We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and nice interior” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in La Jolla
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Perfect location and nice interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed for one night in a King Bed unit. The decor was nice and the interior was clean. It is about 5 miles from the La Jolla Cove with nice restaurants and a stroll along the coast.. The seals are sun bathing around the cove area all day too. The hotel about 15 mins from downtown San Diego and Old Town for more great restaurants. Will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    182
    58
    29
    17
See reviews for
194
77
16
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with family in a 2BR/2BA loft. We had 2 teenagers with parents and a grandmother and the room worked beautifully with everyone having their own bed and the parents sleeping together.

As mentioned by other reviews, the 3 TV's in the unit were challenging to control independently since they were all the same with the same remotes. It became a challenge for us to figure out how to do it. (TIP: Put the remote under the sheet as that seemed to mute it enough where it did not change the other TV's.) Full kitchen was nice, but not really necessary if you took advantage of the daily food offerings.

Can't beat the morning breakfast or the evening happy hour and meals on selected nights. Great fire pit outside made relaxing after a long day sightseeing really nice.

While you do have to pay for parking, that's not that bad given all the amenities. It's also within walking distance of dining including Rockbottom Brewery. We had Sushi one night across the street at Yummy Maki that was not bad.

Be careful trying to use your navigation system as it tried to take us on an impossible route. It was night time and it was not well lit in the area and the we missed the exit from La Jolla Village Drive to Gilman as it was backed up. However using the Rockbottom Brewery as a landmark was easier. If you route to the Rockbottom Brewery and turn RT from Villa La Jolla at the Rockbottom Brewery, drive past Rockbottom and take the first right onto Villa Norte you can enter into the rear entrance to the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: If you have a large group, stick with the 2BR/2BA loft and you will have plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We usually love Residence Inns, as they normally offer so many goodies… and great service. This property was no different: Kind front desk staff, excellent location (right off Torrey Pines, near UCSD!) and good arrangement of the units. More amenities than we could ever use during a short stay. But, I am somewhat hesitant to admit, as we are huge fans of “free stuff”, but the frenzy we witnessed during both Happy Hour (wine & beer on offer as well as an abundance of hot and cold snacks) and especially breakfast (an enormous, abundant buffet!) left us feeling a bit overwhelmed—and I’m so sorry to say with a bitter taste in our mouths (we felt quite bad for the staff, who could hardly manage removing empty plates, glasses, etc). It truly was every person for themselves at the buffet, with arms & even legs flying about! When a dish ran out, there was a virtual mutiny! And, the dash to any empty seat during these feeding times was almost a duel to the end. We wound up skipping breakfast the second day, and just relaxed in our rooms with our own bounty from Trader Joe’s (each unit has a full kitchen with coffee maker). A second item worth considering is that, as other contributors have mentioned, the walls are extremely thin between the units: we slept like babies the first night in the ultra-comfy beds, but a herd of elephants moved in on night 2, and apparently had an early flight to catch—jolting us awake at 5am! But, to end on a positive note, the hotel is marvelously situated, with easy access to the freeway, the village of La Jolla, and San Diego. If you receive a good price, then the extras (with the accompanying fun & excitement) might be worth it--

Room Tip: Further away from Reception offers more parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for two nights while visiting colleges. Able to walk onto the UCSD campus. Walked around the block to get to the local restaurants before discovering we could just walk through the parking lot - much shorter. Our room was nicely decorated, with two beds downstairs for our daughters. They served a good breakfast ther both days and refreshments in the afternoon. We will stay here again, if my daughter decides to attend this college.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We checked in and that was ok. As a travel agent they could have enticed us with a better dear. The family room was large but musty odor.
Bathroom amenities needed upgrading. Barely enough of those and free water would be nice.
At $250 a night no great deal.

Room Tip: Family suite accomodates a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the ECNL soccer tournament March 30 - April 3. I was very happy with the hotel and loved the location. I shared a room with my friend and we had plenty of room for two mom's and two 15 year old girls. The girls used the hot tub and the pool and enjoyed it. The room had plenty of hot water and was very clean. The property is kept clean as well. There are plenty of shops near by, we especially liked the Whole Foods where everyone could get what they wanted. We went to La Jolla Village and enjoyed an evening walking around. We also made it to Del Mar and had lunch at Jake's which was nice. Would highly recommend it.
As others have said the breakfast buffet does get busy, but I can also say they did keep it stocked. We arrived at various times during our stay and never was it out of foo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This property is extremely convenient for visitors to Scripps Mediacl facilities in La Jolla, UCSD in La Jolla, and ocean-front attractions. Reservations are a must as they are usually booked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla

Address: 8901 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Location: United States > California > San Diego > La Jolla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Jolla
#11 Family Hotel in La Jolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on extended stays at the Residence Inn La Jolla, California hotel with refreshing amenities, spacious suites and convenient lodging near top attractions. Visit one of the many nearby breathtaking beaches and coves, unique shops and Torrey Pines, the legendary La Jolla golf course. Our all-suite hotel in La Jolla offers easy access to Balboa Park, the famous San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and Legoland. During your stay, enjoy relaxing services provided by the La Jolla Spa MD or dine at the best San Diego restaurants nearby. Start your day off with a free hot breakfast buffet and end it with a complimentary social hour every Monday-Wednesday. All of our suites in La Jolla, California offer fully equipped kitchens and separate living and sleeping areas. Business travelers will appreciate our large, well-lit desk and free high-speed internet. When you're looking to relax, take a dip in our heated pool, soak in the spa or have some fun playing sand volleyball. We aim to be your favorite La Jolla all-suite hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla Hotel La Jolla
Residence Inn La Jolla
La Jolla Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Diego La Jolla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.