We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had a 2 month stay due to a family emergency. The staff all went out of their way to be kind, caring and helpful. I never had noise problems and my room was kept sparking daily. Convenient to Whole Foods etc. Ask Lina about her whole Hawaiian name. :-)

Green Features: Very nice to have daily recycling pickup. I'm at another place in the region now that doesn't recycle and it irks me. Live green Travel green.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    176
    58
    29
    17
See reviews for
190
76
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The good: nice room have the "penthouse" which is a two bedroom two bath with the second bedroom upstairs and full kitchen. The food is good for breakfast.

The bad: slow, spotty internet that I have had to have fixed several times and still slow. The place seems like an overflow dorm for UCSD and there is much jostling for food and space especially at the PM happy hour. Noticed they didn't ID for wine and beer and with this crowd a no no.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Hard to go wrong with Residence Inn, but this is a very average property for the chain. Large and crowded at breakfast and pool, but always nice to have a little extra space in the room. I would stay here again at the right price without hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is clean, it has the convenience of a kitchenette, without traffic it's about 20 minutes from the airport. Overnight parking on the premises is $15/day but it's easy enough to park near by for free.

Room Tip: if stairs are a problem, there are units where one would have to climb 2 flights of stairs to enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family stayed at the Residence Inn in La Jolla fin June 2014. There was one employee who was just EXCEPTIONAL and who made our experience so positive. Her name is Kylise and she works in the dining area. Each morning she would great our family and make all of us- especially our children- feel so welcome. I watched as she made sure all the food areas were refilled before all the food was gone (especially appreciated one day when she wasn't working and there was hardly any food out despite multiple employees walking around). One day she brought stickers for all the children. And it wasn't just our family- I saw her treating the other guests in the dining area the same way. It made us want to come back to the Residence Inn again and again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed at the Residence Inn in La Jolla. The room was very nice, it had two floors. Much larger than my daughter's apartment.

I love the Paul Mitchell products they use in the bathroom. I am very sensitive to shampoos and conditioners.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre the "eggs" were not very good and the fruit assortment was minimal. We tried to have dinner one night but everything was empty. This was the wings night.

I would stay again but not plan on eating there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel provides good accommodation, especially for families. Our suite was spacious with a kitchen, lounge and 2 bathrooms, plus our children had their own space in the loft bedroom. Breakfast is included in the tariff and while not gourmet, there were wholesome choices, making for a great start to the day and certainly beat paying restaurant prices. We had a 15 night stay and had no cause for complaint. There are some freebie guest activities as well. It is close by the Westfield UTC shopping centre plus a local shopping centre for daily necessities. Other attractions are within a reasonable distance

Room Tip: Rooms closer to Gilman Drive are away from the pool area noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on extended stays at the Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel with refreshing amenities, spacious suites and convenient lodging near top attractions. Visit one of the many nearby breathtaking beaches and coves, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. Our all-suite hotel in La Jolla offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. During your stay, enjoy relaxing services provided by the La Jolla Spa MD or dine at the best San Diego restaurants nearby. Start your day off with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with a complimentary social hour every Monday-Wednesday. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool, soak in the spa or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.