We have always wanted to visit this area but found hotel rates exhorbitant. I checked every day on the Marriott website and this hotel, for whatever reason, had a rate that I swear was a mistake. I jumped on it. I was not disappointed.
You are located less than a mile from I-5 and not more than 25 minutes away from any location. The farthest we went was Coronado which was 25 minutes away. The zoo and San Diego proper was about 15 minutes drive. There are 2 very nice strip malls with a coffee shop, a cupcake store, some chain restaurants, a Wells Fargo ATM, etc. not even a 5 minute walk from the property. It is actually shown on the map of the property they give you.
So, I got this amazing rate and as a Platinum Marriott member was surprisingly upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse suite. Nice, huh? We didn't need the extra bedroom as it was only myself and my husband buyt the extra bathroom is always nice. The room was fine, although they have the TV in the living room above the fireplace and we found it a bit too high for our liking. The rooms have all been refurbed with new furniture, bedding and appliances. Sadly, the never refaced the cabinets and they really stood out as they were all scratched from use. Also, the tables were worn. As they hotel was re-done, it was very noticeable. Also, I don't whether the carpet was changed but it was filthy. You couldn't really notice it unless you walked around with white socks on. Within an hour, they were absolutely black on the bottom. As we don't walk around barefoot, I don't know what our feet would have looked like. Also, the shower heads are soldered into place, which I can understand. However, whoever soldered the showerhead in the lower level bathroom, did it poorly. It is soldered so that you must literally lean against the shower wall to get the spray. It is facing not centered, but so that the spray goes against the wall. Makes showering a bit difficult.
Having said all of this, the hotel was fine. The breakfast was substantial and one day there was even bacon at breakfast. The breakfast room is spacious with enough room so you don't have to wait for a table. The pool, which we didn't use, was surprisingly small for the size of the property.
The parking is a bit of a joke. There's parking all along the building with overflow parking available at the office building next door. However, it is $14 a day, which for a property that doesn't even have gated access is just a way for the hotel to make more money.
All in all, yes, I would return, even at a higher price.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hello TheQueenVegas it’s a pleasure to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write this review of your recent stay and also for being one of our loyal and valued Platinum Elite members. I was happy to hear that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Penthouse suites and that you appreciated the gesture; an extra bathroom is always great to have.
Report response as inappropriate
Although you said you were "not disappointed" and "would return, even at a higher price", you pointed out some opportunities for us to improve upon. We do take a very proactive approach to maintenance and cleanliness, yet it seemed we did have some issues with the carpet. Shampooing the carpets in a hand full of suites daily is one measure we take to ensure that what happened to your socks doesn't happen. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and our standards in that area. You also mentioned that in your bathroom the shower head needed to be looked at because it was not adjustable and made it hard to use. I would be grateful to have you contact me so we can actually go to that suite to fix that issue. Again our apologizes and I hope this wasn't a major inconvenience to you.
We are glad to hear that you did get to enjoy our breakfast during your stay. Serving a "substantial" and satisfying breakfast is important to us. It's too bad you weren't able to relax and enjoy our heated outdoor pool during your stay, so far this summer has given us great weather for it. And aside from the pool we do have four Jacuzzi hot tubs spread out through the property to enjoy as well. Hopefully the next time you visit you'll be able to take advantage of both.
On the parking topic you aren't the first, and won't be the last, that mentions that you feel it is an unnecessary fee. Understandably paying extra fees beyond the room charges are always going to be undesirable. In the San Diego market it is becoming less common to actually find a hotel that doesn't charge for parking. In La Jolla specifically space is a huge commodity and has to be maintained/secured. Parking fees that we collect help to offset costs of extra personnel to patrol our lot, secure it for "hotel guest" parking only, and a project late last year that repaved/surfaced the lot. Fortunately we are lower than all of our competitors in the area if you were to check their parking fees.
Thank you again for detailing your experience and sharing it here on TripAdvisor. We do take your feedback and comments in a high regard especially being a Platinum Elite. If you do have time to contact the hotel we would be happy to look more into resolving the issues you had in your suite. Thank you and have a great and wonderful evening.
Guest Care Supervisor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.