We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Afternoon Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Frizzante

Gelateria Frizzante
1025 Prospect St, Ste 130, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037-4102
858-454-5798
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 1,259 Restaurants in La Jolla
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Astoria, OR
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice Afternoon Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice spot for an afternoon break or evening desert. We had 4 flavors and all were bursting with flavor. We are looking forward to returning soon. Pleasant staff and fair serving sizes and price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good for not being Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a nice afternoon break at this gel atresia. It was good. Fair sized servings for the price. They tried to capture the feel of Italy a little with pictures and using the metric system for serving sizes and using Italian to define the portions. Although in all of their signs the had litre mis-spelled at liter.....I guess they tried.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This gelateria is on the main street and I tried it after visiting the Haagen-Dazs franchise across the street.

It offers a choice of gelato and sorbets, I had the gelato which was absolutely superb and less expensive than the franchise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Smooth and tasty! Delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by last night. Will be back again to try more flavors. The gelato was fresh, smooth, creamy, and had good rich flavor. I loved that they let me have 1/2 and 1/2 on the small size! Prices are comparable or less than what I've paid in Houston, Miami, and NY. $3.75 for small; inexpensive when compared to big chain ice cream shops like marble slab.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We may be spoiled by the Gelato FIasco in Brunswick, Maine, which has better selection and smoother gelato. But, this is pretty darn good. The service was excellent, the gelato just fine. We shared a large, which was $7 - not cheap, but a good dessert for two. They let us try three flavors, and we picked chocolate toffee (toffee was a little uninteresting and soggy), wild strawberry (good, but not very strawberry-y), and coconut (really really good). I definitely recommend it over other ice cream places nearby, but would love to see them go the last tiny step to really outstanding gelato. I'd also recommend better seating. The hard seats could be replaced with comfy soft chairs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Frizzante also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Gelateria Frizzante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Frizzante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.