We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped off to check out the view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torrey Pines Gliderport

Torrey Pines Gliderport
2800 Torrey Pines Scenic Dr, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
858 452 9858
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 attractions in La Jolla
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Henryetta, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stopped off to check out the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Worth the time to see the hang gliders and look down the cliffs to the ocean below. Very breezy so ladies may want to bring along a jacket.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    108
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“freak show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

it has been a long time since my last visit and the place has been taken over by freaky and scary people spilling over from the nude beach near by.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“You can fly! Paraglide over cliffs and beaches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great experience!
First, be prepared to deal with the vagaries of the coastal winds. Check their website to see what conditions are and to be sure they are flying. It takes a while for the day to heat up to create those great thermals that make for a easy ride. There is the usual paperwork (not a bad as skydiving) and some wait involved for pilot prep. Getting harnessed takes hardly any time at all and before you know it you are running out in front straight toward the edge of the cliff. My feet left the ground just before the edge!
All three of us flew, each with a pilot and each sitting in front of our pilot/guide. We glided up and down the coast, North to Torrey Pines Golf, over Blacks Beach (I can only credit one or two nude sun-bathers - we were quite high up), South past some pretty mansions on the bluff and plenty of raw cliff sides. We often were close enough to each other to shout greetings and appreciation.
Strap your camera to your wrist, you'll have plenty of time for photos.
Really great adventure. My daughter was reluctant at first, with a history of fear of heights, but she said her pilot was nice to her and she was ready to do it again!
The landing was a piece of cake, just listen to your pilot.
(BTW - the only restrooms are portapotties by the parking lot, this place is proud to be "off the grid.")
Try it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gliderport up top, clothing optional beach far below”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is 1 of our favorite picnic spots. they sell really great unusual sandwiches or bring a picnic. Parking and watching is free. If you want to fly like a bird, they have the glider shop where you can pay for a tandem flight and even learn to fly alone. People bring their dogs and most follow the leash law. They do not supply poop bags. We like to go past the regular parking lot to the end where you can watch the gliders without the crowds. They do not sell adult beverages. Now if you climb down the steep hill (stairs) on the left you will end up at the famous Blacks Beach, clothing optional. I have to say its usually the old men that are down there naked. It is a serious hike back up so I don't recommend it if you're totally out of shape. Bring a lot of water, you will need it. The naked people aren't very obvious up top so don't worry about your kids.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun Watching Those More Adventuresome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You're right up on a cliff, just a few feet from the hang gliders and para-gliders landing and taking off. Those already airborne cruise up and down the coast right about eye level. Lots of fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torrey Pines Gliderport also viewed

 

Been to Torrey Pines Gliderport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torrey Pines Gliderport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Torrey Pines Gliderport to your Saves list