favorite spots! The views are perfect, the food is even better! Parking is sometimes an issue depending on the weather conditions. The food always tastes so incredibly fresh.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    139
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“It's always on my 50 cent tour for visitors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

In my Introduction to San Diego tour for family and friends, the Torrey Pines Glider Port is always a highlight. For absolutely no charge, you can find a spot in the rutted dirt parking lot (or wait for one to open up if you are there on the weekend), and go up the hill to the launch area. I don't think there is any more beautiful and accessible place anywhere to watch hang gliders and parasailers as they rig and test their gear, move to the hill over the cliff and take off over the Pacific.

The sky above is often filled with the colorful sails and chutes, making for wonderful photos - sure to get oohs and aahs for your visitors when they go back home. If you want to have the full experience, call ahead for reservations and pricing (generally around $150 per tandem flight).

The area has recently been spiffed up quite a bit -- pavers on the ground, shade structures and more picnic tables on a nice viewing deck (but the restrooms are still the portable kind.) You can spring for snacks or lunch at the snack bare -- or just mooch the view for free!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A leap of faith and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

My cousin was visiting and we were looking for a unique way to explore San Diego. As a 20 year resident, I've pretty much seen it all. Paragliding at the Torrey Pines Glider Port was just the ticket. Stepping off the cliff over-looking La Jolla & Black's Beach proved to be a breath-taking (literally), adrenaline pumping, and thrilling leap of faith. Expertly piloted by Junior, I was immediately both excited and relaxed. This will from now on be my "go to" suggestion for visiting guest and I can't wait to go again! Dixon Johnson

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“People jumping off cliffs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

At the Torrey Pines Gliderport you will see all kinds of flight. On low wind days the Para gliders are out, flying under their colorful fabric canopies. On mid wind days the hang gliders will be up. And just north of the clubhouse there is a Radio Control Glider area. Even if you are not a flyer, this is a great place to stop and watch people flying. Great food at the sandwich place. It can be breezy and cool. Bring a jacket and a hat with a strap. Don't forget your binoculars! There is a great view looking over La Jolla Shores and La Jolla Cove.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Even if you don't want to go up on a glider (and you can), this is an amazing place to see. On a day with the right winds you'll see dozens of gliders flying off the La Jolla cliffs over the ocean. It's thrilling!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines Gliderport also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Gliderport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Pines Gliderport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.