We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, pleasant staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express La Jolla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice room, pleasant staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights with a friend. Nice friendly staff, good breakfast , very nice rooms. Was pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were!! Sometimes when you have those a/c units in the wall they are noisy not here!! Quiet and loved having a ceiling fan as I am hot natured. Took $8 cab into downtown la jolla easier than finding parking! 2 blocks to a beautiful beach. Reasonable rates.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Moejoe50,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your comments regarding your visit. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed quiet accommodations, location and value. I too enjoy ceiling fans. Thanks for sharing the taxi tip...parking can be difficult in the downtown area where you experience some of San Diego's best dining, shopping and sighseeing. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    80
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
64
64
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while our home was being treated for termintes. This property is differant than your "normal" Holiday Inn Express looking property. It appears it is a cottgae/apartment conversion - which is OK. Rooms were clean, lacked some art work on walls. We had a suite - no TV in the bedroom area - which was a negative for us. The blankets were not like other Holiday Inn style - as it was clod in the back room - no vents in room for heat - just heater/A/C under window in front room. Heat does not get to back of bedroom. Bathroom, clean, shower hot. The breakfast was good and many choices - this was nice.

Overall - in winter I maynot stay here - but summer it maybe a great place - close to beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla and for sharing your experience. Please accept my apology for your discomfort. I sure hope the staff was able to assist with an extra heater and blanket. Thank you for the kind words regarding breakfast, cleanliness and the hot shower. We hope to see you again this summer.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our third stay at The Holiday Inn Express in La Jolla; and, we continue to be impressed with the rooms, atmosphere, amenities, cleanliness, and, most importantly, the staff.
All of the staff were very friendly and customer-oriented, especially Juanita (front desk) and Mercy (breakfast room). We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are certainly grateful and will continue to work hard to continue to exceed your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the service you received from Juanita and Mercy. I will be certain to share your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on our way back from Hawaii and wanted a somewhat cheaper hotel to stay in. First, the location of the hotel is a bit deceptive. It's really not all that close to downtown La Jolla, or Scripps park...you'll have to drive about 5 or 6 minutes to get there. I was under the impression it would be walking distance.
Any how, the impression I got of the hotel right away was that it was an old motel built in the 50's that Holiday Inn recently bought and renovated. The layout of the parking lot, and the location of the rooms is just bizarre. Of course it was pouring raining when we got there, so traversing our luggage through narrow walkways that were flooded with water wasn't exactly enjoyable.
It did get better from there. Our room was a 1 bedroom suite, with a kitchenette that included a microwave and a mini fridge. The bed was comfortable and the room was updated with nice granite counters in the kitchenette and bathroom, and 2 large flat screen TV's in both the rooms. Our room (109) was right next to the road, and there was a considerable amount of road noise...it didn't seem to affect our sleep though.
The bathroom left something to be desired, as the shower head had literally no pressure at all. The water literally just drips out of it...certainly something that needs to be taken care of. The toilet was so close to the wall, that sitting on it was somewhat of an acrobatic feat.
They had a free hot breakfast in the morning, which included pancakes, eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, amoung lighter selections like fruit, yogurt, bagels and toast. The breakfast was probably it's shining spot.
They also have a small heated pool, which we did not use.
Overall, the hotel was completely adequate for our stay, but it certainly has more of a renovated old motel than it does a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I apologize for the misperception that we were located in Downtown La Jolla. We are only 2 blocks from the beach but a little over a mile away from downtown and Scripps Park. I am happy you enjoyed accommodations and breakfast. However, I am disappointed to learn that you got wetter on the way to the room than you did in the shower. Something we will definitely fix. Again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you on your next visit to La Jolla.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed for one night in Jan. 2013. I was a late check in (like... midnight), and the front desk was very helpful in accommodating this. I also asked for a non-ground floor room, and this request was honored by the staff without any difficulty. I had previously stayed in this hotel last year in a ground floor room, and highly recommend a second floor or above room (far less noisy and has a safer feel). I was able to print out my boarding pass for the next day in the lobby area. My room was spacious and modern. The only drawback was one tiny little bug in the shower, which I squished without much fuss (who says female solo travelers need to be squeamish about these things?!). Definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to aim for second or third floor rooms.They seem to be somewhat larger and quieter, and have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy that you enjoyed the accommodations and staff, disappointed that we missed the bug, and looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall it was a pleasant experience. We spent three days in La Jolla and this was our resting place. Just a few minutes from the beach made it's location perfect for the family. Other comments about this hotel are pretty accurate. Very pleasant staff, lots of parking, but rooms in the front were noisy and not ideal to the average family (I'm lucky to have travel friendly kids) as the traffic was constant and the old time air conditioning unit was quite loud. The bathroom was a shower and tiny sink, so if you are looking for extreme room comfort for a vacation stay this might not work. To counter the experience, the complementary breakfast was very, very good. The pool was warm and the atmosphere of the pool/great room were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room. Very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience during your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Express La Jolla. We appreciate and value your comments and work hard to try to meet and exceed guest expectations. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Holiday Inn is really nice, its well located near la jolla beach. The rooms are big, clean and with lcd 32" . The breakfast is nice, hot and cold stuff. The staff is nice too. If you are not for business and don't feel like to wake up early, try to ask for the rooms in the back, the front ones you will listen to the cars passing in the morning to work starting 7am.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back, they are more quite in the mornig, so you wont wake up early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate your business and are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards,

Larry Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Jolla

Address: 6705 La Jolla Blvd, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 hotels in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Jolla 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasts an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Holiday Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.